We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Fantastic Rooms!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff and Fantastic Rooms!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2007

1st off..the property itself looks brand new and everything is very well maintained. The staff was courteous and the room service food was even good ! Definately a 5 star experience. I understand its a 4 points hotel but I've travelled the world and stayed at many 5 star hotels and this place was great in comparison ESPECIALLY when you consider your not paying 5 star prices. Come with an open mind and not expecting the Trump Towers and I think you'll be very happy.

Rooms and Bathroom were excellent and very nice and clean. All new and the amenities in the bathroom were great also. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed it and I'm not one to easily give compliments. Anyone who had problems @ this place must be a highly critical person.

Enjoy....

  • Liked — Very well maintained and new bathrooms. Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Everything was really great. No joke.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rover87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    81
    44
    12
    14
See reviews for
64
54
20
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2007

This is a newly opened Four Points and the state of the furnitures shows it. Located conveniently close to the I-95, the hotel is good for a night stay or a longer business trip. I was warmly welcomed and
my status with SPG was recognized and upgrade to a better room.

My king bed room was spacious, the bed was comfortable to sleep in, the various firmness level pillows allows me to find the ones that fitted my preferences. There is a mini-fridge with microwave oven, great for those who have longer stays.

The bathroom is a good size with a warming headlamp, the first one that I have seen in a Four Points. The shower head is a Speakman, the
same model that the Sheraton uses with good water pressure. The amenities are standard Four Points shampoo, conditioner and lotion.

I ordered the steak from the kitchen one night and it is rubbery without taste, did not worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank terravisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2006

We stayed at the Four Points for 5 nights for a conference. Overall, the hotel and staff was very nice. Every staff member we encountered acknowledged us and was helpful. We did not eat in the restaurant at all, and considered the food a bit expensive ($15 for a hamburger). The drinks (we only had 2 on 1 occasion) seemed a bit high as well ($16 for a wine and beer). They always had some sort of snack in the lobby - fruit or cheese and crackers. Be aware that except for one steak place next door, the other available eating establishments are 1-2 miles away. The room was very clean had mostly top-of the line decor. The refrig and micorwave were very handy, given we brought in our own refreshments and doggy-bags from local restaurants! It was difficult to control the room temp. but part may have been operator error. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back of the hotel - the traffic noise from the L.I.E. lasts all night. The room doors need to be lubricated - squeeking was annoying. Although there was internet access in the room, there was also internet access near the lobby, including the ability to print docs at no cost. Again, it was a nice expierience.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank yankee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

What a treat. Attended my son's wedding and all of the groom's attendants and family stayed here. The rooms were immaculent, lushious pillows and bedding. The front desk even called to ask if our rooms were "OK". The lounge service was wonderful, we enjoyed it so much that we invited the bride and groom over for drinks and a snack.

  • Liked — The bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — Internet only in lobby
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

We arrived at the hotel at approx. 11:00 pm a day early. Still made us pay full price which was $199.57. We also paid an extra $25.00 A DAY for our 7lb dog.
The second night we were there, we complained numerous times as did other guest starting around 10:00 pm about a LOUD party going on in and outside one of the rooms. The hotel finally kicked them out around 3:30 am. Needless to say we and other guest got very little sleep that night. Upon our checkout, they tried to tell us we had 2 pets and argued with us trying to charge us for 2 pets instead of 1. The person who checked us out told an employee "when we were ready to leave our room to go check it for any pet damage". We waited in our room for this person. He came in and actually moved furniture and looked in every nook and cranny as though we had a great dane.This made us feel very uncomfortable. We were treated with NO respect at all whatsoever. We stayed 3 nights at @ $199.57 per night and was treated terriable. The only response we got from the manager when we complained was "we can't control the other guest and they get 3 warnings before we tell them to leave". AND "we have to inspect the rooms for pet damage, it's our hotel rule". At least they could have done it in a much better way. Not classy at all.
Very insensitive, rude and only cares about how much money they make. The hotel room was nothing better than a Ramada or Howard Johnsons. I've gotten better service from less expensive hotels and was treated much better also.
Don't stay at this hotel. They don't care about their guest at all.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here. You will be dissapointed. Staff rude. will overcharge you. Ramada is better.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Katsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2006

The staff, particularly Rachel at the front desk, were very friendly and helpful during our 3 day stay at this hotel. Nice things about this hotel include afternoon snacks in the lobby (sheese and crackers, pastries and lemonade), microwave and refrigerator in room, free internet access and printing on every floor, reasonable prices on the food from the restaurant. Many Long Island hotels are really just awful and this one stands out. I think it has been completly refurbished and the rooms show it. Comfortbale beds, nice linens, up to date design. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2005

The management team should be fired. We had a wedding with many out of towner's. We hired shuttle busses to ferry guests to the reception. We booked almost half the rooms in ht hotel for our group. They said the construction would be complete, it wasn't. They said the lounge would be open, it wasn't. They knew we would be partying after the wedding and told us that we booked so many rooms that they would put other guests away from our party, they didn't. They put guests directly across from my suite. They threatened a guest and then called the Police because we where making too much noise. I wrote to Sheraton Four Points and they said it is not yet there hotel or their problem. The advertisements don't bear that out. They current management at the hotel said they where sorry they lied about so much but too bad.
There slogan should be:
"Depress every guest, every stay."
My advice is to stay away!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisnoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plainview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Plainview - Long Island
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
2.6 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
5.9 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
Address: 333 South Service Road, Plainview, NY 11803 (Formerly Inn at Plainview)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Plainview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island is centrally located minutes from Melville area businesses, a short drive from Long Island shopping and entertainment, and a perfect break on a trip to the Hamptons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Plainview Long Island
Four Points By Sheraton Plainview Long Island Hotel Plainview
Sheraton Plainview Long Island
Four Points Plainview
Plainview Sheraton
Plainview Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing