We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good night's sleep is Not to be had on Saturday night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good night's sleep is Not to be had on Saturday night”
Reviewed 30 June 2008

All I wanted was a nice place to stay for a Saturday evening to be well rested for an early Sunday morning bicycle tour on the Island. I admit I was not there to party. Boy did I pick the wrong place. My first clue was seeing all of the function rooms that were directly adjacent to and across from my room. My second was seeing all of the chairs that were being setup directly outside my ground floor room in the afternoon for a reception. I’ve never been to a hotel that forcefully subjects guests to someone else’s wedding directly outside their room. I’m fairly certain I wasn’t invited. In any case, that was done with by the time we went to bed in the evening. I breathed a sigh of relief until I realized that there were several other “parties” going on (as well as the hotel’s restaurant/bar) that would continue late into the evening, all of which were well within earshot. One of the musicians even took a break outside our room and decided to regale us all with various old Black Sabbath tunes and random scales. I guess he had nothing better to do. When I informed the front desk, they said security would be out shortly, and that I should help them find the person…as though a lone Sax player playing Iron Man and Crazy Train would be difficult to spot. In any case, the noise eventually died down…right around 3:30 a.m. Just in time for me to get a couple of hours of sleep. The only thing that drowned any of it out, was the heat pump/air-conditioning unit in the room. It would kick off every 20 or so minutes. Its whisper quite operation (if you consider a tractor engine whisper quite) gave me something else to listen to…a new form of white noise. Luckily (I’m being sarcastic), as a final insult I got a bit more sleep because the front desk conveniently forgot to place my wake-up call. This is the worst night’s sleep I have ever gotten in a nice (and certainly not cheap)hotel, bar none. My room was very nice, quite obviously recently renovated and very well appointed. Sadly, the one thing I wanted it for, it did not deliver.

  • Liked — Well appointed and clean
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank iscem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    113
    74
    46
    35
See reviews for
139
143
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2008

this place really was a HUGE suprise!!!! Besides being the nicest place in the town, it was surounded by a quaint village and and the Long Island Sound. Danfors also has a huge dock that you can go and look at all of the boats. The resteraunt experiance both times really was great. our dinner was romantic and our brunch was really very fun. The only issue we had was that we did not have a reservation for brunch so we had to wait about 15 minutes at the loby bar. When we commented to the bartender about the wait they said that it is a very popular spot and since the renovation, it has been pretty busy. I dont know how much was spent but it had to be millions. The rooms, lobby and resteraunt made you feel like you were in either Miami or the nicest boutique hotels in NYC. Anyway, since I am not getting paid for my review, I will quit now and just say, go, go to this wonderful spot on Long Island when you want something special for the girl you lovew (or guy).......

  • Liked — the rooms are all new and the showers are something to see...WOWOWOWOW
  • Disliked — we wanted to stay a 3rd night but they were sold out
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffcnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2008

I had dinner the other night at Danford's because I heard that they opened a new restaurant there called Wave. I heard the hotel was recently renovated and made last minute plans to enjoy a night out with friends. We were having so much fun we decided to stay overnight. It was really really great!

The restaurant was lovely, all new decor, candles, new lighting. The food was fantastic - a ton of seafood, newly added sushi that everyone loved. The Chef came out and was walking around talking to people. It was very comfortable and cozy and we just ate and ate.

The hotel rooms were just renovated too and they are outstanding! Ipod docking station, rain head shower heads, renovated linens and carpets and drapes...the whole place looked brand new!!

The bar was packed and everyone was having fun. And oh by the way the bartender on Saturday night made this coffee drink that was fantastic.

Come see the new Danfords! You will be amazed at the transformation!!! I know I was.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lola29Longisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Overall I grade the entire Danford's experience an A-

My mother had given us the "elegance package" for our First Anniversary. My wife and myself took a ride out this past Saturday and from start to finish we had a blast!

The package included one nights lodging, chilled bubbly upon arrival, full 4 course dinner at "The Wave" and full breakfast the following morning.

First off, I'd just like to say that the town of Port Jefferson is just wonderful. After check inn (which was quick and easy) AND after dinner we wandered around town and had a few drinks at a few different spots. We even did a wine tasting and had the chance to sing Karaoke at a local pub! Seems like there is some good shopping in the village as well.

The biggest complaint I hear on Tripadvisor about Danfords is that the hotel needs renovating. Well, chill out everyone! It's happening right now as we speak... Although the exteriors of our rooms/buildings looked a little older, the interior was amazing. Soft bedding, flat screens, an amazing shower, and WIFI...

Please note there are a number of separate lodging areas, not just the Main building. We were in J5, just across the main street and we had a common deck and town view. We would have enjoyed the sea view better but we were told it was a 50.00 surcharge. It's all good, I was able to spot some Irish Flags (meaning a pub) from our deck and I was determined to locate it. We did find it and also found the local people quite friendly as well.

The Wave restaurant was to die for. Our package included ANYTHING on the menu including specials. I had the twin lobster tails and they were some of the best I have ever had. It's a real chic, trendy, sexy and inviting little lounge that they have upfront while waiting for you table. The have an amazing list of Martini's and Specialty drinks to all tastes and styles.

The following morning we returned to the same restaurant for an elaborate breakfast. Whoever was making those omelette's should get a raise, it was an award winning sausage / cheese & pepper omelette.

We take a lot of "mini vacations" and "small getaways" and I must say that Danford's was by far one of the best. The town helps the property a lot because you know there are a ton of nightlife options availible just after dinner.

If you can get a room a decent rate, please get out there ASAP.

Thank you Danfords for making it a great trip!

  • Liked — The free bubbly in room which I consumed seconds after....
  • Disliked — no free upgrade to sea view
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Crumz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2008

For the past several years I have been staying at Danfords on business and always enjoyed the hotel, restaurant and location. I did not expect to see the unbelievable changes that have occurred since my last stay! The rooms have been totally upgraded to standards that I would expect at the high end hotels around the country. The showers with rain heads are great, the ipod radios have great sound and the flat screen tv's (my room had two!) are definitely an upgrade from the "old" rooms. The beds felt like I was floating on air- very comfortable!!! The restaurant is now bright, chic and cosmopolitan in feel. The menu reflects this too with great food. This hotel always had a lot to offer as it is in the middle of the village with lots of options for my down time and that is why it was always my choice but with the renovated restaurant and hotel rooms, it has now become one of my favorite hotels while I travel on business. One of the few places where I feel like I am not on business. The staff mentioned that more improvements are being made and the entire property is getting a makeover. As I said, what a pleasant surprise to see these changes since I stayed last year!!

  • Liked — Showers, IPod station, bed
  • Disliked — Fitness room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KFEastEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

This hotel is set right on the water in Port Jefferson. The location is beautiful, convenient, and allows you to walk around the town with ease. The staff was pretty friendly.
Unfortunately, it is not worth the money you pay for it. ($269 night) The hotel, is run down and in major need of updates. Our room had carpet that buckled and was peeling up, water spots on ceiling, peeling wallpaper, dingy walls in need of paint, and old chipped furniture.
We had high expectations, since we have stayed at other placs in this area before.... we were let down. We were scheduled to stay for 4 nights and checked out after one night. We could not stomach paying $269 per night for a room like this. After checking in, we debated leaving right away.... but it was late and raining outside... so we phone the front desk and asked if we could cancel the remaining nights to our stay (to which they kindly agreed to). If some renovations were done, it would be a charming place to stay in this beautiful town.

  • Liked — Wonderful location on the water
  • Disliked — Old, outdated rooms and poorly detioriating furnishings (not as clean as expected either)
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Well, I wanted to spend a night away with my girlfriend and it was horrid. I went to this building with was the E building, it was plainly disgusting. I didnt have my card working, so someone came up and gave me new keys, they as well didnt work. So it would have been nice if they at least waited to see if the keys worked. Once inside, the room was not even made. We called the desk, just to get someone will be there right away. Right away is 30 mins later. So I really wanted to watch tv and that was a hassle the batteries were dead.
The next moring after sleep on a lumpy bed. We had breakfast, best thing was the deli we went to. I wouldnt even dare to image the service at their restaurant. So we checked out as fast as we checked out. They thought I was a hassle, the staff up front was more consumed with the phone than to check me out. So a rotten hotel I hope someone burns it to the ground

  • Liked — NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ARealTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
18.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.6 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danford's Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Property: Danford's Hotel & Marina
Address: 25 E Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777-1259
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing