We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a diner should be...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Diner

Village Diner
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything a diner should be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We only ate there once, but would have gone back if we'd had time. Everything about it was the very best you could imagine in a diner. The food was fresh, freshly prepared, cheerfully served and inexpensive. Everyone enjoyed their meals, and we had a fun time. Don't even THINK about trying the Pancake Challenge! They use a much heavier batter for that pancake, and it's nearly impossible, and my boys found out. But they had fun trying! :0)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twosleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Everytime....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Best breakfast around. Clean, friendly, great food. Wish they had there own restrooms in there space. The ones for public use are pretty bad..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and Great Service from Waitress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had breakfast here during our visit to Clarkson University. It was an excellent place to have breakfast. Great selections (they serve breakfast and lunch all day). The waitress was outstanding. She was friendly and very helpful in food selection. I go my usual selection for breakfast of 2 eggs over medium with bacon and toast. I got their Homemade english muffin bread which was really delicious. The eggs were cooked perfectly (over medium) I usually get them over runny or over cooked so really nice to get them perfect. The bacon was cook perfectly too (not to crispy but not chewy). My daughter got the french toast and she loved them. Good breakfast place. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuffieldUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great breakfast place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have only been here for breakfast. It is much like most diners with good hearty food, friendly service, and a basic atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jorge g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always Good, Always Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

When we go to Potsdam, which is several times a year, we can always count on this place for a fine breakfast or lunch. The service is friendly and familiar. The menu has many reliable dishes but there's always something special with a culinary twist that isn't found in many North Country diners. Many menu items are geared for folks who are looking for a more healthy alternative. But if you're into hearty meals with not as much regard for caloric content you will walk away satisfied. At breakfast we recommend the omelets - fresh ingredients, properly prepared. For lunch try one of their homemade soups - we really love their macaroni and beef. And these folks know how to put a burger together, either straight up American style or with a few extra ingredients that add a more interesting level of taste. So if you are in Potsdam search this place out. It's not on any of the main streets but it's not too hard to find. And you'll be glad that you did find it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Diner also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Village Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing