We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Potsdam”
Review of Clarkson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarkson Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Potsdam”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a renovated historic property - as the information on the Hotel's website explains. As such it has some of the quirks of an older building, (e.g. no elevator, so ask for a first floor room if you don't want to do stairs to the second floor), and limited by the space available so rooms are good sized but not huge. River view rooms look over the river; town view look over the parking lot and residences of the town.

Renovations have been nicely and tastefully done. The result is a really nice hotel without being over the top. Sort of a genteel place without a lot of flash and flourish. If you're wanting a pool, fitness room, etc. you may want to consider one of the franchised chains in near-by Canton. But I doubt that they beat the Clarkson for comfort, convenience, and ambience.

We had a river view, one queen bed room. (Bay window rooms are a bit larger and have two queen beds; similar in layout - we checked one out). Room was pleasant but lacked a real desk work area - other than a round table and some period chairs. Bathroom is nice but not huge and came with a nice assortment of "goodies" & really great towels. Bed was comfortable. Everything was really clean and tidy when we arrived. Staff was pleasantly friendly. Cookies and coffee available in the afternoon in the really nice lobby area!

Location is in "downtown" Potsdam offering several restaurants within walking distance. We opted for a Mexican place, (but that's another story).

Breakfast buffet is good. At $12 it's perhaps a bit pricey, (but it is a hotel breakfast which is always so) but is darn convenient on a rainy morning.

If in the area again I'd be happy to stay there again. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HimselfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    47
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
30
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My daughter attended sunny potsdam and I lucked upon the Clarkson Inn. the rooms are something out of the NYC plaza. The beds are soft, comfortable you don't want to move.
We had breakfast n our room and it was great ! The housekeeping was great, quiet, restful, relaxing....I love this place.

Room Tip: Get there when u can it is worth the trip. Pat Taylor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went up to Potsdam to visit Clarkson University with our son. It was off season visit for this area. This place was beautiful. It had the old inn style but convenience of a hotel. When we checked in, our room gave us a complimentary water and a few bags of chips. The room was really nice. We had a view of the river. It had a refrigerator and microwave. I love places that have a refrig because you can keep drinks in there. The bed was extremely comfortable for all of us. It was the quietest night sleep I have ever had. I truly enjoyed our stay. We planned to stay there 2 nights but due to work we had to cancel our second night stay. I was very disappointed. The woman at the desk was very helpful. She refunded us our second night stay with no problem. Very helpful staff. Lots of convenience that even some hotels do not offer. Love the vanity area (the magnifying mirror was a plus for me). They even had a weight scale in the bathroom. The robes and slippers were also a plus. Very convenient location to the colleges there in Potsdam and close to many of the restaurants. We walked to all of them.
If we were ever to come back up there, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffieldUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dighton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the Clarkson Inn the night of the Vinyl Café show at CPS... We couldn't have been more pleased with the room, the service and the location. A great value for the money. A superior boutique hotel in a small town was a wonderful surprise. Can't be beat by anything in the area if you are visiting the colleges. Thank you for making us feel welcome!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the park and river.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rons99876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have been staying at the Clarkson inn for 13 years periodically. The people are so welcoming and it's definitely one of the cleanest hotels I've ever been in. I've stayed at the best chains in the world and I would rate the Clarkson Inn up there with them. It's so quaint and cozy and am looking forward to them opening up the little bistro and bar.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jacky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are a great size for your money.

Enjoy the morning breakfast. Then either go out and have an outdoor adventure, visit one of the three colleges in the area, explore a snowmobile trail, or border hop to Canada. Make sure, though, you plan to have at least one afternoon tea in the inn's lobby. Tea, crumpets, scones, and lemon squares to name a few treats.

If your checking in for a college event, be sure to reserve a room well in advance. Up to a year for some events like college graduations.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank upstatejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

As a graduate from Clarkson University - I can remember staying at this hotel when first visiting the campus with my family as a junior in high school in 2002. I returned to the Clarkson Inn this past weekend while attending the Clarkson v. Union hockey game with my significant other.

I had first requested an early check in and was accommodated no problem by the staff. Was greeted by the women at the front desk and was shown our room location. Luckily we were only staying one night but for anyone who was carrying more then a couple bags or the elderly I would imagine it would be difficult to get your bags up to your room as there is no elevator only a stairwell.

Rooms are dated but very clean and quant. Service was fantastic through and through. Surprisingly it's one of the cheaper high end hotels (I use the word high end in Potsdam very lightly, there are some really sketchy spots to spend the night other then the big chain hotels and the Clarkson Inn).

I'm looking forward to spending some time next year at the Clarkson Inn when we return for our annual Clarkson hockey game.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRadloff21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potsdam
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
323 reviews
1.9 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
56 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
University Suites Hotel
17.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
57 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northern Family Motel
Northern Family Motel
#5 of 5 in Potsdam
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkson Inn

Property: Clarkson Inn
Address: 1 Main St, Potsdam, NY 13676-2046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarkson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarkson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing