We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pine City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rufus Tanner House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Pine City B&B and Inns
Fryeburg, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My daughter graduated from Elmira College this past weekend. I shed a few tears at the Candlelight Ceremony and at the graduation itself. I also had to fight back tears as said goodby to my friend, Donna and Rick, for (hopefully not) the last time. I have frequented the Rufus Tanner House many times since our first visit 5 1/2 years ago during my daughter's college search. I've stayed in every room, and have relished each 3-course breakfast, ever grateful for the respite afforded by this comfortable, peaceful, home away from home. I've met marathoners, wine tasters, and passers-by. The Rufus Tanner House was my sanctuary when visiting my college coed. Now, it is my destination location, and I look forward to my return!

Room Tip: The Victorian Cottage Room has an antique fold-down bed that my daughter would regularly nap in. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debdenliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This review is 4 months late and to Donna I apologize. My wife and I stayed at this bed and breakfast back in mid October and again between Christmas and New Years and all we can say is wow!! Pretty much out in the boonies but thats what we were looking for. Peaceful and quiet. Beds are huge and comfy. Lots of antiques. Breakfasts were outstanding and had a great time playing with the dog (cant remember her name) and Dusty the cat. Only a couple of miles from the PA border and close to the Finger Lakes and the Corning Museum of Glass. Games for the family and lots of books to read by the fireplace in the living room. Trust me and just go and stay. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. Our room was beautiful.. The setting was pretty. The breakfast was delicious--especially the eggs and homemade tea breads. The innkeepers were very friendly and provided extra snacks, soda and ice cold bottled water.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guffey1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed here on our first night of a 8000 mile trip. Was hard to find, but my own fault. Forgot the instructions the owners emailed. It was a nice, cozy B&B. Donna, the hostess even shared her birthday "bread" with us at breakfast! Great recommendations for dinner also. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicssr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We made a one night stop at the Rufus Tanner House on our way to Niagra Falls. It was a nice cozy place to stay. The breakfast was very good and Donna was gracious enough to give me acouple of the recipes. It reminded me of staying at my grandmothers farm when I was younger.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blauen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We enjoyed our weekend, which was well off the beaten path. The house was very clean and welcoming. Plenty of room to relax...Great porch and sitting areas. Hot tub was a plus. Lovely breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We were still getting used to the States when we arrived (everywhere is so far from everywhere else!) but Rufus Tanner was very much the right place to go to. The accommodation is really splendid; we very much enjoyed the spacious and varied sitting rooms, well thought out so that it was possible to relax thoroughly in the evenings, privately or in company as you wished. I don't quite know how early Rick and Donna get up in the morning, but the breakfasts look like they just don't sleep - the care and attention lavished on them made me break my resolution that this was not going to be a food holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldPlymptonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine City
11.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
12.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
10.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
13.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufus Tanner House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufus Tanner House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rufus Tanner House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 60 Sagetown Rd, Pine City, NY 14871
Region: United States > New York > Pine City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pine City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Finger Lakes region of New York State between Corning and Elmira. Rufus Tanner House caters to wandering romantics, sightseers and business travelers. Open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing