We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top of the Lake

Top of the Lake
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Penn Yan
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
922 reviews
565 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice restaurant, food was good, to very good. The view is what sold this place to us.....just incredible. Could have sat outside all night. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rryan313131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    80
    56
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've enjoyed everything we've eaten here (two visits) but can only honestly comment on the soups and sandwiches. The speed of the service depends on if it is crowded or not - - but just sit back and enjoy the beautiful view if it is a slow day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zsa-zsa013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty good for the money - nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Because we had to wait a bit long for a table, we were offered a complimentary drink - we shared a steak meal and it was pretty good. We would go back if we were in that area again;

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adahgordontripadviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Food here is OK. What was odd was that there was what appeared to be a group in another part of the dining room that was using an amplified mike to make presentations. The rest of us diners were made unwilling participants is this series of speeches. We thought perhaps the restaurant should have advised the group that they were sharing the dining room with people who had paid good money for a nice meal out and who perhaps did not care to have a meeting forced on them.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammondsport, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great view. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for a family dinner. Food was good, came hot and quick. The bar seemed very overwhelmed but the drinks were good. I have never been a huge fan of this restaurant but it has new owners and they seem to be doing a great job. It's a family type restaurant, not pub style. Keuka Lake is able to be looked at through almost every window. Beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top of the Lake also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Top of the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing