We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd go back, but ...”
Review of Eben's Hearth

Eben's Hearth
Ranked #13 of 49 Restaurants in Potsdam
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
general
Level Contributor
172 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“I'd go back, but ...”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was recommended by our motel desk clerk. We had read reviews of particularly good restaurants in Potsdam but they were closed Sunday. Eben's Hearth is a local, college-town place: decent but unexceptional food at reasonable prices, extensive list of draft beers, you get the idea. I would return but not in the expectation of a superb meal, just for good solid eats and drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AfricaAsiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    43
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST! CAN'T BE BEAT!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Recently had breakfast at Eben's Hearth while moving daughter into St. Lawrence. We've been here before and have not been disappointed. Their breakfasts are simply the best. My husband had French Toast, daughter had pancakes and I had a platter that had eggs, toast and a couple of small pancakes. Home fries are terrific. Super friendly service and simply yummy food. If you're in the neighborhood, this is the place to have breakfast!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cocoajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malone
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Decent food at good prices”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have eaten there many times over the years. The sandwiches, salads and wings are all very good, big portions and prices which have risen a bit lately, but aren't over-the-top. It isn't fine dining but it's consistent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eban's Hearth”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My girlfriend and I dined here recently. It can definitely be rowdy at times, as it is very small and there is a Bar that isn't too far removed from the dining area. As an example, when we ate there there was a large group of girls in their 20's who where very loud. The wait staff definitely should have placed them in the upper portion where the bar is located. The meal was good, though. Chicken Parmesan is what I ate, and my girlfriend ordered a sweet/sour chicken stir fry. She said hers was good as well. There are a number of beer's on draft for the beer drinking bar-goers. The bathroom's were a bit dirty, though. All in all, a good meal. I will likely return to here in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Potsdam Has Better Restaurants”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

After living in Potsdam for many years, I have had quite a few oportunities to eat at Ebans Hearth. The staff is generally pleasant and accommodating. The food and prices, however, leave much to be desired. Most meat I have ordered off the menu has been dry and overcooked. Prices are also quite high for what you get. Some of the booths are super uncomfortable. Before your food even gets to the table, you want to leave because the seats are so uncomfortable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eben's Hearth also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Eben's Hearth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing