We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Plattsburgh!”

Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
New York
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Plattsburgh!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is a favorite restaurant for my wife and I. We've been coming here for years. We love the fish specials especially. My wife doesn't even like fish, but she has it here and loves it! We also love the coffee and the desserts. Make sure to ask about the homemade ice cream. Sometimes we'll come here for a few drinks. Other times for coffee and dessert. Lunch in the Bistro is really good also. Tonight I ordered the ostrich.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tileman1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    80
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the best any more”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have eaten at Anthony's several times and semi-frequently the bar and bistro. I used to think it was clearly the best in the area. My experience this week left me wanting. Three (3) menu items we ordered they did not have. The were very polite, but they did not have them. I ordered a special venison chop. It had a nice reduction sauce and a very good version of a twice baked potato, but the chops were quite tough and not very tasty. I would have said average, but the bill was not average. For the price I would expect everything on the menu would be there and it would be excellent. Unfortunately it was not. There are a couple other restaurants in town that, in my mind, have clearly taken top spot away. Too bad, they did used to be tops.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmikepettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, PA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly the best in town”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Plattsburgh. We've heard of Anthony's but didn't try it last time. What can I say....the food is excellent albeit pricey. Fresh & local seem to be the keywords for this place. House smoked salmon, homemade sausage -- need I say more??

Helpful?
Thank Luv2dryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hard to choose”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Every time I dine here I struggle with what to choose for an appetizer, since there are several that are drop dead delicious. Namely the the Lobster bisque and the grilled squid.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plattsburgh's Finest Dining”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Always new and interesting chef specialties. Truly the finest dining Plattsburgh has to offer! Dine in elegance or more casually in the bistor, either way the food is great and the service outstanding!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DearSlayerUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing