We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Nice....but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall Nice....but..”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Danford's is known for its location, and certainly the location is optimum. However it is NOT a luxury hotel. If staying in Port Jefferson, this would be my recommendation, since there is no place else with the marina location. Do not set your standards too high. The Hotel is not paying attention to any detail. Our room was mostly clean, however the ottoman, had the biggest and most obvious stain disgusting stain.......REALLY?....pretty gross!!! We would expect that in a $69 a night motel, not at Danford's. How about just throw out the ottoman. The view was spectacular from our room although a bit obstructed. One more thing, no hot water. Since we were only staying the night we did not request to get out room changed. Danford's is VERY expensive given the condition. Also keep in mind if you want to sleep a little late.....breakfast is over at 10:30 :(.

Room Tip: Waterview and CLEAN with hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    113
    74
    46
    35
See reviews for
139
143
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a great place to stay or go to the lounge and have cocktails and apps. It is right on the water and next to the ferry. cute little town to walk around in and shop and then go back to the lounge for the special price drinks and apps.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
482 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

For a property that claims to have "80 luxury rooms", all I can say is that is as far from the truth as it gets! Don't get me wrong, the place has character and charm but the term "luxury" is way overstated. The facility and room needs a LOT of work, not more bandaids. I almost fell through my deck. Electrical outlets are hard enough to find and many do not even work. The A/C is WAY under-capable of proper cooling. No breakfast until 7AM, which is an issue if you need to be somewhere at 7. If you want to be in the heart of PJ, this place is there. It's nest to the BPJ ferry. I also can't give the staff much higher marks either. Maybe it's just a NY thing... For $239 a night I would have to rate this place as a rip off and I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay as far from the ferry landing to avoid the foghorn blast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSR_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I grew up in the area thinking that place was the best around. boy, was i wrong! before we even stepped in the room we could see the disrepair...once we got in the room, the carpet was falling apart, the heater/AC unit was plugged into an outlet that was just dangling from the wall, and the walls looked like they got spackled and painted by a couple of blind drunks. the only reason to ever stay here is because its walking distance to downtown...but I imagine that's the only reason this place gets booked up at all

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

constructed in the mid 1980's one may find this is the last time maintenance was performed around the hotel. Although it offers a Nice view and the surrounding area is enjoyable the hotel lacks in staff attitude and regular hotel maintenance.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sinai, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My daughter and son-in-law were married 7/5/14 and the reception was held here. From the initial appointment with Lynn Fisk, sales manager, through the morning after breakfast, everything was handled with the utmost competence and professionalism. The venue is perfect for a summer wedding and the convenience of having the hotel available for out of town guests made it the perfect choice. 37 rooms were booked and all who stayed were pleased. The upstairs Brookhaven room was lovely that evening especially as the sun set over the Long Island Sound. The food could not have been better and the waitstaff were attentive and cordial. The banquet manager, Vicky Castillo, ensured that everything was to our full satisfaction. The bride and groom had a gorgeous room(included in the wedding package) that faced the Sound.
All our guests exclaimed " this was the best wedding ever! " I could not agree more. A more perfect day to start their life together could not exist.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family stayed at Danford's when my son graduated from SUNY Stony Brook last May. The hotel is located in the middle of Port Jefferson, with a beautiful view of the water and marina and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We had a lovely 2 BR suite, complete with 2 master bedrooms, living room and balcony. While the room was spacious and the hotel was very nice, it could benefit from some upgrades as it's beginning to look a bit tired and outdated. The restaurant is ok but not spectacular so I would recommend venturing out for dinner if you plan to stay here. Weekends also bring a lot of parties, weddings, etc. so be prepared for noise if you stay in the main building.

Room Tip: no elevators so prepare to climb steps if your room is on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S0ulshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
18.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.6 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danford's Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danford's Hotel & Marina

Property: Danford's Hotel & Marina
Address: 25 E Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777-1259
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danford's Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by spectacular views of Long Island Sound and nestled in the heart of historic Port Jefferson Village, Danfords Hotel & Marina offers the finest accommodations with contemporary comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danford's Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing