We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can never go wrong with Renaissance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Erie Grill

Erie Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Erie Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Pittsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Street/Monroe Avenue
Description: A three-month renovation has expanded the original restaurant layout to create a new open floor plan that seamlessly transitions the restaurant from day to night. Erie Grill makes a statement with modern decor. Following lunch, the restaurant transitions itself into a lounge-like dining and drinking atmosphere by revealing liquor selections behind the bar, showcasing a vast wine selection, and softening lighting for the evening hours. The menu offers a variety of crave-able Contemporary American cuisine that encompasses both coursed meals and smaller plates to share at a range of price points. Executive Chef John Freezee and Sous Chef Doug Dake imaginatively utilize seasonal ingredients to present the finest in regional cuisine; popular dishes include Steak Tartare Pizza, Duck Meatballs, and Rabbit Sausage with Orecchiette.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“You can never go wrong with Renaissance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I enjoyed our lunch and dinner with good food, drinks and friendly service! Food presentation and portions were just right. We set at the bar and both ambassadors during lunch and dinner were super friendly. We would like to thank Marc and Colombo for making our stay so much enjoyable!

Helpful?
Thank flrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    46
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“pricey but very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

great place for intimate dinner. great food presented very nicely, ingredients taste fresh and spiced properly. service is real good, and the prices, while a little high, reflect where you are. not high enough to keep me from coming back. pretty inside and clean. great spa next door at the delmonte.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theislanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Great dinner out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

It was our first time back since the renovations and I'm only sorry we waited! Maria was an excellent server; she knew both the food and drink menus, answered all of our questions, and made great recommendations. She was always friendly and despite how busy it was, she never seemed frazzled and never made us feel rushed. We had great salads to start (my wife went on about the beets). I had the steak special and it was phenomenonal! All the food was put together and prepared so well and the presentation made it look even better. Dessert was also a nice touch - any time we can get Pittsford Dairy icecream is always a plus. We left a little too full but we're looking forward to coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ_Jones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Erie Grill offers a great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Erie Grill has a large and well stocked bar in a restaurant with an unusually pleasant decor. When we visited, there was no background music which made the dinning experience much nicer. The menu offered healthy choices and the staff had no problems accommodating a few "special diet" requests from our dinner party.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lots_of_travel_4_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor Dining Experience, Wonderful Bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our first impression was a quick pop-in for an evening drink, we were checking-out the place for my mother's 71st birthday party... we were coming from out of town and getting a few rooms in the attached hotel (Del Monte) for family.  It was an amazing drink (Gimlets) by a wonderful bartender. We were impressed and immediately confirmed a dinner reservation for the next night for 7pm.  When we arrived for our reservation, the place was packed and very loud. Hopes were still high as we ordered drinks (Pinot Noir, beer, cocktail) from a chilly waitress. She had an annoyed demeanor and we all agreed she seemed annoyed..Terrible way to start the meal. We couldn't hear the specials (she sighed) and our evening went downhill from there. The bread was poor quality. The drinks were ok (she never checked). Our orders included beet salads (very good), ahi tuna (good, very small), chicken (just ok, small), salmon (good, very small), and their seafood dish (just ok).  The chocolate cake was indulgent and well-done. The overall service was cold and odd (the timing of everything was off and apologies were never made for water filled too high to possibly drink, the waitress' bracelet drug straight through our food, the hour wait for food or the eyeglasses knocked off the table).  We really wanted to love this place and we were trying to cheer it other up as we sat through it. At the end of the whole ordeal, 4 out of 7 people had to go out to get another meal, 1 was very ill from his food for the rest of the evening. I just wished I had handed them the $300 (including bar bill) and we could go somewhere else to eat, relax and celebrate. Go and enjoy the wonderful cocktails and bartenders... avoid the waitresses and mediocre food. This place has amazing potential... it just isn't there yet. :(

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlthaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelMonte_Hotel_Group, Manager at Erie Grill, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are pleased to hear your experience at the bar was enjoyable. Our bartenders take pride in their drinks and strive for a welcoming atmosphere for our guests.
However, we do apologize for your poor dining experience. We train our servers to be knowledgeable and friendly to ensure an enjoyable evening; in this case it does not sound like we followed through.

We hope that you choose to stay with us in your future travels and give Erie Grill another chance. Thank you for your comments as we will use them in further training of our staff members.


- Erie Grill, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Erie Grill also viewed

Pittsford, Finger Lakes
 
Pittsford, Finger Lakes
Pittsford, Finger Lakes
 
Pittsford, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Erie Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing