We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was there over the weekend with my boyfriend and another couple and we had a wonderful time. Mike and Tanya are very friendly and do anything they can to make your stay a good one. Their breakfast is awesome. we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
120
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I liked most of everything about our stay BUT our room (Dorothy) was above the InnKeepers quarters and the noise of slamming doors and their young son running and fussing below us echoed through the room each morning. The Inn is beautiful, decorated nicely, plenty of books and games to occupy you. The room was clean and comfortable as was the attached bath. You can walk to restaurants...grocery store...pretty much everything you need, which is a nice after a long day of driving from lake to lake and/or winery to winery. .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This Bed and Breakfast is awesome!!! We decided to stay here rather than hotel and do the Chocolate and Wine Tour in Seneca Lake, which was 15 minutes away. Love the antiquiness. Mike and Tanya are really warm, friendly people who make you feel as though you are old friends. Breakfast was great and freshly made.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I were at the Fox Inn for a winter weekend getaway in this gorgeously restored 1820's Greek Revival mansion. Take the Maxfield-Parrish-inspired, Art Nouveau decorated master suite with the gas fireplace if you can, although the other rooms looked clean and homey as well. Mike was incredibly friendly and accommodating (even when juggling his 1 month old infant). Three choices of fritatta for breakfast were a hit. Since it was the low season, we had the place to ourselves and spent Saturday wandering Penn Yan and the evening shooting pool on the full-size pool table in the main downstairs parlor. A charming place to relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Fox Inn. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast (included in our stay) was absolutely delicious! The Inn Keepers were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My sister, my 19 year old daughter and I decided to take a girls-only leisurely trip to Cape Cod. I'd heard the Finger Lakes were beautiful, and home to many fine wineries, so I thought we'd plan to stop there along the way. I started looking for a unique setting that could accommodate three adults - and did I score a lucky find in the Fox Inn! The Inn had been lovingly restored at some point in the past, and the antiques and Waverly fabrics were truly impressive. The attention to detail was amazing, and though the Inn in some ways shows its age (in the middle of a hellacious heat wave, the common rooms were rather toasty), the bedrooms had window A/C units, and our private Bathroom had a beautiful rainfall shower and nice amenities. But what stands out in addition to the stunningly beautiful physical environment (and the record temperatures set that weekend - it was 102 degrees when we reached Boston) - was the warm welcome from our hosts, Mike and Tanya, who not only served as hosts, but gave us the inside scoop on which restaurants the locals visited, the local Keuka and Finger Lakes Wine Trails, and the Penn Yan area activities in the "off season." We felt like family. Except my family probably wouldn't go out of their way to serve me a gourmet meal on china plates, and send me on my way with fresh-baked bakery-worthy cookies, either. We spent one evening chatting with other guests on the beautiful porch/veranda, listening as they extolled the Fox Inn's attributes. They were regular visitors to the Finger Lakes, but this was the last night of their first stay at the Fox Inn, and they proclaimed this was absolutely the BEST B&B they'd stayed at, period (and no, they weren't related to Mike and Tonya). I would recommend the Fox Inn to anyone looking for an alternative to the same-old-same-old, who wants to experience the charm of a small town like Penn Yann, and make a memory worth savoring. I wish Mike and Tonya good luck and success - they're off to a good start!

Room Tip: As far as a previous comment about squeaky boards - in defense of the Inn, the house IS over 100 yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Bernie and I, along with another couple, booked a late fall getaway to the Finger Lakes, and chose the Foxx Inn on another friend's recommendation. Mike and Tanya were marvelous hosts and the breakfasts were amazing, filling, and very tasty. Never before were we offered a choice of what to have for breakfast at a B&B. The primary objective for the trip was to resupply the stock of NY state wines in the "pharmacy", and the Fox Inn was a perfect location for exploring the Keuka Lake region.

Room Tip: The William Morris Oliver master Bedroom Suite featured a gas fireplace. Very cozy for the chilly w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
14.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 158 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing