We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pittsford
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a wonderfully quaint hotel! My family and I stayed for one night recently to break up a long road trip. We often stay at Renaissance hotels and this property did not disappoint. We really enjoyed the historic aspects of the property. Service was excellent. Room service was delicious. It is also situated next to the canal and a beautiful walking path into town for dining & shopping. The village of Pittsford is adorable! Though our time there was short, it was very enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    70
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
67
87
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We traveled from Pittsburgh, PA seeking a getaway for a few days within a 5 mile radius. We'd never been to Rochester, but the Del Monte reviews were awesome and the historical aspects intrigued us. We we not disappointed! The Del Monte is beautifully furnished and the service was excellent. Free valet parking, but the lot was completely accessible as well. EVERY staff person was pleasant and genuinely helpful. The Del Monte is located right on the historic Erie Canal which has a beautifully developed waterfront - walking/ jogging/ bike paths, interesting shops and unique eateries. It is right on main street and completely walker-friendly. Simply Crepes was one of our favorite spots - huge crepes, both sweet and savory. A bit pricey, but worth it --- a free sample of local wines was nice touch while we waited for our order. A huge mall and casino are within 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't e afraid of rooms near the elevator - we were right next to one and didn't hear a peep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelli_882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Del Monte Lodge was our go to hotel in Rochester but no more. It was worth paying a little extra for its service and amenities. However, those seem to have evaporated, and now we'd rather stay someplace that offers a better value, more consistency, and fewer fails.

The setting is very nice in the village of Pittsford by the canal. Unfortunately train noise will always be a problem and rooms are constrained to the dimensions of its previous iteration a property called the Depot. That's why space will never measure up to other premium hotels.

We experienced sheets with holes, peeling wallpaper, and a landscaping light that shined right into our room's window -- not conducive to a restful sleep. While some employees are working hard and doing their best to make guests comfortable, others don't seem to care.

Room Tip: Avoid #117 if a bright light shining through curtains will interrupt your sleep.
See more room tips
Green Features: Once again a sign to re-use towels but no place to hang them.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigan_Chipshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P, Front Office Manager at The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent stay at The Renaissance Del Monte Lodge & Spa.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

In reference to your remarks about some employees not caring, I would like to discuss this further with you as this is something we would like to address immediately. Please contact me at my information listed below at your earliest convenience.

Again, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your experience with us and are truly sorry for the shortcomings that you experienced.

Kindest regards,

Jordan Patarino
Front Office Manager
jpatarino@delmontehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at The Del Monte Hotel for our anniversary and had an amazing experience. This is a full-service classic, smallish hotel, with beautiful lobby, indoor swimming pool, fitness room, top-notch restaurant, award-winning full service Spa, great rooms with full amenities (from bathrobes and slippers to top of the line bath amenities, awesome linens and towels). The hotel staff is personable, helpful, responsive and friendly. The hotel even provides FREE valet parking (something we thought was a thing of the past in the U.S. hotel industry).

We had an absolutely lovely experience from the moment we arrived (a complimentary upgrade to a gorgeous suite due to it being our anniversary) to the moment we departed. Plus, the location cannot be beat, as the hotel is right next to the scenic Erie Canal in the quaint Rochester suburb of Pittsford. Within a one minute walk are cafes, shops, famous Pittsford ice cream dairy, galleries and bicycle rentals. Having stayed in the chain hotels in Pittsford in prior visits, we would definitely return to The Del Monte, with its unique ambience and character.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was in Rochester for a day of bike riding. When I arrived at *my* hotel, they were overbooked and sent me here. Needless to say, when I arrived at 9:45pm, I was not looking (or smelling) like the other guests in the lobby, but the front desk clerk was nothing but welcoming and kind. The room was terrific, well furnished and decorated, with all the amenities you would expect and a few you wouldn’t - like a leather reclining chair and a little night reading light built into the headboard. It was quiet and comfortable. It’s right on the canal and paths go on for miles and miles (so glad I had my bike!) and there’s a picturesque downtown and a section of shops and restaurants right on the water, both in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Three of us stayed at this property from Thursday - Sunday and experienced a few different aspects regarding the hotel. First, this hotel is wonderfully situated in the small town of Pittsford. The hotel is directly adjacent to the Erie canal. We enjoyed sitting by the canal on park benches just along the canal, a just a short walk across the parking lot. There are many shops and eateries less than 1/4 mile from the hotel making them accessible by foot.
The front desk attendants were pleasant and gave us ideas where to go for eating options. All of the staff greeted us every time we passed them. Our Marriott level allowed us to enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the Erie Grille. The view is awesome, as one can eat and look out over the canal at the same time. The food is tasty and service was fine.
At check in there is an option to obtain a key to open the refrigerator/mini bar, containing beverages and snacks. While the prices are quite reasonable the hotel staff lack of attention to detail shows through what transpired. One of us ate half a bag of pretzels before realizing the expiration date was TWO YEARS past. I brought the bag to the front desk to advise them of the long past date and was promised nothing else was out of date. Not true. Not only were more items past the expiration date in this room, when we moved to another room, (detailed further in the review), there were expired items in that room, too. I really did not expect this in a Marriott property. To date the hotel has not charged the snacks to my form of payment on file.

As we entered our room the second evening the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. The occupants of the next room were smoking in the room and the smoke. The next day I advised the front desk of the situation and they already knew about it and offered to move us to another room, away from the smoke. This was a much welcomed gesture to a situation not caused by the hotel. I really did appreciate how easy it was for us to move to another room.
The new room was on the opposite side of the hotel from the first room. Neither room had a view of the canal. I am not sure any rooms have a view of the canal.

The third night I was kept up for over an hour around 2 am by the party going on in the next room. I finally called to inform the staff about this and they must have taken care of it because the occupants of the party were much more quiet. I am not sure how a party that loud goes on for that long without hotel security not knowing about it.

I would recommend staying at this property even though some of the attention to the details were missing. Upstate is beautiful in the summer, I can just imagine the beauty of the fall.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P, Manager at The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards,

Jordan Patarino
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were in a Pittsford for a wedding and were told by the bride's family, this was the place to stsy! They were right. Terrific staff from parking valets to front desk, nice pool, well-appointed rooms, nice restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passaconaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsford
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/Pittsford
5.6 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Rochester East/Penfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa

Property: The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa
Address: 41 North Main Street, Pittsford, NY 14534
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Pittsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pittsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the extraordinary at The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa. Our exceptional hotel in Pittsford, New York sits right along the historic Erie Canal. We are a AAA 4-Diamond property offering contemporary design and subtle rustic accents, and our deluxe accommodations provide thoughtful touches like pillow-top mattresses dressed with custom duvets. Stay with us and enjoy culture nearby in top destinations like George Eastman Museum, the Village of Pittsford and Downtown Rochester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Del Monte Hotel Pittsford
Renaissance Pittsford
Pittsford Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing