We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent alternative to big box hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Point Au Roche Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Plattsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent alternative to big box hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

A few miles outside of the city and across the road from one of the country's newest and pristine state parks.

The rooms are spacious and cozy inside a modern log estate. Each with a large private bath, sitting area and balcony with chairs and table.

Views out to the fields through meticulously maintained grounds add to the visual appeal.

Breakfast was amazing, with fresh fruit, juices, and a choice of French toast or a leek, ham, cream cheese omelette.

Fortunately the park, beach and walking trails are right across the road to help burn off breakfast!

The main lodge area is a cavernous log frame, with loft rocking chairs looking out to the park and Lake Champlain beyond.

Grab a book (or your Nook) and relax!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cusickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
85
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

In a town where most hotels are of the basic chain sort - this Bed and Breakfast run by a lovely couple stood out.

The contemporary house was extremely well maintained and clean. The room we had was very special in its appointments.

The complimentary breakfast was made to our order - and it was excellent.

All in all - A very, very quiet experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Inn at Point au Roche is an absolutely beautiful and thoughtfully-designed place. It has a modern log cabin design with high vaulted ceilings, a suspended walkway, and a wood interior which glows. It gives me a good feeling just to be in this beautiful space. Check out my photos and you'll understand why. (Note that these are "stitched" panorama shots -- several photos merged together.)

The inn is beautifully furnished and spanking clean. It isn't lavish, but it is tastefully done and very comfortable.

Our room had four windows and a slide glass door -- the fresh air was wonderful. There are porches off every room and another porch off the crest of the front of the inn. The inn looks over a large marshy area and at night all you can hear is crickets.

The food was excellent too -- the best bacon I've ever had!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtnblue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I am writing this review from the balcony of the Point au Roche Lodge. I did not want to wait until I got back home to write about how wonderful our time has been here! My first impression was awe - walking into the breath-taking great room - and meeting the absolutely gracious and freindly inn-keeper Karen! This place has lived up to every expectation that the previous wonderful reviews have noted. The rooms are warm, well decorated, and very clean - without having that weird chemical cleaner smell that the major hotels have.The breakfast is unbelievable delicious - actually kept us full until dinner! Kreston is clearly an amazing chef to say the least! Karen has been very inviting and welcoming - she truly understands her guests and what each of us are looking for in our vacation. She took the time to advise on the best restaurants nearby and shopping - without her hand written notes and maps we surely would have been lost! This is my first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and I am more than happy with this experience. I can not wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: Just walk in! You do not need to ring the door bell...oops I didn't know that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had a nice, relaxing stay at the Lodge. We strongly recommend it - very clean, comfortable and cozy. It was so quiet and peaceful. The owners are very friendly and welcoming, and helpful. I would definately stay here again. We were greated by one of the owners who knew my name before I had a chance to introduce myself. We received a quick tour, which includes a little library with books you can borrow and a computer free to use, a common fridge to store anything you'd like to bring in, you can also buy wine and beer from them. There is a lovely screened in common gazebo, a catwalk inside that leads to a lovely outdoor balcony and a rustic-ly gorgeous common room. There are board games available to use, badminton rackets etc. NO TVs! :-) You can rent bikes and kayaks as well. Breakfast was very tasty and filling - and made to order. We stayed in the Flower Room which is much bigger in person than it looks on the website. The jacuzzi is terrific - so very relaxing after a long day. There is also a fireplace in the room but, seeing as our visit was in the middle of summer, we didn't have the opportunity to use. I imagine it must be fabulous in the winter months - very romantic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BettyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We spent a night at the Point Au Roche Lodge in mid July 2012. It is as wonderful as the other reviews describe it, and as shown on their website.

Clean rooms, a warm ambiance, a private porch, and friendly hosts made this a wonderful stay.

We were able to watch birds at the feeders just outside the breakfast room while we ate.

The lodge is across the street from a state park which offers walking trails, a sandy beach and a boat launch.

We had supper at the restaurant in the marina about a mile down the road, and recommend it should you be stay there during the summer season.

We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EFOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

My partner and I had the opportunity to stay at the Point au Roche Lodge on the last night of vacation before flying out of Burlington Airport. My only regret is not spending more than one night at the lodge. It was absolutely beautiful!

We were greeted by Karen who gave us a quick tour of the lodge, told us about breakfast and then showed us to our room. She was very warm, friendly and welcoming.

We stayed in the Gardener Room, which was very comfortable. The room had a queen-size bed, which was very, very comfortable. We also had a balcony shared with the room next door, which also provided access to the garden downstairs. The bathroom was clean and roomy. About the only thing I would have liked to see is a better shower head, but I can surely overlook that for how wonderful everything else is!

Also provided in the room is a wonderful guide for the area, which included a list of local restaurants. We decided to have dinner at the Happy Pike in West Chazy and we couldn't have been happier. It's a very simple restaurant, but the food was excellent, the service was great and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

Breakfast provided in the morning was also excellent. We had the choice of a ham, chive and cream cheese omelet or blueberry pancakes. We both got the pancakes and they were absolutely delicious!

The common areas were also very comfortable and included a guest fridge, books, games, etc. There's also a catwalk that leads to another balcony not attached to any of the guestrooms. It was definitely a beautiful touch to the building!

We will definitely be back to the Point au Roche Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hajile99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
8.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#4 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
#8 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Au Roche Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Au Roche Lodge

Property: Point Au Roche Lodge
Address: 463 Point Au Roche Rd, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-5465
Region: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Au Roche Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our log style bed and breakfast. Surrounded by Point Au Roche State Park and walking distance to Lake Champlain and 12 miles of hiking trails. Located 15 minutes outside of Plattsburgh and within 60 mins of Montreal, Lake Placid and Burlington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Point Au Roche Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing