We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic, laconic, bucolic”
Review of The Graham & Co.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Graham & Co.
Ranked #2 of 2 Phoenicia B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Idyllic, laconic, bucolic”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is the second time we’ve been to The Graham & Co, having visited in July last year too, and once again, we absolutely loved it.

Of all the things I could praise it is perhaps the way the hotel/motel manages to reflect the peaceful and laidback surroundings of the Catskills with its own unique, laconic character.

It integrates itself with the beautiful surroundings with a skillful and sensitively handled design approach that strikes the right balance between acknowledging the local history with lots of outdoorsy paraphernalia and a liberal use of wood, wool and old-fashioned kitchenwear, and offering up the kind of hipster comforts and attention to detail that the majority of its city based clientele no doubt seek.

The service too maintains this ethos. Perhaps it’s too laidback for some but for me the guys that work there do a great job of making you feel relaxed and unhurried. Check-in takes less than a minute and comes with the offer of a free beer or water to settle you in. We’ve always found them very helpful and friendly if you want to know where’s good to go exploring or eating too. Perhaps the people who’ve posted here prefer a little more subservience in their service?

What else?

Well the pool is a great place to relax – again, no big strict rules are enforced and you are left to lie on huge water cushions or the smart sunbeds with a beer or cup of wine in peace.

The local restaurants are great (Phoenicia Diner a short cycle away is a must) and with the launch of Tavern 214 on its doorstep and what looked like the construction of a smart new restaurant at the end of the main st to come, you no longer even need to travel to Woodstock to get a quality dining experience (which means you don’t need to hire car or book expensive taxis to get around in the evening).

There’s no TVs or hairdryer in the room – not a problem. Wifi was a bit patchy on our stay but no big deal.

The bathrooms are tiny but you’re not going there to hang out by the toilet all day, are you? And with the exception of the Double (i.e. twin) Deluxe rooms, they are right next to the bed so not for those who like to keep the sounds of their ablutions a secret from their loved one ☺

A deluxe (single or twin) room is useful for the extra space and kitchenette which means you can have a fridge – great for storing a bottle of wine or champagne to drink as you enjoy the free film in the large garden on Saturday night (beer is available in town but I’d bring any posher drinks with you).

Talking of the garden, friends of mine saw a baby bear there a couple of weeks ago and apparently there is an adult black bear that makes regular appearances in town. Perhaps they too know what many people have now found out – that the Graham & Co and the cute little town of Phoenicia are the kinds of places that you just want to keep coming back to again and again.

Room Tip: I believe there's only one deluxe single: Double bedroom with separate living/kitchen space - R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohnobonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ogleby, ILL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Graham after a trip to Niagara Falls. The Motel is enchanting. Secluded in a lush spot with a backdrop of the mountains. Everything about it is simply Way too Cool! The décor was industrial hip with a vintage twist. The pool is immaculate just like everything else. The owners are more than helpful and make you feel like you are they're only guests. Town is a 2 block walk or bike ride with those "cool" bikes the motel provides. Great places to eat and shop. The town of Woodstock is just a 20 minute car ride along with other lovely towns to visit. This was a trip of a lifetime with the Graham Co topping the list.

Room Tip: Our room was a 1 bedroom. There are rooms with a fridge which is a good option if spending some time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is on beautiful grounds and everyone who worked there was very friendly. The rooms were simple, but clean. Loved the welcome beer and the bikes! At night, the fire pit attracts everyone staying there. We met people from all different walks of life, including a family from The Netherlands! I definitely want to come back here with my whole family and stay for more than two nights!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajs700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This place is fun. It feels like a project some people came together to do, for fun. You have fun there. So I don't really get reviews that expect otherwise.
It was obviously some kind of run down motor hotel, which to me already have a nostalgic attraction. But in each room is a piece of Brooklyn hipster - wood and charcoal and hanging lights. It is clean and tastefully decked out.
They gave us a beer and a bike when we checked in, and we rode into town for a burger where they had recommended. It's priced accordingly, in a beautiful place, claims nothing fancy and is FUN.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonsoir84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocky river ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

what a great surprise to find such a great place in such a secluded spot! well designed, bikes to ride and good food nearby- totally recommend it. stayed with my 2 teenage daughters who also totally loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmac4541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our second stay at Graham & Co. and again we were not disappointed.

We came up for my wife's 30th birthday and our wedding anniversary after having a wonderful stay last September. The staff at Graham & Co. were super accommodating in helping me arrange some nice surprises for my wife. I really do not understand the complaints about them being rude. Not our experience, at all.

While some may bemoan the lack of cell reception and TVs in the room, we find them an absolute blessing. It's so nice to not be be distracted by these things while getting away for the weekend. And hey, if you really want to watch something or reach the outside world, there's excellent WiFi.

The motel has been lovingly restored. I've seen other reviews calling it hipster and pretentious. Whatever. It's got a clear and consistent design aesthetic that works perfectly with its surroundings (reclaimed wood, old fishing nets, fixtures from the salvage yard.) If you want unpretentious then there's a Marriott off the 87 waiting for you.

Go if: you like hikes, bikes, beers, fires, steaks, mountains, bugs, bears, rivers, relaxing.

Don't go if: you like cable TV, heated pools, room service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Graham & Co. is an impeccably designed hotel. Every little detail is beautiful. However, the staff is unfriendly, unwelcoming, and more often than not, downright rude. Beware. If, like my group, during your visit you find yourself needing any kind of customer service, you will be treated with disdain.

If you arrive with a group of 7 for a late check-in and one of your rooms is locked and occupied by someone else, do not expect any credits on your bill. Instead you will be unable to find assistance or a place to sleep until you wake the night clerk at 1:30 am and are then made to feel like a nuisance by the general manager and his incompetent front desk clerks. They will roll their eyes at you, shrug their shoulders, and tell you that the mix up must have been a weird karmic occurrence (it was - they gave the wrong key to a couple who checked in earlier. Never took credit. Never apologized).

Also they have no hot water. No big deal for a cheap motel or a campground, but at upwards of $200/night this establishment should consider providing a smidgen of customer service and possibly investing in a new water heater.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenicia
10.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
7.7 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
10.4 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graham & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham & Co.

Property: The Graham & Co.
Address: 80 State Route 214, PO Box 570, Phoenicia, NY 12464-5131 (Formerly Cobblestone Motel)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Phoenicia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenicia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Graham & Co. 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under construction. Opening soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Graham & Co. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Phoenicia
Cobblestone Motel Phoenicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing