We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, charming, fabulous breakfasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delmar, NY
2 reviews
“Spotless, charming, fabulous breakfasts”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The hosts were perfect - helpful but not cloying, friendly without being pushy. The home is spotless inside and out. Our room was charming, and I especially enjoyed the clawfoot tub - took 3 baths in 2 days! Everything you could wish for has been thought of and provided. This is a wonderful place to stay to tour the wineries on the Finger Lakes. Buckwheat pancakes and muffins are a specialty, so breakfasts were a real treat.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whitewater56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    15
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
101
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

My husband and I really liked the Trimmer House. We found the owners to be pretty helpful and friendly and went there to enjoy each others company, not to make friends with the owners so I guess I don't understand the previous guests complaints! They did give us restaurant recommendations and served a really delicious breakfast both mornings we were there. We loved the hot tub and the front porch for coffee in the morning (they prepare coffee early if you want to have that before breakfast is ready). We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2008

After reading all the reviews, and especially the owner's response, I feel compelled to also tell about my experience at the Trimmer House. My husband and I love going to the Finger Lakes, and had stayed at this B & B with friends several years ago. The B & B itself was fine. It was nicely decorated, the room and the bed were comfortable. But we have a running joke with our friends that the owner of the B & B is the rudest person we've ever met at a B & B. (And between both couples, we have collectively stayed at a lot of B & Bs.) Until I read all the reviews (and the owner's response), I wasn't sure if the owner was the same person. But, the owner at the time we stayed was a professor who taught hospitality at a nearby college. This was great, because he is perhaps the least hospital B & B owner/host I've ever experienced. He would not talk to us at all. We had eaten at a number of places in and around Penn Yan, but were interested in finding out what he recommended. He wouldn't tell us. He never came around during meals, and had his hospitality students do all the breakfast cooking, serving and cleaning. The hospitality students were very pleasant (unlike their instructor). It's not like you go to a B & B in the Finger Lakes to hang out in your room or at the B & B. But, since the room was comfortable, and I liked the hot tub, I might return. My main piece of advice if you are going to stay is to beware of the owner. As you have probably gleaned from many of the postings, he is quite a piece of work!

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — the host
  • Stayed April 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2007

A relaxing week-end at the Trimmer House B&B was just what my husband and I needed to relieve the stress of the city.
The Trimmer House is a very nicely decorated and comfortable home located in the quaint town of Penn Yan, New York. It is Ideally located near two of the Finger Lakes, Keuka and Seneca Lake.And it is in the heart of wine country!
On the recomendation of our hosts, we visited some of the
better local wineries. They were very easy to find with their direction.We dined at at The Wagner House, a historic restaurant. suggested by our hosts. Good food.
Enjoying the relaxed atmoshphere ,I read my book in one of the two victorian sitting rooms available for guests to use. My husband and I took advantage of the hot tub ,a calming amenity that one usually does not find at a B&B. Our bed room was large, and as well decorated as the rest of the house. The mattress was very plushy!
On the last morning of our stay , our friendly hostess served us hot homemade banana pancakes. Yummy! All in all it was a great stay at the Trimmer House !

  • Liked — location to the wineries
  • Disliked — limited shopping
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MuffinRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, ny
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2007

Great place! A hidden gem close by. The owners were very hospitable, attending to our every request. The hostess was friendly and served us a generous breakfast, and the selection of food was extensive. The husband was an interesting guy that has traveled around the world. he had some very entertaining stories. he even showed us his wine collection! We had a great bungalo-type room with our own little porch. This is an ideal location in the middle of the Finger Lakes wine country. Well worth the trip! See you next year!

  • Liked — Convenient location and the friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing really. It was what we were looking for.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BNBtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

The Host is mostly absent, but was cold and aloof when present. Upon check in, he was mowing the lawn and sent us up to the porch to wait in 90 degree heat for the hostess to answer the door while he went back to mowing (we should have know better right then) The hostess will make you feel like you should not need a key and will suggest you just leave your room unlocked during your stay (are you kidding?) The only place to hang clothes in the room was a wall peg rack. The ironing board was a cheap table top version - no other available. Although we stayed in the room with the only access to an upper porch, the outside porch light (which is very bright) is not cotroled by you as a guest - it will be on all night. whether you want it on or not. The room has a $10 floor fan to run-- & trust me, you will need it as the temperature is also not contorlled by you as a guest and the room was hot and stuffy. The lake acces property advertised is remote and has a steep staircase leading to a very wobbly pier that you will not feel safe on. We would never go back to the Trimmer House and would never reommend anyone to stay here. Please note, we have been many places and stayed in beautiful, wonderful B&B's and this is not one of them. I can say that it was clean and the breakfast was good -- breakfast will be served at their set time, no option. We felt most unwelcome at this B&B..

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 57COWGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

This was a very clean and comfortable b&b but there were a couple of problems that we encountered. First , the owner was misleading about his cancellation policy. He stated that there would be NO cancellation fee if the reservation was "REBOOKED". Well ,we had to rebook due to an illness and were charged $75 each! He gave us a very poor excuse saying that you would be charged a fee if a "beauty shop appointment " was cancelled. Next was the problem odors. We were unable to sit out on the front porch the two nights we stayed there because of the horrible manure odors . It was so bad that you either had to go inside or get in your car and leave the area. I made the mistake of leaving our room window open and when we returned the room smelled like manure..........really disgusting! Good luck if you stay there....there are many other nice places in wine country.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrimmerHouse, Owner at Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 October 2007
Almost all lodging properties charge cancellation fees. Trimmer House B&B tries to be flexible and work with each guest to resolve such situations. Some guests simply find any cancellation fee unacceptable. Unlike some B&Bs and hotels, we do not over book rooms. We guarantee that the room is ready when the guest arrives. This neccessitates the use of cancellation fees. B&Bs do not have hundreds of rooms to cushion the financial shock of turning away room requests only to have a last minute cancellation create an empty room.

Our website cancellation policy has been clearly posted for more than ten years and we have not experienced a problem. It is unfortunate that a recent guest has decided to flame us twice over this issue. We did not charge the full rate to the guest but rather only 30% of what should have been charged according to the posted policy. We thought this more than reasonable.

Trimmer House has no control over mother nature. A skunk recently visited the neighborhood and left it's calling card. We apologize to those guests who had this unpleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
20.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Trimmer House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 145 E Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Trimmer House B&B pamper you during your visit to the Finger Lakes with luxury accommodations in our Historic Inn with fully modern amenities. Walk to shops, pubs, and restaurants. Tour local wineries, breweries, and museums or hike and bike local trails. Local craft markets are nearby. Relax on our historic front porch or enjoy the hot tub on premise. Several rooms have fireplaces. Our adjacent Guest House accommodates up to six persons in comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trimmer House Bed And Breakfast Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing