We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at the hotel on December 31st and we had a suite. We arrived earlier than the expected check in time but the staff gave us our room so we were really happy and surprised. The suite was a little small but still quite comfortable and pretty. The pool with the waterslides was great for the kids and the breakfast was good. Our room was clean and very quiet. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saratygs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    88
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
153
42
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed two nights.We kept getting lost navigating the hallways that all looked alike as well as constantly going through CLOSED fire doors. The pool is not really a pool unless you have kids that are under 5 or like water slides. The only place for the adults is on a chair. The continental breakfast was good. There is also a Perkins restaurant attached to the hotel. Rooms are nice but a bit small. Still enjoyed our stay but hope they will resolve the door issue.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imustsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2010

I figured this would be a good place to stay since it was supposed to be fully renovated. The gym was closed, so we couldn't get in our workout. The pool is great if you have children, there is a big water slide, however there is no place to swim for adults.
The room was nothing special and even though we asked for a non smoking room, it still smelled of smoke. I heard this hotel was damaged by a fire a few years ago, i think the smell of soot is still in the carpets or walls.

The wall paper is already peeling off on the corners, and the ceiling had a big water stain, which is not the nicest thing to wake up to. The furniture is old and banged up, yet they try to freshen it up by putting cheap granite on top of it. They had a nice flat screen tv, but none of the channels are in HD so again, whats the point. The internet in the room is super slow, 1.5MPS .

At least the toilet bowl was new and clean. Our front door didn't even lock properly, we were offered to change rooms, but it was late at night, and I didn't want the bother. If my wife were traveling alone, she told me she didn't feel safe in a room that doesn't lock using the dead bolt.

The main lobby has nothing "Bellagio" about it (they mention it was modeled after Bellagio banquet in the local paper. There is a couch and a fake fireplace in the main lobby, which looks like a last minute thing and it just seems all out of place. That area only really seats like 3 or 4 people. There is no real place to wait around or feel comfortable in the main lobby if someone else is using that only couch.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special, but not very inviting either. Basically I felt like I was in a hurry to leave this hotel the moment I walked in.

The front parking lot is still very dirty from construction, and at night, it is poorly lit.
Well at least the staff were nice and courteous, thank goodness for that.
All in all, i wouldn't stay here again. For a few dollars more, there are some much better hotels on the same street.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sienna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I've been to the Comfort Inn twice. Out of the four hotels I've stayed in Plattsburgh (Days Inn, Holiday Inn, and Baymont Inn, now a La Quinta), this was the best.

Positives - Their indoor swiming pool is more like a small water park. They have 3 sets of water slides that lead into the pool. When you enter, there is a little cafe, Im not sure if this is part of the hotel, but it's pretty cool. There is a perkins restuarant merged into the hotel aswell. Behind the hotel are batting cages and mini golf. The hotel is basically located in a shopping square that includes a Kmart, Michaels, Blockbuster, and many others. The Champlain Centre mall is only about half a mile away.

Negatives - Though I mentioned a lot of great things, the Comfort Inn, ironically, seems like its in a slight decline. Before the Perkins was merged into the hotel, it was a restuarant / bar named Bootleggers. Bootleggers had it's own arcade and laser tag downstairs, now I don't think it's there anymore. If it is still there i'll like to be informed, but I guess it all depends on what you stay here for. This does seem to be a big negative, but it's not really. Still, an excellent place.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We had my daughter's wedding reception there when the hotel first added the new reception room. We had a great time. We have a very large family and we all stayed there. The people running the place were great. The rest of the hotel at that time could have used some updates, but you could see that they were working on making improvements. I hope that they are able to rebuild in a timely manner. The fire that they have just suffered is such a loss. Good luck in your rebuild. I hope you are up and running in a short time. Like I said the wedding reception was the best that I have ever attended. Signed mother of the bride.Leslie Fields

  • Liked — Every thing was very close to the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank grandmagooseVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#5 of 14 in Plattsburgh
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 411 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property reopened Nov 4 2010. The hotel has a mini spray park and two water slides, Perkins Restuarant, Plattsburgh Brewing co., A 9 hole glow in-the-dark mini-putt and 32 game arcade and Eclipse Gym are all open for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Plattsburgh
Comfort Inn Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing