We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, well-kept property”
Review of Phoenicia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenicia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quaint, well-kept property”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Phoenicia Lodge. Next time we'll probably stay in the cabin -- the motel room was a big small and didn't have good sound barriers. That being said, it was still very clean and well-maintained and adorable. There was an flatscreen tv with basic cable. Our dvd player didn't work, but we were able to play one of the DVDs we got from the office. Free breakfast (oatmeal, bagels, fruit, granola bars, greek yogurt, coffee, OJ) is in the office starting at 8am. The owners are super nice and helpful with hiking recommendations.

The lodge is close enough to Phoenicia that you can walk there in about 15-20 minutes. We could hear the Esopus creek from our motel room's porch. There are two hammocks behind the cottages and a fire pit. Shower in the room was great, and they also clean the motel rooms daily.

Room Tip: Choose one of the cabins for room to stretch out and some privacy -- the motel rooms are a bit small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plural39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoeniciavillage, Owner at Phoenicia Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thanks so much for your great review! Just wanted to note that we are aware of, and do have plans to improve, the soundproofing between the motel rooms (darn 1940s construction). It's a complicated project, but we're nearly ready to wrap our heads around it. Thanks for your (and everyone's) patience as we continue to work through our never-ending to do list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    40
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
58
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed there in May 2011 for a week and loved it. We stayed in the L-shaped cabin. Our little one was 20 mths & 1 wk old. It was perfect. It was clean, easy to get to and had a pretty backdrop. The owners & their family (as well as their dog) were very friendly. Our cabin had a fenced in little yard and a sandbox which was perfect for our child. It made for a very happy waddler and family! We explore the Catskill area while we were there & each afternoon/night that we returned to the cabin, it was just perfect.

Room Tip: Even though the L-shaped cabin was hooked on to the other "motel" rooms, we didn't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What a great place! This motel has existed since the 1940's and a lot of things are still the way they were back then, but in a positive way. Yes, the rooms are small, but cosy and charming. We loved every minute of it. The rooms do have everything you need, tv and dvd's (good collection). Breakfast can be obtained at the reception. Very generous breakfast, and good coffee. Helpful and friendly staff. Very good value for money. We would go here again if in the region.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a very nice lodge. The owners are pleasant and very helpful. We recently stayed there with my siblings and parents. We rented 5 of the cabins and 1 of the motel roms.The property is nice it affords everyone being together, but everyone still has their own place to retreat to. The cabins are clean and very well stocked with kitchen utencils.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

What a great place to stay! Brian and Sara have restored an old 1940s motel and cottages to (better than!) their original glory. The wood inside is all form local trees. The décor is retro but also clean and modern enough. Indeed even the small motel rooms are clean and comfortable. There's an HD TV in each room and a DVD collation, in case the glorious scenery and wonderful restaurants bore you. And the price is right!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were looking for a place to stay near Woodstock. The abundance of pricey B&Bs in Woodstock were not our cup of tea, so we chose the very reasonable and well-located Phoenicia Lodge. Since it was just one night, we booked a motel room, which was small, especially the bathroom. Next time we'll go for a cabin. However, our room was clean and cozy and equipped with a nice TV and porch with two chairs. The owners are very friendly and helpful and have done a wonderful job of restoring this vintage Catskills property. When we arrived, Sara was out running errands and left us a note and key taped to the window. She then enabled us to get wifi since there is no 3G or 4G service in these parts. Glad we didn't miss the nearby hamlet of Phoenicia, tucked under a mountain, where we had a great dinner outdoors. Then we went back and watched a movie from the free DVD library in the lobby. The next morning there was a perfect breakfast of excellent coffee, juice, muffins, and even Greek yogurt, at no extra charge. Just up the road, on the way to Woodstock, don't miss the World's Largest Kaleidoscope at Emerson Place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanager41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I absolutely adore this place. It's my family's favorite upstate getaway. The Espous Creek is in walking distance and great eats at Russ's Country Kitchen close by. Phoenicia Lodge's innkeepers are a cool and hip family. The Lodge is pet friendly and this last visit we took our beagle and had a blast. Let them know in advance you're bringing a pet. Make use of the outdoor grill!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
88 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
290 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
17.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
20.0 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Lodge

Property: Phoenicia Lodge
Address: 5987 State Route 28, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Mid-Century roots, the Phoenicia Lodge has been restored to marry the spirit of the past with the comfort and convenience of today. Our rooms, cottages and suites are perfectly situated in a wooded valley between Route 28 and the Esopus Creek, surrounded by the gorgeous Catskill Mountains and just around the corner from Main Street Phoenicia's fantastic shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Phoenicia
Phoenicia Village Hotel
Phoenicia Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing