We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beaitful town of Phoenicia”

Simpler Times Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simpler Times Cabins
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spend a few days in the cabin room and we were surprised on how clean, well stocked and organized everything was. Susan keeps the place in great condition. We BBQ'd everyday and got to enjoy our lawn area outside daily. The porch is a nice touch with a table and some chairs to enjoy a cold beverage and admire the nature around you. You can hear the Esophous from the porch. There are power outlets outside too so you can enjoy some music while you relax.

Once we got settled in we went to town and found some great gems. Tavern 214 (Owner Pete is great) Sweet Sues for the best pancake's in the WORLD, Town Tinker Tube rental (Hank is cool) and we bought some gifts at The Tender Land Home store. If you wan to buy actual groceries go to Boiceville supermarket though, they have more stuff than you will find on Main Street.

Overall we had a great stay and I was not only impressed with Susan and Simpler Times but the whole city of Phoenicia. They truly are a community in the very essence of the word. I will be coming back and I look forward to my next visit. See you soon!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at Simpler TImes for a night during our stay in the area. The cabin was clean, functional, and perfect for what we needed. These cabins aren't exactly tucked away in the woods though, so don't expect to be immersed in nature.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerestoLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Nice little place, cabin was clean and well stocked with all we needed. It was uncomfortably hot while there but the ceiling fans helped, at least one room did, one bedroom ceiling fan had the blades installed opposite each other so effectively canceled each other out, strange! Equally strange was the fact that we checked ourselves in, there was a welcome note on the door, and checked ourselves out... just left payment in the office, hope they got it! :) Others have commented on the nearby river, although we found it to be inaccessible near the cabins.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great little spot in the Catskills. The owners are as sweet and friendly in person as they sound on the phone. We stayed in a cabin for one night with 3 kids and had plenty of space and absolutely enjoyed the quiet and relaxing atmosphere. We ate outside on the picnic table and watched the stars come out. The cabin was clean and well stocked with everything we could need. Loved the ceiling-fans in the bedrooms, which you don't usually find in a place like this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We just returned from 3 days and two night stay in Simple Times Cabins. Stay was beyond our expectations. We rented Log Cabin and this one is so cozy inside! Amazingly fancy little wooden house with so many great details of great style and everything that you need.
Owners are very easy to talk to. The process of booking is the easiest that it can be.
The site itself is not secluded and it's also pretty close to the road. But our cabin outlooked the forest and located in walking distance to the river.

Room Tip: Chose Log Cabin. Its the best one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yekaterinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I am a city girl through and through while my husband, by contrast was raised camping hunting etc. Simpler Times Cabins is an amazing compromise. I was afraid that my first time in the woods would result in me "going" outdoors, being cold and uncomfortable. Not so with STC. It has all the amenities I needed but with the seclusion and peace my husband desired. The cabins are beautiful, with a stove, refrigerator, etc and a really homey feeling. STC is less than 10 minutes from the town of Phoenicia. I have never before used the word "quaint," but that is the only word to describe Phoenicia. We went to the antique store, walked main street, and ate at the cantina (look for the big lumberjack out frong) and it was all so relaxing. But most of the time, we stayed in the cabin. Our dog (who is also a city pet) loved walking the woods and trying to swim in the creek
Sue is amazing. so very sweet and so very helpful. Unfortunately, we had to leave a day early thanks to Hurricane Sandy, but we told her we would soon be back. I am slowly becoming an outdoorsy gal...thanks to STC. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Whittenburg cabin. It was toward the back and close to the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We came upon this place by accident fairly late on a fall foliage weekend Saturday and were pleasantly surprised. At the time, the only cabin left was tiny #7, but it was comfortable and exuded an old world flair. I rated "sleep quality" a 3 simply for the reason that there were only two twin beds lined up toe to toe - but other than that, the mattresses and bedding were very comfortable.

Our cabin lived up to it's name - "Simpler Times", but we were quite charmed by it. While it was tiny, it was warm and cozy, had a full stove, fridge & basic dishes, a writing desk, plenty of lamps and outlets. Wood paneling on the walls and country themed wall art along with the old TV requiring manual channel changes (receiving basic cable only) reminded us of the type of cabin our grandparents might have kept. Board games can be checked out at the office, and a strong WiFi signal is available should you wish to link back to the 21st century via your laptop, tablet or smartphone.

The grounds are very peaceful and quiet and it is a quick drive into town to Phoenicia. We were greeted warmly by the owner and prices were very reasonable, considering the day and season, and there were several larger cabins on the premises as well, although they were already taken at the time of our arrival. We will definitely return to this place another time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenicia hotels
0.5 mi away
The Graham & Co.
The Graham & Co.
#2 of 2 in Phoenicia
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phoenicia Lodge
Phoenicia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Phoenicia
139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Menla Retreat & Spa
Menla Retreat & Spa
#2 of 2 in Phoenicia
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpler Times Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpler Times Cabins

Address: 5973 Route-28, Phoenicia, NY 12464
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Phoenicia
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing