We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, United States
1 review
“Best Hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Best Hotel in Plattsburgh-Excellent Staff and Amenity's Rooms have always been clean, the staff is always willing to help with any problem. Location is extremely convenient to all location in Plattsburgh.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. I will be sure to pass on to the staff. I appreciate your loyalty as we install an elevator, new hallway carpet and 70 rooms of new furniture.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    219
    61
    17
    28
See reviews for
322
237
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My stay was good here , including the breakfast that is included,. but the heater in the room is very loud.! It kept me and my husband awake most of the night. If youre a very sound sleeper then this may not bother you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank kbenson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
I appreciate the time it takes to complete the survey on TripAdvisor.....thank you. I will look into the noisy HVAC unit. Sometimes it is nothing more then a loose cabinet housing at other times parts need to be replaced.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogdensburg, NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stay at this Best Western in Plattsburgh, New York for business and personal. It is central location to the Adirondack mountains, Vermont, and to Montreal, Quebec, Canada. This hotel is on Route 3 which is right next to the mall, Harley Davidson dealership, and many different restaurants. Another plus is it is very close to the Plattsburgh Airport, so it is a great place to stay if you are flying in and out of this airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for using TripAdvisor to report on your experience at my hotel. Our airport is going through another expansion so it will be able to offer even more flights. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Bad.. I stayed two nights.. I was given a room at the end on the first floor... near the exit door.. Every time someone came in or went out the exit door would bang... I got three hours sleep that night.. There was no body wash/shower gel and I have stayed in many Best Westerns and all the ones I have stayed supply these... I had a tiny fridge when I am accustomed to the small fridge maybe 2.5 ft high this was less than half of that.. The next morning I flooded the bathroom while having a shower.. The water came through the shower curtain... very slippery ceramic floors and walls and nothing to grab onto getting out onto a flooded ceramic floor.. They blamed it on the shower angle.. I know it was fine as I had a shower this morning and all was fine... They did put in new shower curtain...They did adjust the door and I slept very well last night... The other thing is if someone is upstairs you can hear them using the bathroom.. When I asked for a reduction in my rate for the first night they refused me as I had already gotten a 15% off even though i booked at hotel and not online... Well everyone gets that price and not everyone had issues so I will never stay at Best Western Plattsburgh unless the manger at least tries to make it right by giving me a further discount for the night I had the 0roblems.. Staff at front desk were adamant that the manger or owner would have to give this to me they could not.. There were no eggs left for breakfast this morning at 9:15... I could have gotten the same rate at Comfort Inn had I known it was going to be this bad...
Staff are friendly I agree the room is so so clean.. I did not make a fuss over this... Hampton Inn Micro-hotel is even better.. With little sleep the first night it really did not make my day yesterday.. I had many things planned but too tired to really shop.. Louise B

Room Tip: the A/C blows across your bed ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for providing me with feedback on your stay at my hotel. The general manager and front desk staff as well as my personal observations on property has kept me abreast of your issues. I am sorry that our best efforts to please you were unsuccessful. We do have curved shower curtains but when the shower head points outside the tub area water can get on the floor if the shower curtain is not properly positioned. I am sorry the noise of entrance door openings disturb you. We did have maintenance adjust the door slightly but for security reasons it is important to have it close fully. It is unfortunate you did not take our offer of relocating you to a room further away from the entrance which would have also had a larger refrigerator. I was consulted about your threat to complain on social media if you did not get a further discount above the 15% you negotiated at check in. Based on the facts from my staff and my personal observations I decided that any further discount to reduce your price would be inappropriate. You have every right to make statements or accusations and I respect that right.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at my hotel but wish you safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the way back from a trip to Florida. The room was very small (112). So smal that there wasn't enough room between the TV unit and the patio door forthe work table so it was pernendicular to the wall.
The bed was comgortable however and the breakfast was good.
I feel that I paid a bit too much for what I got.

Room Tip: Don't get room 112.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNameth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for providing me with feedback through TripAdvisor. You were assigned to our smallest room. We only have 22 of them out of 126 rooms and suites. We do have 18 King bedded rooms, 78 double bedded rooms all of which are considerably larger and 10 large two room suites in addition to the 22 smaller queen bedded rooms.
Thanks for your compliments and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INVERNESS
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have stayed here several times and have always had a pleasant experience. They have very nice rooms, the entire hotel..... lobby, hallways, pool area, vending area, parking lot are very neat and clean. Rooms are large and have comfy beds and linens. Bathrooms are ample sized with a tub/shower combo with plenty of hot water. They even provided us a crib at no charge for the grand babe. Breakfast was great --- plenty of choices to please the majority of folks. Nice hot food to get our day off to a great start. Nice location, close to shopping and dining within walking distance!! Will stay again and again and again. The only time I haven't stayed is when they are booked and am forced to stay 'down the road"..........

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank KATHERINE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and in depth review. I will be sure to pass it along to the staff
Safe travels and Happy Halloween!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Unless you like to have the heat system fan ventilating air directly on your bed, hear the snoring and washing of next room clients, hear road trafic, and be somewhat insulted by a young manager, I strongly recommend you go somewhere else. At least part of this place is a poorly renovated motel. It was the most expensive and only bad place we stayed during that week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and did not like what I have done to my property over the years. I am currently installing new corridor and public space carpeting, putting in an elevator and installing 70 rooms of new furniture.

It sounds to me that you were in a connecting room as all of our walls are fireproof, insulated 10 inch concrete block walls with finished sheet rock on either side. We only have a few connecting rooms out of the 126 rooms. There are two thin locked doors between the rooms and they are not as sound proof as a continuous wall.

I am most concerned that you were "somewhat insulted" by a manager. I will attempt to find out more details and take appropriate corrective action as I do not have any of your personal information. Please feel free to provide me with further details if you are comfortable in contacting me.
Safe travels to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Plattsburgh
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Plattsburgh

Property: Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Address: 446 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6519 (Formerly Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield Hotel Plattsburgh
Best Western At Smithfield
Best Western Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing