We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, outdated, and out to nickel and dime.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old, outdated, and out to nickel and dime.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hotel shows its age outdated looking in bad condition in places. Windows are in poor condition you can hear the Long Island Expressway in your room. Not even free coffee you have to pay $2. Faucet leaks shower has no mat making it very slippery. Get feeling it more about making every dollar possible. Witnessed GM or high manager berate front desk clerk and have her mislead persin waiting formation something. (he was tall middle age man in suit, purple shirt and tie, with salt and pepper black hair.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelConsultWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear TravelConsultWork,

We are very sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations. At your convenience please contact Michael Papierno, General Manager, at 516.694.6500. We would like to personally address your concerns and we thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    84
    44
    13
    14
See reviews for
68
56
20
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed for a night after night arrival at JFK before transferring to Manhattan. Spacious, comfortable room, good breakfast, great staff... but that's it. Just a transit stay for me. There are no value added features or services here and most guests are here on business anyway. Reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gul1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Gul1957,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Long Island. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of our property location and amenities prior to your departure at JFK. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and we thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stay at this hotel regularly and since its been awhile since I wrote my last review, I figured it was about time to update it.

Location: The hotel location is just off the Long Island expressway. It is easy to reach by car but not quite so easy by other means. The LIRR serves the area and there are few local taxi companies but your own car is the best way unless you are doing business nearby. They offer a shuttle that can take you locally. They have plenty of free parking.

Staff: The staff is excellent and goes out of their way to make sure the guests are satisfied. They really do care about your experience.

Rooms: The rooms vary a bit but are all typically good sized, offering a king or double queen beds which are very comfortable. They also have a mini fridge and microwave. I like to make popcorn for an evening snack. The rooms and the hotel itself are regularly updated to keep that modern, ready to use feeling.

Food: They have a good menu with a variety of offerings. They do some very good burgers, salads and other main dishes. They also offer a full bar with some local beers as well. They have a standard breakfast offering but I know a few non hotel guests the periodically eat here just because they like it.

Internet: Great internet, very high speed and reliable. Offers both wired and wireless but they have improved the wireless over the years to the point I never worry about connecting with a cable anymore.

They also offer a small exercise room and outside pool which is closed in the winter.

The guests tend to be quite a few business people during the week and wedding parties and other functions on the weekend and overall generally pretty quiet.

The hotel has a number of historical Long Island pictures posted in the hallways which I find fascinating.

Room Tip: South side rooms are best (away from the LIE) as this can be quite busy and noisy in the early hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxLonestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear TxLonestar,

Thank you for the incredible and informative review of our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here over a weekend while attending a wedding. We received a good rate on the room thanks to the Bride and Groom's planning, shuttles to and from the wedding venue and truly good service. The hotel is nice, but nothing spectacular. The service from checkin in to checkout was stellar.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed here during hurricane sandy. me and my husband had a great room 2nd floor with a couch .they had free coffee in the room too. the beds were comfortable and the shower was great too. I would stay here again if we have another storm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katerinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

One of my first long stays at a Four Points Sheraton. Staff was friendly and helpful with requests. Great menu with variety, free breakfast (fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, omelets to order), and a free gym downstairs to get your workout in. Easy check in. Felt comfortable sitting downstairs at the bar. Also has free internet and computer station.

On my last day staff sang "happy birthday" to me and presented a piece of cheesecake. It was the small gesture that meant the most to me! I will never forget their kindness!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor on the odd side. Window was facing the back of the building over lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N1BabyFoxTrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

It is located at one of the exit along 495 highway. The location is not that great as there are no shop at the surrounding in a walking distance. The room is big and clean but it is so empty. Decoration are a bit old. A simple and standard hotel room for short stay should be OK, but no a long stay one.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
2.6 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
1.8 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Address: 333 South Service Road, Plainview, NY 11803 (Formerly Inn at Plainview)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island is centrally located minutes from Melville area businesses, a short drive from Long Island shopping and entertainment, and a perfect break on a trip to the Hamptons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Plainview Long Island
Four Points By Sheraton Plainview Long Island Hotel Plainview
Sheraton Plainview Long Island
Four Points Plainview
Plainview Sheraton
Plainview Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing