We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have stayed here before and keep coming back. Large, spacious room with a king-size bed and breakfast included. Wireless Internet provided and lots of cable channels. The hotel is close to several shopping malls with most major retailers and there are lots of restaurants and fast food joints.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rustmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and business. I will be sure to show the staff your survey.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    214
    59
    16
    26
See reviews for
309
230
27
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kahnawake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had a great time , finally had time to relax, the kids enjoyed it as our pool side room was like having a room beachside. Within walking distance from restaurants and shopping. Was pleasantly surprised with the complementary breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for using TripAdvisor. I am glad your family enjoyed the pool during your stay.
Safe travels to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The staff at the Best Western Inn at Smithfield, Plattsburgh are friendly and efficient! The housekeeping service was excellent and the workout room is nice. The business area/lounge area is very cozy and the hotel is conveniently located next to the 99 Restaurant, which is always delicious eats. I really enjoy the large indoor pool the hotel has an amenity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for using TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east hampton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My family and I stayed at a Best Western in southern NJ and in Conway SC on our way to take my daughter to college in SC. Both motels had dated interior and exterior décor. the rooms were clean and the staff friendly, but the rooms definitely need to be updated especially in Conway SC. The Plattsburgh Best Western was much nicer than the others. they had complimentary cookies a check-in and a better breakfast than the other motels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel on TripAdvisor. I was nice of you to recognize our efforts to keep the hotel contemporary and well maintained. I will be sure to pass on to the staff.

I am glad you enjoyed the cookies and our complimentary hot breakfast. Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Last time I was there was back in the late 80's when it was a Hojo. It changed name a few years ago. Best part of the hotel is the Poll area, it's big and clean. Ping pong table and a few arcades machines. It's missing a hot tub. You can even get a room with an balcony right on the pool. Great for kids. The rest of the hotel is ok, rooms are small. It was clean. Some of it had been renovated and part of it felt like the 80's. Overall the hotel is OK but for the same price I find there are at least 3 better places to stay in plattsburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for using TripAdvisor to report on your stay. You are correct I changed from Howard Johnson to Best Western in 1998. I am glad you enjoyed the pool and recognized the fact that we are constantly renovating. We have renovated the infrastructure heating, communications, support equipment which you do not see and now we are completing the parts that you do see by installing an elevator, new room furniture and public space carpeting to name a few things we have done this and past years.
In addition to the 22 smaller rooms we have 18 large King size bedded rooms, 76 large Double bedded rooms, and 10 large two room suites six of which have the in room Jacuzzi which you missed in our pool area.
Thank you for your opinion and input. Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were there for a couple of nights in January 2014 - comfortable beds, nice breakfast, wifi. Loved the pool and game room. Close to everything - shopping, restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Definitely going back as this hotel is priced right and has all the amenities you could ask for.

Room Tip: pack a bathing suit you'll love the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adele l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I appreciate the time it takes to provide feedback through TripAdvisor. Thank you for using TripAdvisor.

I will be sure to have the staff see your comments as they enjoy seeing satisfied guests as much as I do. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a group for a local sports tournament. The Sales Director Lisa was exceptional in providing local information that was helpful as well as great information about what the hotel offered. The cleaning staff did a great job as did the maintenance crew. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The location is ideal as you could go to the local mall or find a restaurant easily - nice when you are not from the area or have a group of students or kids to entertain on your visit. The breakfast was quite good as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Best Western Plus Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind letter to our Sales Director. We have shared it with the staff. I also appreciate the time it takes to complete a survey on TripAdvisor. We value your input

Safe travels to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#5 of 14 in Plattsburgh
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Plattsburgh

Property: Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Address: 446 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6519 (Formerly Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield Hotel Plattsburgh
Best Western At Smithfield
Best Western Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing