We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Cider Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cider Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Pine Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Beautiful, charming, exceptionally clean and well-maintained place. The bed is comfortable with luxurious linens and the rooms are beautifully appointed. You will feel "at-home" right away and that's when the stress, weariness, etc,. begins to ebb away. A superb gourmet breakfast was served - delicious and innovative - taking into consideration my gluten-free diet. The hosts are warm, friendly, helpful and eager to make your stay a memorable one. There are many thoughtful details that other reviewers have posted that make your stay at Cider Mill Inn a hit. We've decided this is our "go-to place" when we need to unwind. Just writing this review makes me want to plan a trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Such a cute place with all of the amenities to make your stay special. The house was immaculate - everything was sparkling from bathroom to utensils (I was SO impressed with how clean and well maintained everything was). Hosts really go out of there way to make their guests feel like home - every little thing is well thought through (wine glasses, beverages in the fridge, movies, board games, dvd player). We had to leave early due to unforeseen events but definitely enjoyed the stay however short it was. The pool was just awesome. The hot tub was so nice and relaxing, the room (we stayed at the Gala Suite) had this old Victorian feeling but had a Jacuzzi tub, TV, AC, robes - you name it. The breakfast was so delicious and really had a gourmet variety of food. This was our first experience at bed and breakfast and bar was set pretty high :). Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kseniastevko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Robert and his wife were extremely friendly and thoughtful when we met them during our first stay. We stayed for a weekend getaway to rest and relax. The leisurely three-course breakfast is delicious and not to be missed. There was also a great collection of board games and VHS tapes to play or watch in the room. There was also a jacuzzi, but we didn't venture out into the cold to try it out. The bed was very comfortable and we had no complaints. We got good advice for restaurants to try and good suggestions for places to go walking. We plan on staying again this winter.

Room Tip: If you don't want a fireplace, save money and stay in one of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Beautiful house and, oh, what an awesome breakfast. People need to keep in mind that this is an old farmhouse and not a fancy hotel but it has lots of charm, soft sheets and plenty of hospitality from your host. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Wow, what a find! The inn itself ( I believe dating back to the 1860's ), the rooms, the innkeepers, standards of cleanliness, friendliness , the decor, all outstanding. If you had to pick one thing out with this inn, it would be VERY difficult) until you experienced breakfast... the EXCEPTIONAL breakfast. The first morning, we sat at an elegantly decorated dining table for that could sit more than just the two of us,( but we were the only guests in the inn at this time.) as our gracious host (Bob) lit the candles on the table. Yes ..candlelight breakfast( can you say romantic!!!). Bob proceeded to bring out a basket of freshly baked muffins and scones. We were each treated to a plate of fruit(blueberries, raspberries, kiwi, melon, etc). Then we enjoyed Chai oatmeal( delicious) before we were served turkey bacon(we are not meat eaters), scrambled eggs and a fantastic spinach/cheese turnover. To my surprise , Bob brought three pillars of fresh homemade 'birthday cake' covered with strawberries, whipped cream and a delicious sauce adorned with candles and sang happy birthday to me. You don't get this individual treatment at any 'big-box' lodging. The next morning, we enjoyed, muffins and scones, a poached fresh pear covered with cranberries and drenched in a grand marnier sauce, after which we were served vanilla almond granola over Greek yogurt , topped with a raspberry , drizzled in honey. Then we were served smoked chicken/apple andoiulle sausage on the side of three vanilla chip fluffy pancakes drenched with Bananas Foster. Clara, if I forgot or misrepresented anything in my description of your meals..forgive me please!! Every course was exquisitely presented and delicious. We enjoyed breakfast each day over the span of 45 minutes or so. Perfection can't be rushed and Bob didn't rushed us either, so if you are looking to an early start to your day, arrange for an early sitting OR skip breakfast(definitely not a wise choice).

Then there's the room. We stayed in The Gala Suite. A really comfy and spacious room with a high four poster bed with an abundance of pillows and a most thick, warm comforter. There was a delightful remote controlled fireplace which provided a warm romantic glow and warmth in the bedroom. The suite also had a sitting room along side the bathroom which was equipped with a jacuzzi tub and stocked with bath lotions, gels and soaps made locally from a shop in the nearby sugar loaf art and craft village. Oh yes I almost forgot the thick bathrobes which kept us warm as we walked to the outdoor hot(105F) tub after a long day of shopping.

This charming old Victorian house was decorated elegantly and tastefully, be sure to look for the numerous dragonfly(and damselfly?) decorations throughout the inn and ask the innkeepers about them.

Bob was charming, engaging , attentive and informative while making us feel right at home from the beginning to the end of our stay. He and his wife, Clara(responsible for the delicious breakfast meals), have created a delightful, small, elegant , full of character Bed and Breakfast. In a world where the pace of life is hustling and bustling, and so many are only interested in turning over business as quickly as they can,to encounter nice people, a quiet location(yet conveniently situated) and outstanding service is a real rare find.

In closing , we wish to say to Bob and Clara, Thank you for an exceptional experience!!!!!
Best of wishes in the future and Happy Holidays!!!!!!!.

Would we go back to The Cider Mill Inn bed and breakfast again......YOU BET !!!!
.

Stayed December 12-14 2012, traveled as a couple

Room Tip: The gala suite was a perfect size for two possibly three travellers. The room was quiet at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Labor Day weekend is an expensive time to stay anywhere; that being said, we left here feeling that we paid way too much for what you get. The location is about 8 miles from Warwick and not really even that scenic. The Gala Suite was nice, the sheets are divine, but again, not worth the $282 we paid for it ($250 + taxes, etc). There is a pool but its kept covered most of the time so we didn't get to use it. The breakfast was very, very good, but, it took an hour and 20 minutes as they slowly brought it out in different courses, sometimes with a 20 minute break between the courses. we were sitting at the table with another couple looking at each other in exasperation and drumming our fingers on the table. Had we known, we would have packed before breakfast as breakfast is 9 and check out is 11. We got back to the room at 10:20 and had to scramble to pack and be out of there. Also, there are no locks on the doors, so its a bit disconcerting. They said the front door stays unlocked until everyone is in, but we were locked out when we came home from dinner, with no apology, just "oh we must have had a miscommunication." If we had paid $115 for this place, I'd say it was fine. But at $282 we felt really ripped off and wish we had stayed elsewhere for the night, closer to the village and with more bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jyo_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at Cider Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

The inn location is clearly indicated on the website along with a host of pictures of the surrounding area of farmland, hills and winding country roads. The garden pool is available to all guests during the warmer months of the year and all guests are advised upon check-in that pool and hot tub are open for their enjoyment. As the temperatures during the evening have begun to drop a solar cover is kept over the pool in the evening to keep the water warm. The cover is on a roller and is easily wound up by the innkeeper.. The innkeeper was not advised that the guests wished to use the pool and the guests checked in after 6 p.m. and departed for dinner shortly thereafter and did not return until after midnight. The front door was in all likelihood locked by another inn guest upon their return, perhaps thinking that all guests had returned. We were unaware that someone had locked the door. In fact my wife was still up waiting for all of the guests to return. The couple called the inn and my wife answered and opened the door immediately. The guests who were scheduled for the 9:00m breakfast came down shortly after 9:00. In fact the people scheduled for the 8:00 breakfast and had exactly the same breakfast were finished with breakfast by 9;00. All breakfasts are freshly prepared when guests arrive at the dining table and the fine gourmet breakfast served at the Cider Mill Inn requires time to ensure the highest quality. Perhaps the chocolate covered strawberries that were provided without charge to this couple to celebrate her birthday took too long. Guest are never hurried out of the inn and some have even taken a dip in the pool before leaving. There was no mention by the guests that there was any dissatisfaction with their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night in July to celebrate our anniversary, wish it could have been longer, and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Gala Suite and it was wonderful. Much bigger than I expected with separate sitting room, large bathroom, and flat screen TV. They have a nice pool and hot tub but we didn't have a chance to enjoy either! I have to say that the highlight of our stay was the 4 course breakfast we were served. It was delicious! Fresh baked scones and muffins, fresh fruit salad, raspberry crepes with homemade whipped cream, scambled eggs, and a ham and cheese pastry. Wow! We didn't eat again until dinner!

While we were there we visited Warwick Valley Winery and had a really nice time doing the wine tasting. Bring chairs or a picnic blanket and you can relax and enjoy the wine you just bought. They give you each a wine glass when you purchase a wine tasting, which I believe was $6. They also have an outside patio for dining and the food is supposed to be great but we were still full from breakfast so we couldn't eat.

I also highly recommend the Iron Forge Inn in Warwick for dinner. We had an amazing meal!!! Can't say enough about how great it was.

Thanks for the great stay! We'll be back...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejh259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Island
8.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,872 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
692 reviews
5.6 mi away
Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Minerals Hotel
Minerals Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vernon
1,506 reviews
5.1 mi away
Inn at Stony Creek
Inn at Stony Creek
#2 of 7 in Warwick
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cider Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cider Mill Inn

Address: 207 Glenwood Rd, Pine Island, NY 10969-1640
Region: United States > New York > Pine Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pine Island
Price Range: £111 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cider Mill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cider Mill Inn is a romantic country retreat in the heart of the Hudson Valley that was once a working dairy farm and apple orchard. Our 1865 beautifully restored Victorian farmhouse offers a tranquil setting where the rest of the world will seem far away while you're exploring the grounds, relaxing in an Adirondack chair overlooking Pochuck Creek, or soaking your cares away in the garden hot tub or pool. Escape to our elegant guest rooms replete with private baths, spa robes, Cable television, Wi-Fi, down comforters and luxurious sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Cider Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing