We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Br prepared to share your room with large black bugs everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Port Jefferson Station
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My husband & I stayed at this motel last night. It looked decent from the outside and modest on the inside. We asked for a non-smoking room, and the way they identify these is to put a card on the desk saying non-smoking and a fine for smoking. There was no permanent sign on the door as there was on the room next door. In addition, there were cigarette burns on the rug and an ashtray on the table. Also, it smelled. Worst of all, the bathroom and bedroom were infested with hugh black bugs, to the extent that I didn't sleep a wink all night, and we left at 5:00am. When we told the management about the problem, he said he would tell the manager. All of this added up to a horrible experience after reading the favorable reviews. Barbara, New Jersey

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bcarton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn - Port Jefferson Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

I spent 5 days, nice and helpful people working there, the room was clean and practial. Shops nearby, good place to drive around Long Island

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you want to stay in a motel, choose this one. I am a female that travels alone and I felt very safe and looked after there. The location is fantastic - a minute walk to shops,cinema and big supermarket, 5 min in taxi to train station. The staff are very friendly and helpful (from showing me how to use the tv to offering to do shopping for me). The motel reception is open 24 hours and nothing is too much trouble. Gorgeous dunkin donuts and coffee/tea/hot choc in the mornings included in the price of the room. The rooms are all a good size. Huge king size comfortable beds(even for back problems), sofa and table, good lighting and ac/heat unit. Shower very powerful and large vanity/sink unit. Excellent choice of channels on tv. No noise from neighbouring rooms at night or from the road. Excellent parking. Everything very clean. I had better service at this motel, than from any five star hotel (even in the same county) that I have stayed at and I travel for a living. Plenty of things to do and sights to see in the area and they have brochures and leaflets to let you know what is around, transport etc. Will be staying there again when next in the area.

Room Tip: My room was non-smoking and around side of motel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hat198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed there 3 nights and it was just perfect. The place is centrally located to Port Jefferson and the highways. Shopping centers are nearby with resturants. The room was large, clean, and quite. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I plan to stay there again the next time I visit New York. The price was very affordable as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Mixed reviews. Friendly staff and good location if you need to be in the Port Jefferson area. The rooms are definitely dated - old bedding/pillow and rooms smell of mildew. I am used to more upscale hotels so that room quality grossed me out a bit, but I saw housekeeping tending to the rooms each morning, so they do provide daily service. Prices are very good. With a small investment in the rooms, it could be a gem for the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Had some doubts based on the pictures online and little info given, but the price was right so I took a chance. It looks like your typical roadside motel, nothing fancy, but my room was very nice. Everything was clean and comfortable. Bathroom counter appeared to be new and the bed also felt new and comfortable. Lots of TV channels. Only thing some may view as a drawback - there is only a shower, no tub. I had no problems and would definately stay there again. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abviportjefferson, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Port Jefferson Station, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear RMM60
Thank you for taking time to share a review about our hotel. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We understand that you have many options in the marketplace, and are pleased that you have made Americas Best Value Inn your premiere choice for lodging.

We look forward to another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.


Regards,
Rajen-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-PJS, NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank waltnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson Station
2.7 mi away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
494 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
6.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Medford
111 reviews
5.8 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
147 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Port Jefferson Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Port Jefferson Station

Address: 1371 Route 112, Port Jefferson Station, NY 11776-3075 (Formerly Terryville Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Jefferson Station
Price Range: £89 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Port Jefferson Station 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Port Jefferson Station, New York. We are located near the village of Port Jefferson, Port Jefferson - Bridgeport, Connecticut Ferry, and Long Island Rail Road Port Jefferson Station. Our exterior corridor hotel is close to the scenic beaches of Long Island's north shores. We are minutes from Stony Brook University, Suffolk County Community College, St. Joseph's College, and Briarcliffe College. Other area attractions include East End Wine Tasting Tours, Splish Splash Water Park, and Atlantis Marine World. Szechuan Garden, Colosseo Pizza and Restaurant, and Panera Bread are within a mile of our hotel. Americas Best Value Inn Port Jefferson Station offers clean accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour front desk staff. Enjoy a cup of coffee and a donut in the lobby each morning. A peaceful night's sleep awaits you in the comfort of one of our guest rooms with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, cable TV with HBO and ESPN, desk with lamp, clock radio, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Port Jefferson Station, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Port Jefferson Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Port Jefferson Station Hotel Port Jefferson Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing