We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Campus”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Peru
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shamrock Motel and Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peru
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We just returned from Plattsburgh and our 3rd stay at the Shamrock Motel & Cabins in Peru. On our way up we hit some terrible storms in the Albany area and got to the Shamrock much later than planned...So what did Janice do? She turned on our air conditioner so the room would be cool when we finally arrived. How many hotels or motels are doing that for their guests that haven't even checked in yet? The answer is ,"none". Thanks for another great stay and we'll be back in May.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gman310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

The Motel Room was really cute and cozy and very neat. It had a rather large refrigerator for a motel. It really was a really good deal for the price and the location. There are no frills - just a nice room. Once you are inside the cabin you really feel like you are living in a log cabin at a campground - wooden pine smell included. I would stay there again if I was in the area. Its about 1.5 miles away from AuSable Chasm; 5 miles away from Lake Champlain; 12 miles away from Plattsburgh; and 45 minutes away from Lake Placid. Janice is ultra helpful and will give you good tips on places to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank firenxtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I stayed at the Shamrock Motel and Cabins for four nights in July during an 11 day road trip. I made this our home base to do day trips to Lake Placid, Whiteface Mountain, Ausable Chasm and Plattsburgh. We found the Shamrock had simple, clean accommodations for under 50. per night , although I don't know if rates vary, depending on seasons or special events in the area, like so many others (such as the Ironman Triatholon held in Lake Placid). Rooms were roomy, beds comfortable, and we didn't care about the dated side chairs. TV, round table with chairs for a meal, kitchen with full refrig/freezer, small stove/oven, double-sink. I brought my own mini coffee maker, but there may have been one in one of the cabinets, I never checked. There wasn't a microwave though, although we didn't need one. The motel rooms have airconditioning, the cabins do not. The cabins look really cute and they sit back further from the road. I was afraid of a heat wave, so we opted for the air conditioned rooms. They are closer to the road and you hear some traffic, but only during certain times of the day/night. I'm a light sleeper and I slept well here. Janice the owner was very accommodating and pleasant. She mentioned Crickets up the road for a meal/drink, and we enjoyed that one evening. I would definitely contact Janice again and stay here. Lake Placid hotels were too pricey for us, and what we saved we spent on tickets to climb Whiteface Mountain, Gondola Ride, Ski Jumps, Summer Bobsled run, etc. Don't let the 45 min. ride to Lake Placid turn you off. If you are on a road trip, enjoy the views and the drive like we did!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LivLuvLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mnducharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shamrock Motel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Motel and Cabins

Address: 2445 State Route 9, Peru, NY 12972-4203
Region: United States > New York > Peru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peru
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Shamrock Motel And Cabins Hotel Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing