We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for traveling sports families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dexter, New York, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for traveling sports families.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Beds were very comfortable. Heat was easily managed in the room. We were only there for one night, so we didn't swim at all. Lots of entertainment and room for groups of kids to hang out. Nice little bar for parents to hang out at. There were kids hockey teams and girls softball teams there. Breakfast is simple continental, but fine for a quick bite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 315Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    68
    45
    17
    14
See reviews for
76
56
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Overall no major complaints. We stayed one night on our way to NYC, arriving a little later at night. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, the hotel and room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plain, no hot foods like some locations and the only thing I would like to have seen is a recycle bin in the room. Good central location for some last minute shopping! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blindbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here just for one night in November. We stay often in Plattsburgh, but this was our first time at the Holiday Inn. Positive: The room was really spacious and clean. The bedding and pillows were nice and fluffy. There was a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. There was a nice big tv and the channels came in really clear. The indoor pool had nice skylights and was very clean. We really enjoyed it. The staff were very nice and efficient. Location is good, near to all the shops and restaurants. Negative: The noise of the highway nearby. We didn't notice it when we first checked in because we were moving around and the tv was on. When we finally went to sleep though, it became pretty apparent. If you are a light sleeper you would definitely need earplugs. Otherwise try to get a room on the opposite side of the hotel furthest from the main highway. The bathroom door was really squeaky and made enough noise to wake my husband up when I went into the bathroom in the night. The breakfast was okay, but we were expecting it to be a bit better than the less expensive hotels in Plattsburgh who also offer free breakfast. It wasn't any better so that will not be a factor that sways us to stay there or not. A lot of the hotels have hot water for tea or coffee urns in the lobby throughout the day, but here it's only in the morning. It's a small thing, but it's nice to make a hot tea when you come in from the cold. The coffee maker in the room is no good for tea because the water just tastes like coffee, and there are no teas in the room in any case.
We would stay here again, but only if we were guaranteed a room on the quiet side.

Room Tip: Furthest side from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suitcaseattheready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times during travel to Plattsburgh. Have always found the rooms to be clean and comfortable but nothing special. I do like the fact that the windows open as I would much rather have fresh air rather than the AC running.

The bar is OK but the restaurant area is really plain and feels like a bunch of tables set-up in just another conference room. There are a number of really good restaurant choices nearby so why choose this one. You can eat at the bar as well and at least you should have some company if you are travelling alone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We do apologize for any inconveniences regarding your dining. We appreciate the commentary nonetheless. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
296 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I stay in hotels 300+ nights yearly for work and this hotel is in my top 10%. The building and grounds are well kept, check-in was fast and friendly, the continental breakfast was free! (usually you pay for a full menu breakfast at holiday inn). I appreciate all the employees hard work. I shows!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckMosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiplbny, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We appreciate the review, and are very happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our free continental breakfast. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stopped in Plattsburgh, NY for a night after leaving Canada and stayed at this hotel. Room was average and that was probably the best part. In the lounge, bartender had no vermouth to make martinis, so had ultra dry ones (straight gin on ice). Dinner in the restaurant would have been better if they'd opened a Banquet frozen food package and prepared it. Breakfast the next morning was the most spartan complimentary breakfast we've ever had. Find another hotel!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here; find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kal-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiplbny, General Manager at Holiday Inn Plattsburgh, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
We apologize if we were out of stock in Vermouth, however we do regularly have Vermouth and martinis available to our guests We do have breakfast as complimentary in restaurant although it is not required for Holiday inn.. We apologize for any other inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for taking your time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rapides des joachims
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 3 nights over the holiday week-end and were pleased with our stay. The hotel is old and doesn't have what I am used to at a new HI but that was fine. The breakfast was not all that great but they did offer a hot breakfast selection for more money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markus664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plattsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Days Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
#4 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Plattsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Plattsburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Address: 412 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plattsburgh
#6 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Plattsburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in splendor at the foot of the Adirondack Mountains-wander through a city with a historical background-then tour beautiful Lake Champlain. The Holiday Inn Hotel Plattsburgh is conveniently located at the intersection of I-87 and Route 3 at Exit 37. The Plattsburgh Holiday Inn hasWireless and Wired Internet connections, new beds and pillows, and a comfortable, home-like atmosphere, we are proud to say that we have the finest property of all the Plattsburgh Hotels. We are minutes away from many local businesses and just a short drive to all area attractions. Lake Champlain, Ausable Chasm, and CVPH (Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital) are just some of the locations that are minutes away. Also, Burlington, VT is just an hour from our entrance. We are also just 1 hour from Lake Placid, the Olympic Center, and for skiing, the internationally famous Whiteface Mountain. The Canadian Border is only 25 minutes away and Montreal, QC is an hour from our I-87 exit. During the summer, there are several professional and amateur Plattsburgh Fishing Tournaments that take place right on Lake Champlain. Whatever your reason for coming-business or pleasure-let our friendly and professional staff at the Plattsburgh Holiday Inn show you the North Country's famous hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Plattsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh Hotel Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing