We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but check for bed bugs wherever you go” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel but check for bed bugs wherever you go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This has always been our go-to hotel when we visit family in Poughkeepsie. The rooms are nice, the staff are friendly, the breakfast is good, the location is perfect, the price is right. However, it is important to check for bed bugs anywhere you stay these days. We found evidence of bed bugs (live and dead) in two rooms on different floors. Staff didn't seem surprised, were accommodating and the third room we tried was okay. We were reimbursed one night, which seems reasonable. Relatives reported finding evidence of bed bugs at the Holiday Inn Express up the street, so this is not an isolated problem these days. The key is to check the beds and bedding (use your smartphone flashlight) before you unpack -- and wash your clothes after you get back. Putting your suitcase, shoes, coat, etc. in a cold location for a few days is also advisable. Bed bugs appear to be a problem we're going to have to learn how to live with for the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamatravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    257
    100
    27
    20
See reviews for
303
207
37
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

unexpectedly stayed an extra night in NY to meet a 2nd cousin never knew, Hampton provided a wonderful experience at last minute, room was clean, breakfast fresh, gotta love their waffles, coffee hot, wifi free, safe and secure , would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank justpassingthrough6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I travel for a living and stay at Hilton properties whenever possible. This year I spent 11 weeks at this facility and I can not say a bad or negative thing about it! The staff here are genuine, accommodating and will go out of their way to see that your stay is satisfactory. If this was not the case, I had many other options to chose from to stay within my lengthy project.
The rooms were always clean and comfortable. There was only 1 night that I had a noisy group beside me and the front desk took care of the issue with a phone call. You were greeted every morning with a smile and a hot breakfast and every evening with smiles and warm cookies.
If I return to Poughkeepsie, I will not hesitate to stay at the Hampton Inn. To see, whom I consider now, my friends. Thanks to all the staff there, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: During my 11 weeks, I stayed on every floor out of the 5 except for the 1st. I can not say that one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queretaro, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

a warm welcome, comfortable lobby and room. well worth the premium price! good breakfast and fruit, coffee, and hot chocolate available all day. got a free upgrade to a suite. good location only a few minutes from poughkeepsie

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Hampton in Poughkeepsie for three nights during the Thanksgiving weekend. The facilities are clean, light and welcoming. Our king suite was huge and the staff was happy to provide us with roller beds. The breakfast was fine with tremendous selection of cereals and foods such as waffles, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, fresh fruit, etc. The quality of eggs and coffee was ok- not great, but this was compensated for by the large food selection which was kept well stocked by an attentive staff. The high point for us was the quality of the staff- they were so welcoming, helpful and friendly. This added tremendously to our stay. We accidentally booked the wrong week for our visit- not realizing this until we arrived a week late! The staff could not have been more helpful in getting us set up in a new room (at no charge). We enjoyed the pool and hot tub- though would have liked it even better if it was a little warmer. The location of the hotel is convenient - on route 9, close to Spackenill! We will definitely be returning to the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Annarellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I love staying at Hampton Inns. Everything is always perfect. The rooms are clean and the linens are so crisp and so very comfortable! The breakfast area is great and the food was more than I anticipated. Close to downtown and some really good restaurants! I'd return there again and any other Hampton Inn. Always a great place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank siggsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We are so grateful for your loyalty to all Hampton Inns and glad you enjoyed your over all experience.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at the Poughkeepsie Hampton Inn for 1 nite (11/5) and stayed in room 521. So happy I chose Hampton Inn. Was meeting friends for dinner and decided not to drive the 3 hours back to NJ. I'm never disappointed when I choose Hampton Inn hotels - they are always clean & consistent, and breakfast in the AM. It was nice to see that they included make-up remover with their selection of body wash, cream & shampoo. Location is great for work/play in the Poughkeepsie area. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I'm the 'crazy' person who travels with Clorox wipes.....so I really am impressed knowing that the duvets are laundered and there is NO chance that I could be sleeping with the exposed blanket from the previous guest! Great chocolate cookies at the front desk at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Gina
Thank for the great review about our hotel. We really do love our hotel and take great pride in it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Address: 2361 South Rd, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#1 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie hotel, situated in the heart of the Hudson Valley, right next door to IBM HQ. Our inviting hotel is located near exciting kayaking, fishing and boating opportunities. Enjoy a day's shopping at the Poughkeepsie Galleria or play golf with friends on local courses. Explore Marist College and Vassar College, and discover a range of art galleries on Main Street and the Waterfront only minutes away. Take advantage of easy access from NYC with the Metro North (MTA), just 5 miles from the hotel. Unwind in a comfortable guest room and enjoy a range of amenities for your comfort and convenience. Relax with a movie and choice of premium channels on a LCD TV when staying at this hotel in Poughkeepsie, NY. Catch up with work at the desk and stay connected with business using our WiFi. Rest easily on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Choose a spacious suite with a seating area and in-room microwave and refrigerator, or unwind in one of the whirlpool suites. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) in the restaurant or grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag and enjoy breakfast on the go. Work out in the fitness center or revive with a refreshing swim in the pool while staying at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie. Stay in touch with work in the business center and hold successful meeting and conferences in our two versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing