We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint & Quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva on the Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint & Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for only one night, but we enjoyed everything about Gary and Yang's property and hospitality. The house had a lot of interesting history, was immaculately clean, and the hot tub was privately perfect! The street was quiet and safe, I especially enjoyed the front porch, with the exception of having no outside ashtray. The breakfast was nice. We enjoyed Yang and felt welcome there. They had plenty of brochures for local eating and entertainment. Gary was informative and knew his history of the area. If I had any complaint at all, it would be that there is no view or back yard! We will return to the Trimmer House and recommend it.

Room Tip: There is an outside looking porch on upper floor, that seemed like it would have been enjoyable, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lylis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    14
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
97
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our stay at the Trimmer House was nothing short of spectacular. The house is beautiful and immaculately clean, and the grounds are perfectly manicured. The innkeepers are both wonderful people, who are just as willing to spend time discussing common interests as they are willing to allow you to relax privately. We stayed in David and Adda's Suite, and found an impressive attention to small detail: the candy dishes and refrigerator were stocked with a wonderful variety of options that would fit any taste, linens were soft and of exceptional quality, and the switches were all unobtrusively labeled. Bottom line: you will most certainly feel welcome, comfortable, and safe, and clean at the Trimmer House. We continue to recommend the Trimmer House to all our friends and family members who have are planning trips to the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I would recommend this B&B to friends and family , I do believe my wine trail experience was perfect due to this tranquil setting!!! LOVE it! LOVE it! LOVE it! I would advertise this place much more but then it would always be booked! The charm, the value is... Priceless!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyLCallegari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Trimmer House in mid-October and really enjoyed the hospitality of Yang and Gary. The B&B was beautiful and spotless. We stayed in Bessie's Room which had a nice four poster bed and fireplace - very cosy. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast buffet that included pancakes made with flour from the local mill down the street.The Inn is centrally located to wineries and micro-breweries. It was a quiet location but we could walk to the pubs and restaurants in Penn Yan. The hot tub was a plus. We would definately stay at Trimmer House again.

Room Tip: Guest House looks great for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a visit to the Corning Museum of Glass we were looking for a B&B on our way the the Finger Lakes. We were fortunate to find the Trimmer House which exceeded our expectations. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the common areas interesting and included a restore player piano, parking well lit, the breakfast more than sufficient and the host most accommodating. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We planned our trip at the last minute and decided to stay over in the Finger Lakes region to break up a long drive, so needed to email to find a place that would accept a single night if they still had a room. Trimmer house responded right away. Penn Yan is a town that has seen better days, but many downtown buildings have been restored and contain some interesting little shops and pubs. The Timmer house is a five minute walk from the downtown, on a quiet street with wide lawns and sidewalks. The owner refurbished the property, where much of the original woodwork and old fireplaces have been preserved, and has filled it with antiques or reproductions made by local Mennonites. There is central air which was much appreciated in the heat wave, but we enjoyed sitting on the front porch and the back deck in the evening, while sipping a local wine. I especially enjoyed the blueberry buckwheat pancakes for breakfast. The buckwheat is a local product of Penn Yan. We would definitely stay here again, should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor had a private bath off of the hall, but it was private enough, as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorsyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I wanted a quiet, relaxing way to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary, not one of the traditional "milestone" years,but still an important one to us. We chose to step away together from the every day routines and pressures. The Trimmer House did not disappoint. The hostess greeted us warmly, explained the numerous amenities and led us to our lovely suite. The suite included complimentary beverages and snacks, terry robes, a private bath, plenty of extra towels, blankets, etc. The bed was very comfortable, the furnishings and decor were beautiful, yet inviting for lounging. We enjoyed a high level of privacy, but we knew that the hostess was readily available to address any needs. Breakfast was delightful! There was a variety which included home-made scones, waffles, omelets, bacon, sausage, several juices, plenty of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, as well as fresh fruits to choose from. Breakfast could be hearty or light as preferred. The location of the Trimmer House in wine country made our trip really worthwhile. My husband and I heartily recommend a therapeutic stay at Trimmer House to refresh the heart and soul, celebrate memories, and create new ones.

Room Tip: If a private bath is important to you, specify that when making a reservation at any B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
20.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 145 E Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Trimmer House B&B pamper you during your visit to the Finger Lakes with luxury accommodations in our Historic Inn with fully modern amenities. Walk to shops, pubs, and restaurants. Tour local wineries, breweries, and museums or hike and bike local trails. Local craft markets are nearby. Relax on our historic front porch or enjoy the hot tub on premise. Several rooms have fireplaces. Our adjacent Guest House accommodates up to six persons in comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trimmer House Bed And Breakfast Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing