We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pennellville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Edge Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Pennellville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in the Seneca room the beginning of October for 6 nights and everything exceeded our expectations.
Steve and Ann were not only excellent hosts but warm and friendly. Breakfast was awesome by candlelight and a fireplace and good food and company. Took river dinner cruise which is a must-Ann is an excellent cook & Steve shares his knowledge of the river and surroundings with great wit. The only problem with the river boat cruise was that Tessa (their beautiful golden retriever) didn't get to go with us. This is a definite return trip! Bob & Becky Bailey

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reba46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We found this B & B and took a chance. It was by far the nicest place we have been! Anne and Steve are awesome hosts! The rooms are both breathtakingly beautiful and comfortable! The Victorian furniture is amazing. The food was delicious. We were welcomed to join in on an evening coffee and cheesecake event. Tessa, the resident dog, is a wonderful four legged welcome wagon. The dock by the river and comfortable Adirondack chairs provide a very peaceful setting. The entire weekend was relaxing and just what we needed to unwind. Thank you again for a wonderful weekend way beyond our expectations!

Room Tip: The Oneida Room is breathtakingly beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLBarnes416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the River Edge over the Labour Day weekend while attending the Classic Race Weekend in Oswego. This was our second B&B experience and it was terrific. The house has a beautiful settting by the river. There are no bad rooms - just choice between Queen or King beds. Anne and Steve were wonderful hosts. Anne's breakfasts were amazing - we ate more than we ever do for breakfast - you could pretty much skip lunch. Each morning was a great experience having conversations with other guests and family. Overall a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have been staying at various b&bs throughout New York State over the past few years. You know how you compare them and think, "if we could just combine features from this one with the features from that one, we'd have the perfect b&b"? Well, we think we found that perfect mix at River Edge Mansion. The mansion itself is stunning, both inside and out. The history of the mansion is intriguing enough, but combined with its stately elegance and gorgeous antiques, we felt as if we were back in a different age. We stayed in the Oneida River room, which is very spacious, with deep, tall windows with interior working shutters, beautiful decorative woodwork, large fireplace, wide plank flooring. The room has all the modern conveniences, air conditioning, large flatscreen tv, dvd player. Note, there is no WiFi, but we survived without it! The best part for me was the huge private porch. The remaining rooms are very beautiful as well. Anne was an amazing host and her homemade breakfasts were satisfying and delicious. We so enjoyed meeting and speaking to her other guests as well. The location is really ideal, so close to shopping and restaurants and antique shops. We were close to all conveniences, yet still felt we were in a tranquil environment. We loved our stay, and will return.

Room Tip: Choose the Oneida Room, has the private balcony. Faces the road, which is a bit busy during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kargo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneHutchins, Owner at River Edge Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for the great review! We loved your visit. I'm sorry you couldn't get WiFi though. We do have WiFi, but for some reason it works in some rooms on some days, but not in all rooms all the time. It might have something to do with the walls in this old house, but there are spots where it is always reliable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The River Edge Mansion is an absolutely georgeous location! The house itself is immaculately kept. The rooms ( we stayed in the Seneca room and the Oswego room ) are beautiful. The Oswego has a really calming light feeling to it. It's bath is a good size, my friend Cate loved the whirlpool tub she couldn't stop talking about it.
The Seneca room has a really envelloping warm quality to it. The bathroom is almost as big as the bedroom and includes the best soaking tub I've seen. It really reminds me of a sensory deprivation tub because it is so deep you don't reach the bottom when you lay back so it feels like you are floating on a cloud. I would highly recommend the Seneca room for a romantic getaway.
The inn has a lovely golden retriever in residence her name is Contessa, Tessa for short.
I would recommend you spend some time in the red room looking at the ceiling and see if you can find anything interesting... then be sure to ask Anne & Steve about the story of the red room's tin ceiling.
The inn offers dinners at the inn which I would VERY HIGHLY recommend. Anne is an amazing cook and both dinners were out of this world.
Their multi course breakfasts are a real treat and more than enough to skip lunch.
I have celiacs and am gluten free ( so is Anne ! ) so having someone who understands dietary needs is a huge plus.
I really could go on and on about how wonderful the River Edge is but I think you would enjoy it much more if you gave them a call and went out to see it yourself. Tell them Amy & Cate say hi.

Room Tip: There isnt a bad room at the River Edge. The Oneida has access to a large balcony that is along th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Had the most wonderful time at River Edge Mansion with our charming hosts Anne, Steve, and Cindy! The rooms are all gorgeous and tastefully decorated-- we stayed in the Oneida Room, which includes easy access to a 2nd floor balcony where we had tea and homemade blueberry muffins (made by Anne! delicious.) in the morning-- just perfect. The food is superb, really above average (both Anne and Cindy are wonderful cooks). The accommodations are so comfortable, and the setting is beautiful! The Mansion sits on the edge of the Erie Canal, and you can walk down and sit in the gazebo by the dock-- so quiet and still. The house is huge, so the room felt very private and spacious, even though there were other guests staying in the Mansion that night. There are lots of little wonderful places to retreat-- 2 porches, a beautiful sitting room-- made me feel like I was a character on Downton Abbey!
I was on a family vacation with my parents, and we arrived in the afternoon-- Anne and Steve instantly made us feel at home and treated us more like family than just guests. They happened to be having a clambake that evening and invited us to join them! The clams were delicious, and while we ate Steve regaled us with some wonderful stories of his past; he always has a twinkle in his eye and sure knows how to deliver a punch line.
Everything about this place is wonderful-- they even have an incredibly friendly golden retriever. All in all, we couldn't have picked a better place to spend a relaxing weekend. We will most definitely return, as we already miss our new friends Anne, Steve, and Cindy. And we can't wait to escape for another weekend in their beautiful mansion!

Room Tip: Oneida Room has easy access to balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Mansion in early July and had a great time. Anne, Cindy and Steve are the best hosts ever!! Sitting on the dock in the afternoon was a treat as was the wonderful food they served. We took a dinner cruise (Steve is a licensed captain) to a small town about an hour from the Mansion and were treated to a great meal aboard fresh from the grill. Steve and I tried to match stories but he's a better story teller I think. We stayed in the Seneca room and all I can say is "WOW"! I think the bathroom was bigger than my bedroom at home! And breakfast.....I kept thinking we were done when Anne would bring out the next course. Even their dog is very cool!! I hope we get the chance to stay with them again one day. Steve and I still have more stories to tell.....

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandit321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to River Edge Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Edge Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 County Route 10, Pennellville, NY 13132
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Pennellville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pennellville
Price Range: £104 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1818 Greek Revival Mansion on the banks of the Erie Canal filled with antiques will fulfill every romantic or history buff's dreams. Enjoy a dinner or cocktail cruise on the historic Erie Canal in our Riverboat "Pepi" (May - October). Share a glass of wine in front of the fire in the Oneida River room or on the balcony overlooking the river. Linger over a candle-lit breakfast in the elegant dining room and stroll down to the dock to watch the boats glide by. Share a bubble bath...The Onieda and Seneca River rooms feature king size beds and two-person whirlpool tubs. Located only 10 miles from Destiny USA and Syracuse, NY. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing