We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit ever this week”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gene's Michigan Stand
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Port Henry
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“First visit ever this week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stopped here for dinner this week. I had never been and will def go again. If you are looking for health food, this won't be the place for you. If you'd enjoy outstanding Michagins, onion rings and soft ice cream then you need to try Genes. Prices are very very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank all4won
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bring a thermal bag & buy a dozen to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We used to line up as soon as season started. 30 yrs and counting. Delicious! Good luck trying to replicate the recipe.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfsbyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergennes, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is thee greatest hot dog stand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I have been eating michigan hot dogs there for over 30 years. I have been trying to figure out the sauce for exactly that long and haven't done it yet. A MUST try. Sooooooo good. :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Multiple trips all the time! Service great, friendly quick. Prices great. Close to home Close to lake! Curly ffies and fried veggies are always my favs... Thank you so much guys!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Henry, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classic Americana”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

A summer tradition. It's perfect for a quick hot dog or an ice cream to go.

Helpful?
Thank GoinDivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gene's Michigan Stand also viewed

Been to Gene's Michigan Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing