We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not one of the better Residence Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Plainview Long Island
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not one of the better Residence Inns”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Pluses:
(1) small toddler play room and game room for older kids
(2) free dinner, not just appetizers as at other RIs.
(3) indoor pool

Minuses:
(1) Older hotel, poorly designed. Nowhere to stop when you want to drop off luggage, parking lot is way too small, some rooms (including ours) are a real hike from the elevator.
(2) Indoor pool is a lap pool, no useful for small children
(3) front desk staff hit or miss, some were young and inexperienced. One told me at 3:00 am that the nearest 24 hour pharmacy was 20 minutes away. Google maps said ten minutes, and at 3:00 am with no traffic, it was 4 minutes.
(4) Beds less comfortable than usual.

The breakfast was usual RI quality, except that each day we had to ask for fruit (apples, bananas), they were hidden.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    60
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
66
38
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My name is Scott and have been staying at this hotel for my business trips. Recently, my company started having another employee stay here and I asked Michael to put us in rooms that were close together. When we checked in, the rooms were within the same wing, which helped a lot. Michael and all of the staff have been wonderful for the time that I have been here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sblizz1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hello, my name is Howard and being that NY is such a hot spot for visiting I felt the need to post this review and I hope that it helps. I have stayed at this hotel several times now due to the fact that I travel to NY for business. The customer service I have received has been amazing, especially from a gentlemen by the name of Mike. I receive a smile every time and he always greets me by name. I know that may not be a big deal to some but to me it makes me feel greeted and I like that feeling of family that Mike gives me every time and every day I walk through those hotel doors. The hotel service overall is very good and the food served is awesome and helps to keep business costs down for me as well. The only small gripe that I would have is that the parking arrangement isn't the greatest. Other than that I would give this place a big thumbs up! THANK YOU MIKE. ;O)

Room Tip: Make sure that you get here early (right after check in) to get a good parking spot. After that just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The staff was just wonderful and everyone was so helpful. The quality of the food at the breakfast and dinner buffet was great. The rooms were clean and well laid out. I truly enjoyed my stay. I as here on business but my husband and I are thinking of staying here when we go to New York to visit relatives.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2coxatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This property is deceiving. It looks very unassuming and actually dated but I was pleasantly surprized by the accommodations, the staff, the food and the overall character of this property. I have not been disappointed so far and have been here as part of a corporate relo for over 60 days. If your travels take you to this part of Long Island (or close) and you need spacious accommodations in a residential style hotel, I recommend the Residence Inn Plainview very highly. Pleasant travels are possible..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Me and my family stayed at this hotel in July 2013, and it was the most wonderful stay we`ve ever had. The rooms are big and have great standard.
The staff who worked there was helpful and very kind, and they gave excellent advise on where to go If we wanted to take a look around.
This was our first trip to the USA, and we are very pleased with the service we got on this hotel. The friendly receptionist who alway met us with a smile each morning, made us feel welcome. And we were treated on the best way ever.
We would love to stay at this hotel again If we go to USA another time.
It was clean and the rooms (the one we had) included a kitchen where we could make dinner If we wanted to. It also had a little fridge that made it possible to put ice cream in the heat.

The pool outside were, perhaps, a little to small. But the area was clean.

We really felt welcomed at this hotel.

Loved our stay!
Recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunchilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel every Christmas holiday for the last 10 years because it is such a welcoming and friendly place. The rooms are like efficiency apartments with a stove and refrigerator, a little dining area and mini living room. The hotel has washing machine which is good for us because we stay for over a week and allows us to pack less. Free breakfast every morning and a gym with new exercise equipment with individual TVs. Highly recommend for anyone staying for a few days.

Room Tip: I always chose a room on the first flooring the back as it is near the washing machine room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeF41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton
Four Points by Sheraton
#3 of 6 in Plainview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
2.8 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Plainview Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Plainview Long Island

Property: Residence Inn Plainview Long Island
Address: 9 Gerhard Rd, Plainview, NY 11803-5500
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Plainview Long Island 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Plainview Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Plainview Long Island Hotel Plainview
Plainview Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing