We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Theatre

Capitol Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
283 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

What I like about this place is everything.... It's a great old theater that has been refurbished... They bring in some really good performers and performances.... Tickets are very reasonable here.... Drinks are available... You can find plenty of restaurants to have dinner at close by and then make it to the show and not be far from home if you're in the Westchester area... Great alternative to NYC...
Parking is very easy here plenty of parking there is a small fee but still well worth the value

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    28
    3
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Concert Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I went to see many a concert in this 70's concert hall. From Janis Joplin to Rod Stewart. The Capital has unmatched sound with not a bad seat in the house. Jerry Garcia himself declared this and the Philmore East were his favorite venues for sound and experience. That is the reason a bar was incorporated into the new Capital by the name "Garcias."
I have seen The Rascals, Chicago and a few other groups that sounded as good as yesteryear. I highly recommend this conveniently located famous theater for all ages.

Helpful?
Thank Rnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rockin the House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great place to see a concert - the bar area is somewhat crowed and noise as it is a large room with little seating. Big time acts have played there in the past and, although they're getting mid-level bands, the music has been good. Sight-lines and acoustics are excellent

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBrozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Great Classic Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

One of the classic venues to see a concert. Friendly staff, ease of parking and a great line-up of acts. Quick and easy to get to from Fairfield County. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
322 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Capitol theater is "almost" finished”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Went to the Bill Maher concert last night. Sold out as expected.

Great job bringing the theater back to its grandness. Beautiful and breathtaking moldings and trim. Very clean and simple paint job. A large bar is attached. Dozens of restaurants within walking distance as well as metro north train.

Get there early for tons of parking. Much free and street parking is $1/hr until 9:00pm.

Now for a major drawback. We paid $500 for 4 tickets (including fees) and sat in the eighth row on the side and had a great line of sight. The problem - seems like all the seats are padded folding chairs. Not only are they very small and uncomfortable but the floor slants toward the stage and the chairs do not compensate for the angle....so you are constantly sliding down off the chair. To the point that you have to brace your feet on the chair in front of you. Sounds crazy but true. Did the owner run out of money? Very disappointing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Capitol Theatre, responded to this review, 22 August 2016
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Capitol Theatre. We’re glad you appreciate the beauty of our restored theater as much as we do! We are very sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable in your seat. Our customer experience is extremely important to us, and we simply ask that you let us know if you are ever unhappy at our venue. Management will always do whatever possible to ensure our customers leave with a smile on their faces. In this case, we could’ve moved you to a different seat where the rake (the slope of the floor) is less pronounced, or to the more “conventional” seats in the balcony. Those folding chairs you didn’t like are situated only on the orchestra floor and are the same brand of chairs used courtside by the teams at NBA games, and are considered the best folding chairs in the business. We find them very comfortable, and we’re sorry you didn't agree. Regardless, we hope you’ll come back for another event soon, and if you have an issue anytime, please just let our usher staff know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capitol Theatre also viewed

Elmsford, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Capitol Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing