We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brambles Inn and Gardens

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Brambles Inn and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 6 Potsdam B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

What a great B&B! We stayed here for the first time this weekend after years of staying at the Clarkson Inn for our visits to the North Country. The Brambles is now my first choice. The inn is decorated beautifully, and our room was lovely. Breakfast was excellent and the innkeepers were friendly. It is also a nice walk into the main street area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_in_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was our second year in a row we got to experience staying at The Brambles Inn & Gardens. Both times our stay was wonderful and our room was terrific. The breakfast was delicious. I have a gluten free diet and both times they were accomodating. I was spoiled. This year I had a peach cobbler. Without a doubt we will be back again. We stayed in the Thomas Clark room. We all slept well and found no problem with the water pressure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lefttoosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed one night to visit Clarkson University. My daughter and I stayed in the Thomas Clark Room. It was quite spacious in that room. This room is toward the front of the house, so some road noise is able to be heard. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed reading in the living room downstairs. Eleanor brought out a stack of magazines that she thought I might like and I read two of them. We got to choose our breakfast time (I believe we might have been the only guests that night). My daughter had some stitches in her lip and needed a softer food diet and they accommodated her needs wonderfully. Breakfast was delicious. We had blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt with fruit, cinnamon coffee cake and more. If she chooses Clarkson, we will definitely stay here every trip we can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0m0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

My daughter and I came to The Brambles Inn & Gardens to stay for SUNY Potsdam orientation. I stayed two nights, she one, but both of us felt the same way about The Brambles. From the moment we arrived and rang the bell, our innkeepers were very warm and welcoming. We originally had the Knowles room reserved, but were upgraded to the suite. Very spacious accommodations, serene, clean, with beautiful country inn touches all around. The included country breakfast was marvelous. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKCOMPANY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Schodack, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed at Brambles for one night while my son attended a Clarkson University open house - Being early Spring, the snow had just melted so we didnt get to experience the gardens - however the house is beautiful - our room was a little small for three of us - but we made due - it was very quiet which was refreshing. The Inn was booked, so I expected to hear others in the rooms next to us. Couldnt hear a peep.

We were offered two breakfast seatings 8 am or 9am - we chose the 8am as we had to be on campus early - the scent of fresh coffee and bacon was a delight while getting ready in the morning. Arriving at 8am in the dining room was a fabulous surprise. The beautiful table was set and awaiting our arrival, a lovely yogurt and granola parfait topped with fresh strawberries, juice and coffee. Wait, there is more - home made banana bread, banana walnut pancakes and bacon! The perfect start to the day.

Great place to stay! I highly recommend staying at Brambles!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingersnap12033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed here to visit our daughter at Potsdam University. We were there for 7 nights and loved every minute. The property is so beautifully furnished and maintained in its Victorian era style. The owners were wonderful to us and nothing was too much trouble. The first room we stayed in was lovely with period furnishing and very comfortable bed. As we were there for a week the owners then very kindly offered us a bigger room as it became available and just added to whole postive expereince of staying there. The breakfasts were unique and varied each day - all homemade .
The only minor downside was the steam heating system that we were not used to and did wake us up - but does add to the charming character of the place. I just want to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed at Brambles Inn and Gardens while our daughter attended her orientation at Potsdam. Eleanor welcomed us and told us where our room was and asked what time we wanted breakfast. My husband had to leave about 5:30 for work and wouldn't be able to stay for breakfast. She offered to make him a bag of goodies to eat on his way to work. The next morning he found his goodie bag in the butler's pantry and headed to work. He called to let me know that it contained a homemade blueberry "crumble", a pastry, grapes and juice...he was very impressed with his breakfast..."Thank you Eleanor".
We loved the room...it was comfortable, lovely and I didn't want to leave. I couldn't stay for breakfast either as I needed to get to the college...but I will be back and will take in the breakfast next time...I am looking forward to it. Thank you again for welcoming us into your home. I will recommend you to all my friends.
Michelle W.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarkson Inn
Clarkson Inn
#2 of 5 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.3 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
9.2 mi away
University Suites Hotel
2.2 mi away
Northern Family Motel
Northern Family Motel
#4 of 5 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brambles Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brambles Inn and Gardens

Property: Brambles Inn and Gardens
Address: 48 Elm St, Potsdam, NY 13676-1813
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Brambles Inn and Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the past in our circa 1842 Greek Revival home... lovingly restored and filled with antiques and beautiful furnishings. All guest rooms feature a private bath.From the old-fashioned country breakfast to the top-notch service, you'll be glad you made The Brambles your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Brambles Inn and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing