We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenicia Belle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenicia Belle
Ranked #1 of 2 Phoenicia B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in the Phoenicia. Kiwi Tom was a most welcoming host for our stay, always helpful and good for a chat. The room was huge, and wonderfully appointed with Victorian style furnishings, the bed was amazingly comfortably. Tom's breakfast the next day was a feast, cereal and warm oatmeal, wonderful fresh fruit, and homemade muffins which my wife and I saved for the bus trip home. Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandP10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

My wife and I booked a last minute stay here as a stopover on a long drive and we are glad we did. The Belle was immaculate! We stayed in the Violet Suite and it was superb. Phoenicia itself has some nice restaurants and shops. It was the perfect place to go and relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Tremper, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I arrived to my little getaway one nite to find my heat did not work. I drove back to Phoenicia and decided to try to get a room for the nite here. It was late and the note on the door had a number to call. Within minuets the innkeeper arrived and I checked in to a beautifully decorated, warm and comfortable , clean room for the nite. The innkeeper was so pleasant and accommodating and didn't mind at all that it was late . I have passed by the Phoenicia Belle for years and years never knowing what was inside. This is a great place to stay in the heart of one of the most beautiful hamlets of the Catskills on its Main Street.. Although I did not have the breakfast, I glanced at a beautifully set table with very inviting fresh food highly recommend this B & B for any season. A must stay. Thank you Tom

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karina2u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just got back from a short stay at the " Phoenicia Belle B & B " in main street Phoenicia.
If your in the Catskills Mountain region for a weekend or vacation and are thinking of staying in Woodstock, drive the extra few miles into Phoenicia and experience breathtaking views of the mountains, unravel to the sounds of meandering streams and find the best hiking and fishing locations from well informed local people that go out of their way to help you.
Tom is a world class host and the " Belle " is as good as if not better than any B & B I've stayed in worldwide.
Complimentary Organic Coffee , organic herbal Fair trade teas, home made breakfast and suites with that " welcome home feel " from the minute you walk in the door .
Sip your morning coffee or Orange juice on the front porch of this classic Victorian B & B and try not to think about checking out !
Looking forward to our next trip.
Thanks Tom

Room Tip: We had the upstairs suite, kitchen with real stove , pillow top mattress for a relaxing & sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

A great 'bed and breakfast' on Phoenicia's Main Street, less than 200 feet from the Trailways NYC Bus stop. Tom is a wonderful host, friendly and helpful, and his (optional) breakfast is a perfect alternative to Sweet Sue's pancake regimen. The common room or 'lounge', with its real-wood fireplace, is a cozy way to spend an evening when the weather is cold.

Room Tip: Each room or apartment has its own personality, so read the website descriptions carefully to match...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadowOfBucephalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I give this B&B FIVE STARS. The room was beautiful. The room & bath was impeccable. We had Tom's special blend oatmeal & fresh fruit for breakfast -- steel cut oats made with milk and topped with Vermont Maple Syrup -- yummy. Great coffee. Tom was a gracious host and introduced us to all of the other guests. We had been disappointed with another establishment, and a local restaurant owner suggested we contact the Phoenicia Belle when we asked if she knew of another place to stay. I had to do some work and had internet access, and worked on lovely and clean front porch. No dust. No cobwebs. No mold smells. The bed... it was far more comfortable than my bed at home. We will absolutely be returning next year. Our only "complaint" was lack of a good reading lamp (because I like to read before I fall asleep). But I will be back .

Room Tip: Go for the downstairs suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minesafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night having first arrived in the USA back in September 2011.

Overall, our experience was very positive. The room we had was really a suite, and was the largest accommodation we had over our 3 week visit to North America. The bed was comfortable, the furnishings traditional and appropriate for the property, and everything was very clean. Be advised though – there was no TV on our room. No issue for us, but just be aware.

The wireless Internet connection worked just fine.

The host was attentive and ensured we knew where everything was.

Breakfast is optional but my advice is to take it – it's delicious, in as large a quantity as anyone could possibly need, and is very healthy. In our case it consisted of all kinds of fruit, nuts, seeds, as well as the more normal muffins (warmed), fruit juices and coffee.

The area round about is scenic and has a lot to offer both hikers and those just touring around.

There is a pizzeria opposite and our experience here was not particularly positive, with both cooking and service that leave a lot to be desired (how hard can it be make a pizza for goodness sake).

Summary: recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbclefties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
7.6 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Graham & Co.
The Graham & Co.
#2 of 2 in Phoenicia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.0 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#2 of 2 in Oliverea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Belle

Property: Phoenicia Belle
Address: 73 Main St, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5212
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Belle Hotel Phoenicia
Belle Hotel Phoenicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing