We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I stayed their on our wedding night. We chose it due to its long-standing great reputation. Well what a mistake! The place was not clean smelling. The heat in our room did not work and it was freezing that night. Someone came in to check it but they could not get it to work. We froze all night! Not a great experience to have on your wedding night! DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We recently stayed at Danfords while on town attending a family wedding.We were delighted with our stay.The room was very cozy and comfortable.The front desk staff was very friendly.We also had dinner at the Wave.Our server Griselda made several suggestions on the menu.Glad we ordered the lobster bisque and bronzino!! server was very attentive and friendly.Overall it was a pleasure to stay and eat here,will be back hopefully in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business and was very happy with almost everything, except the lack of proper heating in some of the common areas and also in my room which needed an additional heater. The food and service on the other hand were excellent. I would return to Port Jefferson in the Summer and Danfords would be a great place to stay. Since it was the off Season, parking was free. Also, the wifi connection was very good in my room. I was staying in the G building accross the street from the main hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I had my baby shower here and the booking agent Chritne Webber was great! She was very porfessional, super friendly, and made sure that all my concerns and needs were taken care of. The service staff was amazing down to the valet parking attendants. The staff handled my every need and took care of the needs of my guests. The room was very clean and perfectly set up as promised and on time! And the food was AWESOME..my guest are still raving about the food (and we're a bunch of foodies). To top it off the atmosphere was beautiful with the water front view which was great for guest who wanted to do a little sight seeing and shopping afterwards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aleeyahh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while the floor on our house was being repaired. We had a room across street (galley building)that was very comfortable and clean. We ate dinner at the wave restaurant. The view of the long island sound was spectacular. The food was very good and everything was cooked to perfection. As we were leaving the manager Steve approached us to ensure we had a good experience, which we did. I was interested in the Sunday Brunch, which the manager explained to us in full detail. We came to the brunch on Sunday and it was amazing as well!! We will be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stopped into wave this past weekend and had a great time. We started with drinks in the lounge area, then dinner in the restaurant. Food and service was excellent! The blackberry sangria was amazing. The manager (Steve) stopped at our table to check on our experience. We had questions about the history behind Danfords and Steve was very informative. We will be returning as weather breaks to enjoy the outdoor deck.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camera1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My time at Danfords was unforgettable! The food was cooked perfectly and my waitress Griselda was so helpful and helped my husband and I choose what to order. The view here is unbelievable and I recommend Danfords to all of my relatives and colleagues, as well as Danfords is my new favorite place to stay in Port Jefferson!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
892 reviews
4.6 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Jake's 58 Hotel & Casino
21.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danford's Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Address: 25 E Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777-1259
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Price Range: £84 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing