We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off Season” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danford's Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
WGRI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Off Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just stayed at this beautiful hotel (check out the lobby desk made to look like the ocean), and it was a week night after Labor Day. Room was a steal at $129. Huge, immaculate - and right at the ferry dock. Lots of places to shop and eat only steps away -- plus had an incredible margarita at the hotel bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    110
    71
    43
    33
See reviews for
132
141
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ijamsville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a choice of two hotels selected for a wedding I attended this weekend. I should have picked the Holidy Inn Express. We paid an AARP rate for a King room in a buliding across the street. We had a ground level room. On the plus side, the room was large and the bed was very comfortable. On the con side is we paid over $250 (yes this was the discounted rate) for a room with a window unit air conditioner in a double unit window that only had one shade. So in other words, you either had to pull the shade down over the air conditoner or leave it up where your room is in full view to anyone in the parking lot. And speaking of parking lot, they charge you $8 to park your car!
The rooms need a make-over. New carpeting and a bathroom doors that don't creak loudly when opened. Wouldn't recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you are staying, perhaps a marina view would be worth the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kardan127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 days for business. My room had a view of the dumpsters out one window and rooftop air conditioners out the other. Good size room but rough around the edges. Continental breakfast was more then disappointing as was the service. Got up early and ate elsewhere after day one. Port Jeff is a very nice town. The hotel is located right on the bay which is great.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Django12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Danfords for a short getaway. We booked several weeks in advance. We heard it was a great place. It had a late check in time of 4pm, so, if you arrive early you have to pay to park in the village and find things to do and places to see before you settle in. Have a plan before you go. They charge you an $8. a day parking fee for the privilege of parking there, we feel it should have been included with the price they get for a room. The room was clean but dated. The bed was comfordable.The a/c was a window unit and when the wind blew it whistled threw the baffels. The bathroom was updated and very nice, it had a rain shower but no tub. It is a nice location, walk to all.The staff was very nice at both check in and check out (11am).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6jamericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Asked at front desk what time the ferry left for Bridgeport and they gave us the wrong time. They did not offer a schedule. Pretty sorry considering the ferry leaves practically from their front door. Staff need a better briefing.

Also appetisers in the restaurant at happy hour were not good. Have eaten in the restaurant before and enjoyed it but seem to have gone downhill.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a likeable hotel in a great position if you like boats as we do! We stayed 2 nights and thought our room was good. We had two double beds and the room was the size of two rooms with a bathroom in the middle. The bed was very comfortable! The bathroom had a lovely shower (but no bath) and was perhaps the best shower I have had in a hotel recently. The decor was good and we requested a view which we got over the marina. We love watching boats so the chairs on the balcony outside were a welcome extra. This hotel is right on the side of a private marina filled with beautiful boats. We thought the reception area in the main building was pleasant but the restaurant inside needed refurbishment. Breakfast was included in our room rate but it was very indifferent and although we could have ordered extra items (at an extra cost) no one suggested we do this. The waiting staff at breakfast completely ignored us. On both nights we ate in the outside restaurant which was in a lovely position and the staff were much friendlier but the food lacked something and on the second night (a Tuesday) the hotel had run out of bread? Wi fi is included in the room rate which is a bonus? Port Jefferson is handy for the ferry to Connecticut but if you want to see the Hamptons then this is bit out of the way.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina come with a higher price tag but are nicer and closer to the main build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed here many times (at least every other month for the last five years). This past year has been such a disappointment, I believe our stay this weekend was our last. This year, in every room we stayed, something has been broken. This weekend was the air conditioner and a shower which would not drain, limiting our shower to under two minutes. Upon checkout, when asked about our stay, we were met with a shrug. I have yet to meet a staff member with a vocabulary exceeding 50 one syllable words. It is too bad that we will have to find another location to get away, but I believe it is time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorx223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
18.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
4.6 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
23.6 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danford's Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Property: Danford's Hotel & Marina
Address: 25 East Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing