We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and clean, with helpful owners”
Review of Phoenicia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenicia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenicia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute and clean, with helpful owners”
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We just stayed for the weekend and the owners were cool and helpful. For me, it's the perfect weekend away - no frills cabins right off the highway, quiet, with a place to build a fire in back. They also have free wireless internet, dvd players in the rooms and a small but smart collection of dvds to borrow, coffee and muffins, fruit, etc. in the morning. We stayed with friends who had a small baby. I would definitely go back.

We like to take our small dog on vacation, and this place is great for travelers with dogs. It is perfectly clean - a rarity in places that take dogs. I hope dog owners are respectful about keeping this place as nice as it currently is.

We stayed in cottage 3. Even though it shares a wall with another room, we liked it. It has a nice gas fireplace and a refrigerator and kitchen.

It is important to be aware that this place is nothing fancy - just clean and priced right, which is perfect in my book.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank newsconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    40
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
58
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

This is a great place to stay for a week or weekend out of the city.
The people are very helpful; the cottage was well-kept, and the scenery was beautiful. Great for walking, biking, and local touring.
It's one of the nicer places to get away from an urban center and just chill.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AureliaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed in a cottage for a weekend of hiking and checking out the area with our two young kids.

The proximity is great -- a couple hundred yards from Esopus Creek, a few miles from the Woodland Valley campsite and trail head, and just outside of Phoenicia.

The grounds of the Lodge are no-frills, but there are a couple of nice hammocks and a firepit in the center that we made good use of. Each of the cottages has a firebox grill outside, which we also used (and hopefully didn't smoke out our neighbors). The scene is not exactly rustic (more like we were in a cottage in a neighborhood backyard), but the kids had fun hanging out. The firepit and benches (with lots of cut wood, downed from the winter storms) were really a nice centerpiece, and with a group, the lodge could be a lot of fun in the evening.

The cottage itself was clean, but worn (though the kitchen had a new fridge and stove, which we made use of, and new flooring). A couple of new mattresses (and perhaps a new shower-stall) would have made all the difference. But the linens were clean, and my wife didn't get skeeved, so that was a plus.

I have to say, though, that what made me happiest about staying at the Lodge was the family who owns it. It's clear that they're working hard on the property. They have two happy kids (seemingly). And they radiate kindness. So all of that is to the good, and makes up for any lack of fancy linens or finishes.

At the end of the day, this place is perfect for trailheads hiking without a tent, or for folks who are looking for a basic place to stay with good access to the area. I probably wouldn't pick it as a place to impress the ladies, but then, I don't have to impress the ladies much anymore, and our kids were happy to build a fort with the extra blankets and play hide and seek in the cottage as the rain came down this morning.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dslarsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights at one of the cottages during a weekend ski trip to Bellayre. The cottage was very clean, cozy and functional. Despite it's size, it included a refrigerator, oven/gas stove, kitchen sink and gas fireplace. They also had extra blankets, ample towels, cable TV (a bit fuzzy) and a dvd player. The bathroom was small, but functional - a walk-in shower with a toilet and small sink. The fireplace added a cozy touch. Despite being near the road, it was very quiet at night, which was good. Unfortunately, we encountered some problems with drainage (it was -22 degrees and the shower and kitchen sink drains iced up). Nothing is perfect and problems can happen, but what was important was that Sara and Brian did their best to resolve the issues as quickly and as best as they could. They were also considerate enough to give us a partial refund for the inconvenience. Their friendliness, genuine care and attention is what sets them apart from other hotel/motel owners. We would gladly stay in Phoenicia motel and cottages next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodbonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2010

The Phoenicia Village was the last stop on our way home after a four day, 1300 mile road trip, and it exceeded our expectations. We had booked Suite 13, and it was brilliant. Very chic, practical and very clean. The staff was simply phenomenal, accommodating our late-ish arrival, assisting us in finding a local bar on a Sunday night which had the BEST burgers, and even immediately brewing more coffee on the spot. It's the small things that make all the difference, and you can feel the pride. We will most definitely be back for an extended stay, as the town of Phoenicia, and surrounding areas warrant relaxed exploration. Thanks for a great experience! Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devious_337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Phoenicia is a mountain village with 2800’ summits like Mount Tremper above the main street. The Catskill high peaks, including the ski mountains Bellearye Mountain and Hunter Mountain, are a short drive away. Phoenicia Village Motel & Cottages is perfectly located for hiking, fly fishing, snowshoeing, ice climbing, downhill skiing, nordic skiing, dining and shopping. The trailheads to the high peaks in the Catskills are within five to 25 minutes. Hunter Mountain and Belleayre Mountain are 25 minutes away. The motel is walking distance to Esopus Creek, which is regarded as a world class trout stream in the Catskill Mountains. I stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Years and enjoyed the innkeepers’ hospitality, comfortable room, and complimentary coffee and muffins in the morning. I hiked the Becker Hollow trail to the summit of Hunter Mountain, and attempted to climb Slide Mountain the next day, but heavy snow shortened my trip. The village of Phoenicia is a half mile away from the motel and cottages. You'll find gas, good restaurants, general stores and variety stores in town. The lodging is simple, very clean, and easily accessible, in the great tradition of the roadside motels of the Northeast mountains. There are excellent views of the mountains from your doorway. I haven’t found a better located, more friendly and economical place to stay for adventures in the Catskills.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warmhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Stayed there for two nights over Thansgiving. The owners were very friendly and gave us a lot of information on places to eat and visit as well as hikes and trails. The rooms are clean. We stayed in one of the suites that could sleep 4. Very spacious, warm and cosy. They also have internet access in some of the suites. The location of the property is such that they dont get any cell phone signal. We had a mix of Tmobile and Verizon....no luck.....however for most of us it was not a problem since the property office has a phone for emergencies and no cell phone coverage for a few days was a welcome change.

I am sure this would be even more prettier and fun in Summer. Hope to revisit soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thakkarmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
89 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
16.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
52 reviews
17.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
7.3 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Lodge

Property: Phoenicia Lodge
Address: 5987 State Route 28, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Phoenicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True to its Mid-Century roots, the Phoenicia Lodge has been restored to marry the spirit of the past with the comfort and convenience of today. Our rooms, cottages and suites are perfectly situated in a wooded valley between Route 28 and the Esopus Creek, surrounded by the gorgeous Catskill Mountains and just around the corner from Main Street Phoenicia's fantastic shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Phoenicia
Phoenicia Village Hotel
Phoenicia Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing