We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad I drove the extra few miles....”
Review of Clarkson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarkson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Victor, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So glad I drove the extra few miles....”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had the chance to stay at the Clarkson Inn last week when my daughter visited a college in the area. I decided to drive the extra few minutes to Potsdam since the rates at the chain hotels down the road were outragous - and to be honest, I am a hotel snob.

The Clarkson Inn is beautifully restored, the rooms are very large and no detail was missed -- even my ice bucket was ready and waiting full of ice! The bathroom area was very large, there was a microwave, decent size refrigerator (not the tiny ones I'm used to seeing) and plenty of coffee/toiletries. It would be a great place to stay with a family!

Unfortunately, I was not able to stay and have breakfast the next morning - but it looked and smelled fantastic.

Do yourself a favor and stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekimanej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    47
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
33
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our family of four traveled to Potsdam, NY to visit Clarkson University recently. This small hotel is minutes from the college and located on a picturesque river. Although it seemed a little pricey it really wasn't much more than some of the other hotels located miles away in other towns. Note, they do have AAA rates, however, not on the weekends :( There are some really beautiful churches in the area, one of which was right across the river - viewed from our room. Love the river side, although as some said you may hearing talking occasionally as there is a river path that runs behind the hotel. Good luck with GPS in finding it - we got a little lost but called the hotel and they were able to direct us. The room had two queen beds and they were quite roomy - the beds and the room. Style wise this hotel looks modern brick on the outside but the interior was more Victorian and quite a treat. Fyi..there is no pool. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick the river side for a nice view....and I would imagine the higher floors would put you farther a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in the Canton/Potsdam area 4 different weeks over the last two months and the Clarkson Inn is hands down the best hotel in the area.

For an older hotel it was quite clean and well taken care of, a product of the care and service of the employees. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised one morning to find a member of the staff outside on a cold and very frosty morning, helping guests to scrape the ice off their windshields. An example of how everyone goes the extra mile here.

This hotel is my top choice for future stays.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

As usual, the Best Western and Comfort Inn in Canton were booked solid. Clarkson Inn was the alternative to the less than exciting options back in Massena.

Beautiful facility. Nice mix of modern and almost Victorian qualities.

Room was huge. Beds were very comfortable. Sheets were definition of crisp and clean. Quiet location. Excellent sleep.

Breakfast in a dining area off the lobby. All good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BM_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We have visited many times over the past few years, as our daughter attends college in the area. While we have stayed at other hotels from time to time, the Clakson Inn is by far our first choice. Fun location right in the center of town and scenic at the edge of the river. Can be a little noisy late at night on the river side of the hotel, as students tend to congregate on nice nights. Hotel itself is clean and upscale. Rooms are nice, although some peeling wallpaper could easily be repaired. Brighter lighting around bathroom mirror would also be nice. Regardless, these are minor issues. This is a very nice inn, has a friendly staff and offers afternoon tea/coffee and snack setup for guests. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NHtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The staff was great and it was clean. Also they offer a high tea for free in the afternoon that was so nice...George the manager was so accommodating. I will continue to stay there in the future when visiting my son at school.

Room Tip: chose a room next to the river and the second floor does not have an elevator -so keep that in mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSandyCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a Victorian Inn, with the Victorian decor consistent and beautiful throughout. My room was roomy, including the bathroom area (after a week on the road with chain motel itsy-bitsy bath/sink areas, this was a treat!). The view out the 2 windows was of the river and park area and a huge hydrangea bush. As a bonus, the windows actually opened, to let in a lovely breeze. There is no pool; parking is free. There is an adorable Victorian tea room, where breakfast is served; sadly, the $12 breakfast was just mediocre. All of the staff are friendly and helpful, and made me feel welcome.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the river side, for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neskya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
62 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
University Suites Hotel
18.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Massena
98 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northern Family Motel
Northern Family Motel
#5 of 5 in Potsdam
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkson Inn

Property: Clarkson Inn
Address: 1 Main St, Potsdam, NY 13676-2046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarkson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarkson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing