We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed!”
Review of Phoenicia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenicia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Catskills are rustic - the Phoenicia Lodge (at least Suite 13) is not! Cool off and relax at this wonderfully appointed and well maintained gem tucked in the Catskills. Brian and Sara, the owners and operators, are warm and friendly and serve a surprisingly good continental breakfast of Starbucks coffee, Chobani yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, and juice. And fortunately (or unfortunately) they have made wireless & cell phone access seamless by installing mini towers to insure great reception - a claim that many Catskill locations cannot make. Loved our stay - we will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CuriousCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Brian and Sara are excellent hosts in these quaint, low key country style cottages and hotel. We have only stayed in the cottages, but we love it every time. They are not fancy, but they are clean, heated, with screens on doors and windows. It even has a TV, just in case it rains. Their wireless internet signal is up now, so you can have your smartphone networking...even though you may not have time to think about work or the outside world while soaking up all the Catskills has to offer! I love the firepit in the center of it all, and they always have plenty of wood on hand to keep the fires burning. Great for a romantic or fishing getaway!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolynknievel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Not only was I blown away by the beauty of the Catskills, but also by this beautiful, clean and surprisingly affordable place. You can rent a cabin with a little kitchen or just a motel style room. Either way, you will not be disappointed. For those people who are expecting the luxury of a 5 star hotel, go elsewhere. But if you are looking for a friendly, clean place with beautiful grounds (including an outdoor firepit) and surrounded by sublime beauty then this is the place for you. I was there from 13 - 17 June. My first visit but definitely not my last. We were having a little get together and the owners, Sara and Brian showed us the most ultimate consideration and hospitality. Heck, they even have a little breakfast in the office of yogurt, coffee, fruit, cereal or granola bars. And if all the beauty of the surrounding mountains and streams does not hold your attention, they even have DVDs you can borrow. Thank you Sara and Brian for everything you did that made this trip one I will remember fondly forever!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Absolutely amazing!! I can't say enough about what A wonderful time I had at Phoenicia Lodge!! I loved it!! The cabins were beautiful, the landscape is amazing. Right up the street are some rapids and a little bridge that is great for photo ops. There's a diner and a restaurant down the street with amazing food and the town of Phoenicia is right down the street. It's small and quaint. The whole experience was peaceful. The family that own the lodge are very friendly and helpful. I had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelsee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Simply perfect. That sums up our weekend getaway at the Phoenicia Lodge. Perfect location, perfect cabin, and the owners Sara and Brian were amazing to sit down and chat with. It was our first stay there and my wife and I are already planning our next trip. The cabins are SO clean and SO comfortable, the grounds are BEAUTIFUL, and the location to Main Street Phoenicia, Woodstock, and the scenic Catskill Mountains could not be better. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS LODGE. I have been home for 3 days and I can't stop thinking about how beautiful the lodge and the surrounding area is. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattMattyMatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The place & the grounds were well kept, pretty & relaxing. The fire pit behind the cabins is great. Pet stay free which is a big plus. Free continental breakfast. Very close to Phoenicia Main street (less than 5min drive) for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sweet Sue's breakfast especially the pancakes, Brio's breakfast, Lunch & dinner were all good. Mama Boy's had great muffins.
The only thing I would like to see inside the cabin is shampoo, a SHELF in the bathroom to put stuff, paper towel, & dust pan. We didn't cook so kitchen utensils were not a big deal.
The only complaint is the ice tray in the freezer. They were dirty. I cleaned them.
Other than that, it was great mini vacation. Will visit again.

Room Tip: The cabins are further away from rt.28. Not much further. Some traffic noise but not a lot. Stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank onthemoveNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We were a group of 5 girls from NYC, looking for a nice weekend away. We stayed in 2 cottages.The lodge was absolutely lovely! The grounds were very well maintained. Everything was clean, tidy and super cute! The cottages were very well equipped - you could find everything from broom to bottle opener, mixer and pots. It really felt like a home away from home :) The hammocks and fireplace were very enjoyable, especially at night when we made smores. The lodge even provided wood!
The hosts were really kind and hospitable! Upon our arrival, Sara baked delicious chocolate chip cookies - yummm! Sara and Brian were very helpful with recommendations, and maps and all kinds of info. The children were very cute and friendly!
Oh and Breakfast was really good too :)
I definitely recommend the Phoenicia lodge, and plan to return again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeliaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
15.9 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
17.3 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
92 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Lodge

Address: 5987 State Route 28, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Price Range: £61 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Mid-Century roots, the Phoenicia Lodge has been restored to marry the spirit of the past with the comfort and convenience of today. Our rooms, cottages and suites are perfectly situated in a wooded valley between Route 28 and the Esopus Creek, surrounded by the gorgeous Catskill Mountains and just around the corner from Main Street Phoenicia's fantastic shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Phoenicia
Phoenicia Village Hotel
Phoenicia Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing