We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Uninterrupted night's sleep :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarkson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarkson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Uninterrupted night's sleep :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have stayed at numerous hotels and inns across the country in the past year and the Clarkson Inn is the best! It is spotless, beautiful and peaceful. The staff is polite, informed and genuine. And most importantly, I had an uninterrupted comfortable night's sleep.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    45
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
78
30
10
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio Verde, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was here for business, but it could be a nice place to bring a family. The room was nice, staff very friendly, and the location can't be beat. You will be close to some very good restaurants and in the midst of a charming town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The service, the rooms and the breakfast are top notch. Having been a resident of this community for years, and having since traveled extensively over the years, The Clarkson Inn is a precious jewel surrounded by otherwise common rocks. If you're staying in the area...this is THE place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Spent 3 days on business in the area and really enjoyed the hotel. Rooms were large and comfortable, breakfast was great and loved sitting by the fireplace in the mornings/evenings to complete some of my work. In lieu of the gym, I walked along the Racquette River....very nice experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have stayed here several times on business and the hotel is very nice, maybe a little old fashioned, but in a good way. The staff are friendly and very helpful with advice and directions. The newish breakfast is a great addition too. A small gym would be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnvt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Super clean, super beautiful. Service was top notch. The room was large with beautiful queen ann furniture. Breakfast had salmon and capers with made to order hot items. The lobby was right out of an english manor. The fireplace always has a cozy fire going every night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mclacagnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had the chance to stay at the Clarkson Inn last week when my daughter visited a college in the area. I decided to drive the extra few minutes to Potsdam since the rates at the chain hotels down the road were outragous - and to be honest, I am a hotel snob.

The Clarkson Inn is beautifully restored, the rooms are very large and no detail was missed -- even my ice bucket was ready and waiting full of ice! The bathroom area was very large, there was a microwave, decent size refrigerator (not the tiny ones I'm used to seeing) and plenty of coffee/toiletries. It would be a great place to stay with a family!

Unfortunately, I was not able to stay and have breakfast the next morning - but it looked and smelled fantastic.

Do yourself a favor and stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekimanej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.9 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
University Suites Hotel
17.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northern Family Motel
Northern Family Motel
#4 of 5 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkson Inn

Property: Clarkson Inn
Address: 1 Main St, Potsdam, NY 13676-2046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarkson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Clarkson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing