We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very restful and very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very restful and very nice hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Really, it was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at on our vacation. It was very close to the places we wanted to see. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. We had lots of great choices for breakfast (although if you sleep in -- there aren't as many choices towards the end of the breakfast time which is normal). The breakfast foods are made locally and fastidiously wrapped, even the homemade bread slices are individually wrapped. They also had some excellent yogurt which my husband and stepdaughter devoured every day!

One of the things that was very nice was that they had great set up for the television remote (super clean), nice refrigerator and microwave for snacks, and most of the hotel employees were very helpful and checked in with us. When we first checked in, after six o'clock, the clerk on duty was really slow as she was on the line with someone. But after that, the maids were awesome as were the managers on duty.

It is on an intersection that probably has a lot of traffic but for me and my family, we did not notice the noise at all. We slept very well! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readhd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
We thank you for taking the time to orient other travelers to what we offer at the Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites. Guest Feedback always helps our employes to know how well they did and helps them to identify what areas we may need to continue to develop as well. The comments that you made about the Clean Remotes being used in the rooms is a brand standard that was initiated recently to help every property achieve an Ultra Clean status. This status allows us to be categorized as a leader in the industry for Excellent Housekeeping. We also use UV Wands to sanitize every public area within the hotel in addition to our routine cleaning techniques just to ensure that we are 100% sanitized. We do hope that you will come back to enjoy another wonderful stay with us again in the future! -Jamie S. Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    158
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
217
306
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We just returned from a weekend stay at The Best Western Vineyard Inn and Suites and it was an outstanding home for a weekend exploring the local wineries and vineyards!
We checked in with no problems and the staff was great! The location of this hotel is outstanding! It is located on the north side of Keuka Lake and just to the west of Seneca Lake, making it the best place to stay if you want to explore both wine trails! The hotel is located approximately 15 minute drive from Seneca Lake. The complimentary breakfast were great, especially the muffins from a local bakery.
Overall this was an excellent place to stay while traveling to the many local wineries and vineyards, we are already planning our return stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Your kind words about your stay with us are greatly appreciated! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were surprised by our little gem in the heart of Finger Lakes Wine Country. We are excited to see that you plan to have a return visit with our property again! -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We travel a lot and use frequently use Best Western hotels. This hotel was exceptional!! The free breakfast was the BEST I have ever had at a hotel. They provide a variety of locally made items such as homemade banana bread, bagels, breads, muffins, etc. and the best granola I have ever had. They also provided a locally made yogurt, similar to my favorite Greek yogurt, also made in NY. I really loved the fact that they support local small business.
The staff members made such an effort to make our stay even better. The ladies that we interacted with were really nice and made us feel like our needs were very important to them.
The building itself was fairly new and neatly maintained. We took a swim in their indoor pool and the water was the perfect temperature. This is rare in my opinion. I always find that hotels pools are too cold, especially for a leisurely swim.
The location was a hidden gem. We have lived in the NY area for two years and never thought to go to the Finger lakes region. As we prepared to move, we looked at the map and decided that this was a must see before leaving. It did not disappoint. The views from the local wineries were beautiful. The wineries had a variety of wines, surely anyone could find something they like.
Overall, I loved our experience in the Finger Lakes. Now, how can I order some of that homemade granola?!!
Renee

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel! We are very excited to know that your stay was more than you had planned for. Our local food vendor comes from Oak Hill Bulk Foods right here in Penn Yan. Their store is approximately two miles up the road from the hotel. It is a locally owned and run mennonite store that produces freshed baked goods every morning! We have been using their producsts for quite some time now and are very happy with their goods as are our guests. Please come join us again and we would be more than willing to make sure you get to this store in person! We can also make arrangements to get granola shipped to you via our local postal carrier as well. Please feel free to contact the hotel to do so if interested. -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mts of western NC
Level Contributor
719 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights in one of the 'presidential suites'. Our first contact wasn't very impressive as the front desk clerk was apparently inexperienced. Although friendly, she immediately forgot our names and could not work the computer. Someone had to help her. She was going to tell us all about the local things to do, then also forgot that. She also wanted our driver's license. Same for the person who checked in right before us. This is a first for us and we travel a lot. Why?? Although our room was located next to an elevator the noise was very minor. We wish we could say the same about the traffic noise (trucks, etc..) at the rather busy intersection but what can you do? Fortunately the traffic quiets down as the evening progresses. The suite itself is extremely spacious and it was clean. The fireplace is a nice touch as is the swivel TV which lets you turn it from the seating area to the bedroom. The bathroom area and amenities are very good. The layout of the room is extremely nice but who on earth made the decision to put the a/c unit right by the bed?? What a draft! Why not in the seating area? It is the same exterior wall. Parking is a bit limited and tight but the area appears safe. The breakfast had some nice selections with homemade pastries and breads. Definitely above average. Overall our stay was pleasant and acceptable. If we were given an 'average' room then our rating would be 'average'. Our rating is a bit generous but accurate for the 'presidential suite'. We would recommend staying here if you can get one of the suites.

Room Tip: Get a suite for a pleasant experience or expect an average typical Best Western motel stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
I am sorry to read that your experience was not what you had expected. I have researched the dates of your stay and found out whom the front desk attendant was that you spoke of so that I may be able to review this comment to help in training her further. We do appreciate your suggestions on what you noted was less than a perfect experience for you. It is important to note as well that although you may have traveled a lot and don't get asked for your license, it is policy at our hotel to do so. This ensures that our records accurately reflect who is staying at our hotel in case there is an emergency of some type and so that we can assure that all reservations are accurate. Your safety and security as a guest is of utmost importance to us and we do all that we can to make sure that this is maintained in all procedures. We are grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us and only hope that you will give us the opportunity again in the future to improve upon your last experience. -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We reserved a suite at the Best Western Penn Yan, for which I am glad, since we spent all day touring around the lakes and their was not a ton of night life in the area, it was great to have the space to relax and enjoy the evening unwinding in our room. The suite was very large, bed, desk area, larger couch and tv area, also a little dinig area, fridge, micro, sink all we could need. The bathroom was pretty large too and had a nice outer sink area and then the inner bathroom with another since the It was nice to be able to purchase some local made cheeses and meats and bring them back to the room and store in our fridge to enjoy later with the local wines we purchased. The complimentary breakfast is a great deal also and very very convenient. The waffle maker was the highlight for me and my husband loved the Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwichses and there were plenty of other options as well. We did not make use of the indoor pool or exercise room. The outside of the hotel appeared very new and they were re doing the parking lot but that was not a big deal. The staf was friendly as well.

Room Tip: the suite was great, plenty of room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMGBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Having the ability to relax and enjoy our hotel as your home away from home is what we strive to reach for in every guest experience. I am very glad to read that you were able to do so in your stay with us. The room you stayed in was one of our most luxurious room types we offer called the Deluxe King Suite. It was one of the rooms that was added a year ago in our renovations and has become very popular amongst new and returning guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words! -Jamie S., Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We haven't stayed at too many Best Westerns lately because of outdatedness. We stay at this one every time we go to the Finger Lakes. The rooms are clean, beds great, and they have now improved their breakfast bar. Homemade breads and muffins.... There is an outside area to sit and eat and even drink your bottle of wine. The hotel is quite, especially the rooms to the back, the staff is very caring. They have added on, which we are thankfull for, because sometimes the place is fully booked when we try to stay. We have stayed here once a year since they opened and we haven't been disappointed yet.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
To be deemed the best Best Western is a huge compliment to our staff and the franchise itself. We thank you for such kind words! We do strive to excel in providing excellent customer care and service, and to have this recognized by our guests means a great deal. We hope that you will join us again in your future travels as well! -Jamie S, Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We wanted a central location to visit this region of the finger lakes and chose this hotel thanks to the good reviews. We were happy with this choice, as we were very well received by the staff. the rooms were large enough with 2 double beds, great bedding, nice clean bathroom and very good service.
The location on the street is a bit out of the way but you can walk to the downtown area in a few minutes to some restaurants.
Plenty of parking except that they were building a patio in front of the hotel taking some space away temporarily and the construction company was very careful around the cars..
Breakfast was included and the the most complete,and clean that I have ever seen for a continental breakfast, They went as far as wrapping each slice of bread individually to keep hygiene very high and they constantly cleanup and replenish the buffet
This location in the finger lake region was great for us as we roamed as far as Corning to see the great glass museum ( worth spending the day) hiking the canyon at Watkins Glen park, lunch and wine tasting at Fox run winery and simply traveling the small county roads past the Mennonites farms and the horse drawn carriages. This is beautiful country with the lakes never very far from the roads.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmil420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and we are very glad to see that you chose to stay with us again for your travels this year! We are always striving to improve on every guest experience to make the next time better than the last. I am thrilled to see you were able to enjoy our newly designed outdoor patio area. This has been a great addition to our property and are excited to show it off to all that come to stay with us. We always enjoy hearing what every guest took from their experience with us so again thank you for your willingness to share this information. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! -Jamie S, Hotel Supervisor-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
15.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Address: 142 Lake St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1565 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The proud winner of the Design Excellence Award and a consistent recipient of top honors for cleanliness. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites is a charming Finger Lakes hotel located in the awe-inspiring and romantic Finger Lakes Wine Region of New York State. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to historic downtown Penn Yan and Keuka Lake. Just a short drive from unique restaurants (Esperanza Mansion), museums (Corning Museum of Glass) and attractions (Windmill Farm & Craft Market). With 57 beautifully-appointed guest rooms you are able to select from a myriad stylish room types: Standard Double Queen, Deluxe King, Grand King Suites, Presidential Suites, King Suite, Deluxe King Suite. Modern conveniences include microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, coffee maker, iron & ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn and Suites is Finger Lakes lodging at its finest. The Vineyard Inn and Suites is here to make your stay in Penn Yan as comfortable and convenient as possible. Convenience begins with their complimentary breakfast inspired by local Finger Lakes cuisine. It continues with their Finger Lakes on-site concierge who can help you experience all that the Finger Lakes Region has to offer. Once you return, enjoy their state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool and hot tub, and free high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Vineyard Hotel Penn Yan
Best Western Penn Yan
Penn Yan Best Western
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing