We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and professionally run motel in the classic Catskill tradition.”
Review of Phoenicia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenicia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Certificate of Excellence
Gloversville, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and professionally run motel in the classic Catskill tradition.”
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Phoenicia is a mountain village with 2800’ summits like Mount Tremper above the main street. The Catskill high peaks, including the ski mountains Bellearye Mountain and Hunter Mountain, are a short drive away. Phoenicia Village Motel & Cottages is perfectly located for hiking, fly fishing, snowshoeing, ice climbing, downhill skiing, nordic skiing, dining and shopping. The trailheads to the high peaks in the Catskills are within five to 25 minutes. Hunter Mountain and Belleayre Mountain are 25 minutes away. The motel is walking distance to Esopus Creek, which is regarded as a world class trout stream in the Catskill Mountains. I stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Years and enjoyed the innkeepers’ hospitality, comfortable room, and complimentary coffee and muffins in the morning. I hiked the Becker Hollow trail to the summit of Hunter Mountain, and attempted to climb Slide Mountain the next day, but heavy snow shortened my trip. The village of Phoenicia is a half mile away from the motel and cottages. You'll find gas, good restaurants, general stores and variety stores in town. The lodging is simple, very clean, and easily accessible, in the great tradition of the roadside motels of the Northeast mountains. There are excellent views of the mountains from your doorway. I haven’t found a better located, more friendly and economical place to stay for adventures in the Catskills.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warmhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    40
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
58
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Stayed there for two nights over Thansgiving. The owners were very friendly and gave us a lot of information on places to eat and visit as well as hikes and trails. The rooms are clean. We stayed in one of the suites that could sleep 4. Very spacious, warm and cosy. They also have internet access in some of the suites. The location of the property is such that they dont get any cell phone signal. We had a mix of Tmobile and Verizon....no luck.....however for most of us it was not a problem since the property office has a phone for emergencies and no cell phone coverage for a few days was a welcome change.

I am sure this would be even more prettier and fun in Summer. Hope to revisit soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thakkarmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We rented one of the cabins and were very pleased with what we got for the money. The cabins just provide the basics, but were warm and very clean. Phoenicia is a great homebase for exploring the Catskills. There are several good restaurants on nearby Main Street. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintnersville, PA
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I will be booking our Oktoberfest 2010 vacation at Phoenicia Village. The cottage was clean, quaint, and comfortable!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vlh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We booked into one of the cabins for a couple of nights, on a road trip from NYC to the Finger Lakes... The 'village' includes about 6 or 7 cabins of various sizes - in a small plot of land quite near to the road (so not really remote, if that is what you are looking for), foresty and a short stroll from both Esopus Creek (literally about 5 minutes) and Phoenicia (about 20 minutes stroll). Our cabin was great - not plush, but perfectly comfortable. A bit like the tardis - much bigger on the inside, with two small double bedrooms and a kitchen living room area. Whilst the cabins were a bit scruffy in parts, the owners had a made a real effort to provide the necessary amenities and to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable and we had plenty of room for two adults and two young teenagers. The kitchen was well equipt and the living area comfortable. There was no aircon but fans were provided and this was more than ample (though we did have some rainy days in the Catskills!) What made the stay really pleasurable was the warm welcome from the owners - friendly, non-intrusive, helpful and excellent hosts. Coffee is provided in the reception area throughout the day, along with muffins, breakfast bars and fruit. This was a really great and personal touch... Communications were good too... we booked from England by internet with no fuss at all. Final thought... Phoenicia itself was fun - tiny but quaint - we ate at a good bar/restaurant, tubed down the creek, shopped in the second-hand (antique) stores and skunk spotted. All in all, recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larafro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosto, MA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My wife and I spent two nights recently and we couldn't have been happier with this motel. For the price, our room was extremely clean, it was extremely quiet and Sara (owner) was incredibly friendly. For example, my Blackberry broke the night before we left, and I decided to have the insurance company overnight the new one to the motel. When we arrived, it was already in our room. Now to some people they may say "big deal", but to me, that's great customer service. The rooms are small, but we were only there to sleep and we didn't need anything big anyhow. They are about 1/2 mile away from downtown, which was perfect for us.

I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My wife and I stayed for three days as part of our ‘East Coast’ trip and we really enjoyed every minute. This was in cabin 6 (one bedroom, bathroom, kitchen/diner) and was just perfect for us. It is compact and spotlessly clean. The location is just splendid set amongst mature fir trees and the hammock and outside eating/sitting areas are a great addition. The road that runs alongside leads to a campsite (6 miles away) but the traffic is light and unobtrusive. The town of Phoenicia is a stone’s throw away and is very quaint whilst providing everything you need – don’t miss the library and the Irish run liquor store. The town of Kingston in the river valley and villages of the mountains are in easy reach (and railways). There are many walks – and drives - in this area for all tastes – and energies. Thoroughly recommend it and we hope to return for a longer stay one day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambiguity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
88 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
290 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
17.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
20.0 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Lodge

Property: Phoenicia Lodge
Address: 5987 State Route 28, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Mid-Century roots, the Phoenicia Lodge has been restored to marry the spirit of the past with the comfort and convenience of today. Our rooms, cottages and suites are perfectly situated in a wooded valley between Route 28 and the Esopus Creek, surrounded by the gorgeous Catskill Mountains and just around the corner from Main Street Phoenicia's fantastic shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Phoenicia
Phoenicia Village Hotel
Phoenicia Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing