We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy good food with awesome staff!”
Review of First Crush Bistro

First Crush Bistro
Ranked #9 of 49 Restaurants in Potsdam
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Tucked away on the corner of Market Street and Elm Street in Postdam, New York, First Crush Wine Bar and Bistro is the best kept secret in the North Country. Blending casual dining with delicious food, First Crush is the place to catch up with friends, meet with a client, or maybe even start a new romance. First Crush provides an intimate, yet casual setting. Our goal is to provide each of our guests with warm, friendly hospitality. Whether you are there for just a cup of freshly ground and brewed coffee with a scratch baked scone, or one of our famously delicious Adirondack salads for lunch, a glass of wine with a few Tapas for dinner or a full dinner entree; we welcome you!!
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crazy good food with awesome staff!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We travel to Potsdam a few times per year and always make a point to stop by "The Crush". The menu is always changing with fresh new takes on old favorites. Exciting appetizers as well as an extensive wine list get you started while the main course keeps you coming back for more. The kitchen is super accommodating with special requests. We love the atmosphere and the feeling that you are dining in a trendy NYC café. The wait staff is very friendly. We usually have our young son with us and they are always willing to strike up a conversation and show a genuine interest in us. It truly is like visiting family each time we dine at First Crush. The owner always remembers us and is a very gracious host. I highly recommend you stop by; you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fastkt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Went during lunch, great service, very prompt. Food was excellent, had the chicken chipotle salad. Very fresh, the panini was also great. The Chocolate torte, awesome. Very reasonable prices, will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 04Beau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dishonest People”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Some coworkers and I ordered food. We paid in advance. They did not deliver the panini I ordered. When we called them on it, they refused to bring me the panini. They also refused to issue a refund for the charge. I would not recommend placing an order with this company.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geralynbarney, Owner at First Crush Bistro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am the owner of First Crush in Potsdam. I would like to address the comment made by the person that stated we were dishonest. Anyone that has been to my restaurant knows that we get incredibly busy on a daily basis. There is a reason for that, we are good. I have amazing staff that prepares wonderful food using premium fresh ingredients and servers that are well liked and enjoyable to be around. Occasionally we make mistakes, very seldom, and when we do we go above and beyond to fix them. This customer was offered a free lunch at her convenience, in house or delivery, I refunded her IMMEDIATELY and we also offered to drive the sandwich we forgot to put in the order back out to her. She refused. I welcome constructive criticism but lying is inexcusable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
185 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stopped in while traveling through the area absolutley loved it. It is small place with charming decor and wonderful service. Our waiter was terrific and offered thoughtful recommendations. We both loved our sandwiches they were delicious and creative. The sandwiches were just enough so you were full, but not stuffed, the chips were great. We split a dessert and coffee. Everything was yummy and the place was clean!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank w81minute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in the area, bar none!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Been trying to get here for a year as I have a student at St. Lawrence. Finally made it and what a treat! Breakfast, lunch or dinner, you cannot go wrong. Staff is fabulous, friendly and professional. Everything is creative, fresh and amazing. Keep it coming. Beth Wright-Seeley

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Crush Bistro also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to First Crush Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing