We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Family getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Mini Family getaway!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our second time at this hotel, we were there in August of 2013 and March 2014. We stayed 2 nights for an affordable break with our kids, aged 5 & 7. The water park is great for their ages and this is the main reason we stayed there. The opening hours are limited during the week but they extended them during the school break. However, it might be time to expand the water park area. There is a kiddie side and a deeper side, maybe 4 feet deep, this is where the two large slides end. Bathers are permitted in this area but must keep a distance from where the sliders come splashing out. Another pool area would be more comfortable to spread out in but it is still a very nice water park. Even a hot tub for adults would be a nice addition. Lifeguard surveillance is very good, the young girls are serious and attentive. The kids just love it. Older kids might not get such a kick out of it though, we noticed a certain age group enjoying it and they were all under 15 or so. Plattsburgh is popular for cross border shopping with Canadians but during our summer visit we explored the waterfront of Plattsburgh and the beach area. We ate at the Naked Turtle which was reminiscent of Key West with its marina view, without the travel and price! The hotel staff are super friendly and helpful, never hesitant to assist. The rooms are nice but could be recarpeted. The TV channels are abundant and cater to the Canadian tourists (like us) with news feeds from our local stations. There is no real need to leave the hotel, there are 2 restaurants on site which offer coupon discounts to guests. There is a Brewing Pub as well, we did not get to eat there this time but we would like to next visit. The Perkins Restaurant is very family friendly and priced right. The continental breakfast included saved us a bundle. It was plentiful and well stocked all morning. There were boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, sausage gravy and biscuit, cereals, oatmeal, several juice choices, yogurt, pastries, toast, bananas, a waffle making station, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and more. There is a rush between 8-9 AM with limited seating but a place opens up eventually. They even set up a little colouring area for the kids. The room is bright and spacious. Dogs are permitted at this hotel and this did not pose any problems. The only thing is our room window faced an outdoor enclosed court where dogs are permitted to run around freely and safely and also relieve themselves. From our window we could see some of the waste but the dog owners should have picked it up. Seeing as some people don't, the hotel should have someone scoop up periodically. We are pet lovers so we don't object to dogs being dogs but old droppings will get smelly. We haven't brought our dog yet, as we are concerned about him barking if we leave him in the room. You must crate your dog when you leave him unattended in the room. There is free coffee and water in the entrance all the time! There are 2 computers available in the lobby also. The other jewel at this hotel is their arcade! In the basement is a wonderful and very affordable arcade with a 2 lane bowling alley and glow in the dark mini-putt golf totally themed for kids! Our younger child did not really enjoy the mini-putt because it is in the dark and there is an underwater theme throughout with some underwater sounds which sound a bit scary for a 5 yr old. But next year she will be over it I'm certain. The adults can have fun in the arcade too! You buy tokens which, as I mentioned, were very affordable (50 tokens for 10$ or 20 for 5$) and each game requires between 1 and 4 tokens, only a few were 4 though. Every machine dispenses tickets at the end of the game and depending how you scored, you won more or less. Then the kids can accumulate their tickets and spend them at a little "store" in the arcade for various prizes! It is so much fun for the kids to get to spend their winnings for little (and some big) toys. There was a lot to do there. It is situated in a mall area, Walmart within walking distance as well as other stores and restaurants. A Five Guys opened across the street. I found it a little cold in the corridors which while walking to the water park in bathing suits and light cover ups can get cold. The grounds have an abandoned area in the back, there is evidence of an outdoor batting cage and water bumper cars, a boarded up min-golf area and some other non-functioning activities. It looks like it was a real family centered type of place at one time, even more than it is now. It would be awesome if they reopened all the outdoor attractions one day! We did not use the fitness/spa center at all but we saw that there are group exercise classes available as well. In the meantime we highly recommend this place. If you are a student with valid ID, mention it at time of booking. You will be entitled to a military rate which is quite reduced. Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: If travelling with kids ask for first floor and near one of the other entrances so you can park your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaMaria71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlattsburghComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your very in-depth review of our hotel! We appreciate the time you took to write it. The lifeguards and the hotel staff will be happy to hear your praise of them. Your feedback is very helpful and we are always happy to hear from satisfied guests! We look forward to your next visit to Plattsburgh!

Reid LeBrun
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    88
    27
    8
    8
See reviews for
152
42
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massena, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had to stay here during the week because my husband had a procedure at the hospital. We received a special rate because of that. You need a voucher from hospital registration to give to the hotel. Front desk clerk, Rayna was very helpful. Had a nice king suite with a small living area and separate bedroom. We heard children running in the halls and a dog barking, when we arrived. It was all quiet early evening and never heard them again. The next day, we needed to stay another night and didn't get back to the hotel until after 10. Rayna had her coat on to leave but remembered us and took time to check us in. We were given a room close to the front desk, so my husband wouldn't have to walk very far. Very considerate. All the employees we met in the halls and other front desk people were very friendly and accommodating. Will stay here again.
One problem I did notice was that anyone off the street could get in the other exits without a key card but I still felt safe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamweaver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlattsburghComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive guest experience at our hotel! It is evident through Rayna’s actions that she has done an excellent job in providing hospitable guest service. These qualities are instilled in all of our employees here at the Comfort Inn & Suites. Rayna will be pleased to hear that she was able to help make your stay a memorable one! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Reid LeBrun
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The admission to the splashpark was a very nice extra. The kids, ages 3, 8, 10 and 11, all had a blast. The kiddie section was perfect for the 3 year old, but they all played together in the splash area. The water slides were big enough to be very fun for the older kids. The breakfast was very good. It was buffet style, so don't expect it to be spectacular, but it was plentiful, well kept up with and enjoyable. It was just as good as any other buffet breakfast that would have cost me over $40 for the family. The room was nice as well. We stopped at the Walmart in the same plaza and grabbed food to save on dinner expenses. We had a refrigerator and microwave along with a sink, two TVs, a living room and a bedroom. The room was nice. Imperfect, but clean and smelled very nice. Bottom line, i have no reason to return to Plattsburg ever again, i came here by chance, on a whim. But, i now feel another trip may be in the works. Now we are off to the arcade.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bburnsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlattsburghComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are glad that the chance and/or whim made it possible for you and your family to visit Plattsburgh and stay with us! It is our goal to provide a comfortable and entertaining stay for families both young and old. We aim to offer an amenity that each family member can enjoy. Ranging from our 24 hr full size fitness center, to the indoor splash water park, we are happy your stay was a memorable one. Looking forward in accommodating you and your family on future visits!

Reid LeBrun
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I spent a week in Plattsburgh for business. I found this to be an excellent property with lots of extras. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and pillows; desk, and small kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, sink and mini fridge. There was a nice flat screen tv with large variety of channels and free wifi with strong coverage throughout the property. The bathrooms are nice with plenty of hot water in the morning.

The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. Whether they are recommending restaurants around town, giving directions, providing an ice scraper for vehicles (it was -17 below one morning) or extending check out times because of cancelled flights, the customer service was great.

The hotel is located close to the freeway and several stores including a Walmart. The stores are within easy walking distance. This is key if you weren't expecting subzero temperatures.

The hotel property has lots of extras. There is a 24 hour fitness center spa, that guests can access. There is also an indoor splash park, a bar and two restaurants. There is a free breakfast provided each morning and is what you'd expect from similar free breakfasts provided by other chains.

I recommend this hotel for business or for those traveling with family. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OgdenUtahRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlattsburghComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation of our hotel! We appreciate the feedback you have shared here on TripAdvisor. Our staff takes pride in providing accommodating services to guests. Our indoor Splash Water-park is a family favorite, as is the complimentary full-hot breakfast buffet in the morning! The convenient location to area shopping malls and plazas further compliment our amenities you have mentioned above. Hope to see you again soon!

Reid LeBrun
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn after a very long day on the road. The staff was pleasant and professional, there are two onsite restaurants that provide discounts to hotel guests, a small indoor water park, and convenient to shopping, if needed. Our room was super clean and quiet, and the choice of pillows and comfortable bed made for a good night's sleep. The continental breakfast and was decent and provided just what we needed to start our day. We did note that some of the other hotels in the vicinity were a bit less expensive, but this was well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50JerseyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlattsburghComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for your great review! In addition to the amenities you’ve mentioned above, we are the only hotel in the area to have a full size health club attached that is free for our guests to use (including fitness classes!). We would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Reid LeBrun
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeseville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We took our two kids (4 and 8 years old) to the Comfort Inn and it is really like an affordable resort, where people can enjoy goof food, have fun and not leave the premises.

Our kids absolutely loved the Splash Park, three hours went by super quickly, the kids playing in the water and my wife and I reading our books, poolside.

After that we dried off and headed to Plattsburgh Brewing Company for dinner. As we are both vegetarians, we were pleasantly surprised by the variety of meals we had to choose from. I never eat pasta, but since they make it right there I had to try it. it was AMAZING. My wife had crabcakes, and they were amazing. We've had seafood all up and down the eastern seaboard so I chuckled when my wife said they might of been the best she's ever had. The beer is awesome too!

After dinner and an extra drink, we took the kids to Champy's Fun Zone and the kids had a blast. They loved playing games for tickets and really enjoyed getting a few little toys to play with, back in the room.

In the morning we went to Perkins for breakfast and the service was great, and the food too. It was so nice having a ton of things to do and never having to drive anywhere. It did allow my wife and I to have a few drinks, read our books and not feel guilty about doing so as the kids were entertained for the whole stay.

We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlattsburghComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Allow us to thank you for such a positive review! We are very pleased to hear your family enjoyed their stay with us! We are glad there was an amenity that each family member could enjoy. The Kitchen Manager of Plattsburgh Brewing Co. will appreciate your raving review! We look forward to your next visit; hope to see all of you again soon!

Reid LeBrun
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Dropping our daughter off at SUNY, we stayed for 2 nights, along with our adorable (well trained) Maltese puppy. We often stay at Hampton Inn, which is generally the best motor inn around, but this time we had the pooch and Hampton doesn't take pets. We got the last room on a hallway, closest to the rear exit door. This was good for getting in and out, and if we had a barker, would be good for other guests as well. The two-queen room has a mini fridge and microwave, which we always use. The room is good sized and comfortable. A little tired design-wise, but given that it's a pet-friendly room perfectly acceptable. The only drawback is the heating unit. The low fan is still noisy and creates even drier air in the winter, so we turned it off at night.

The hotel incorporates two restaurants now, and offers a 15% discount on them, so we ate upstairs at the Plattsburgh Brewing company. The pasta and bbq wings were good and the bartender gives a nice pour of Pinot Noir. On a freezing winter night it's nice not to have to leave the premesis for dinner.

The location is great - as it's at the corner of a shopping center - Walmart, TJ Maxx, Home Goods, etc, plus a pizza shop and a couple other stores. If you find the back route, it's just a couple of minutes to the SUNY campus. Breakfast is adequate, not great, but good enough.

When we pick our daughter up next time we will surely return here if we have the doggy in tow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchellNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlattsburghComfort, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Comfort Inn! I am sure your Maltese puppy thanks you as well; we take pride in being a pet friendly hotel. The extra amenities you have mentioned above continue to make the Comfort Inn a unique destination resort hotel for the greater Plattsburgh area. Guests love the convenience of utilizing our Splash Water Park, two restaurants, 24-hour Eclipse Fitness Center and the Family Entertainment Center without having to leave the comfort of their hotel! We look forward to providing you and your puppy with another pleasant and comfortable stay the next time you are in Plattsburgh.

Reid LeBrun
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#5 of 14 in Plattsburgh
862 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 411 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property reopened Nov 4 2010. The hotel has a mini spray park and two water slides, Perkins Restuarant, Plattsburgh Brewing co., A 9 hole glow in-the-dark mini-putt and 32 game arcade and Eclipse Gym are all open for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Plattsburgh
Comfort Inn Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing