We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't come here if you want something fancy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brimstone Hill Winery

Brimstone Hill Winery
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Pine Bush
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't come here if you want something fancy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Don't let the location and dirty steps disturb you. There is good wine to be found here. This is the most affordable winery we were at in the Hudson Valley. No pretense here. It's all about the wine. I'm not a Chardonnay drinker, but I bought a bottle. Two more bottles of something else too. Give it a chance. No tasting fee!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wurtsboro, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very small...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The wine is good, but the winery itself is very small on the second floor of a house. There is nothing but a person and a counter - don't expect any food or fancy stuff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrangeville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

A group of friends and I have now traveled the wine trail twice for their events, both in December and just this past weekend. Both of our trips have consisted of great experiences at every winery except Brimstone Hill. The old man who works there has been nothing but cranky and rude both times we visited. It is a shame that the trail can provide such a positive experience and this one winery can ruin the day. We will not be returning to this winery on any upcoming tours, and suggest to others to stay away from it as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Irisheyes550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Fine Wine and Friendly People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a small winery that has both fine wines and friendly people. We attended their Chocolate and Champagne Valentine's event. The winery itself is unimpressive. The tasting room is clean but utilitarian. But the quality of the wine and the commitment of the owners more than made up for the lack of interior design. The tasting featured a nice mix of reds and whites including an impressively buttery chardonnay, as well as seyval blanc, vidal blanc, cayuga white, riesling, vin rouge, cabernet franc, and a sparkling wine. These were served with some tasty finger food including a cheese crostini, meatball, cheesecake and a juicy chocolate dipped strawberry. After the tasting, the owner guided a tour of the cellar with some additional tastings. It was obvious from his presentation that this is truly a labor of love and he shared information about the wine making process with reminiscences of his late French wife. The fee for this event was a very reasonable $11. and included the tasting, tour and a complimentary branded flute filled with assorted chocolates.

We enjoyed our visit. The wines were delicious and the French influence apparent. They may be purchased at the tasting room or by calling the winery. The tour was informative and sure to delight oenophiles and francophiles alike.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Molga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“laid-back but very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We visited Brimstone Winery as part of touring several vineyards in the Hudson Valley. Most of the other wineries were crowded (one was very popular with bridal parties), with rushed service and loud noise levels. Brimstone Winery has the wine as its focus - giving thoughtful information and advice about its product. There was one gentleman presenting the wines. The price for a full tasting of the winery's offerings (eight different wines) was only three dollars! This is significantly cheaper than the other wineries. A souvenir glass was not part of the experience, but who needs another wine glass? The wines were the best we tasted in the area - more complex, more balanced, and more varied. If you want entertainment and pricy food while sitting in adirondack chairs and gazing at the scenery when visiting a winery, this place is not for you. If you want to try interesting, delicious wines presented by a very knowledgeable person, go to Brimstone Winery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PAhomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brimstone Hill Winery also viewed

Pine Bush, Catskill Region
Pine Bush, Catskill Region
 
Pine Bush, Catskill Region

Been to Brimstone Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing