We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but wrong time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for a single night as we had a late night social function. Sadly the hotel had a wedding booked for the same night. The room was clean and spacious but nothing to write home about. The problem was the next morning when you could not even get a cup of coffee. The small kitchen area was over run by the wedding. We simply checked out and went to breakfast down the road. The staff was friendly the parking adequate but the driveway into and out of the location was a bit of a problem to negotiate. All in all with the exception of breakfast not a bad stay.

Room Tip: There was no room service and there was no restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterTroiano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of our property! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with the exception of a busy, crowded breakfast area in the morning. Our complimentary hot breakfast is certainly one of the amenities that attract guests to our hotel, especially during the busier times of the year including wedding season, so I am very sorry that you were unable to take advantage of it. I hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again the next time you are in the Poughkeepsie area so that you may have a better full experience with us. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was my first visit. I was impressed with it's cleanliness, and freshness. The breakfast had a nice selection for all appetites. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We'll always stay at this hotel when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Terri,

We are so glad you enjoy staying at our property. We love to go above and beyond Hampton standards. Thank you so much for your review & loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were visiting family working on the Warwick project. Over all this was very nice stay. . Breakfast was great! Staff very helpfully. Room clean. Ac unit was very noisy, should be updated. Great price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmarch151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review we are upgrading our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is our second time at this property as it was a great mid-point stop for our trip farther upstate NY. Very easy to get to and convenient to the highway. The bathroom could have been little cleaner but it didn't' really bother us. Breakfast was great as was the 24 hour coffee service. Staff was very helpful. Workout room equipment needs some updating. Great cable TV in workout room but it only worked on one TV. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank AWBW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are glad you have had two great stay with us. We are upgrading our abl stations.
Thank you for your review and loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel was great. Was in town for family emergency and wasn't sure of how long I had to stay. Hotel let me check out after first night but held a room for me the next day with option to cancel if I didn't need it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Dennis

Hope all is well with your family. Very glad we were able to be a bit of sunshine in trying times.
Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hampton Inns are the top of the heap when it comes to affordable chain hotels, and this one lives up to that billing. Staff was very nice. Room was clean (and these days I lift the mattress and look for things I don't want in my bed or in my luggage), and the breakfast was great. One of the staff members even took our plates when we were finished. I wouldn't even expect that and have never had that happen before.

Perfect location for a visit to Vassar College if that's your reason for visiting Poughkeepsie (Marist University is pretty close too).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSteveFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We take great pride in our property and are glad you noticed.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The outside was a standard Hampton Inn look. Room was just fine. Bed was comfortable. The breakfast was a nice mix of homemade waffles, eggs, sausages. Nice selection of other foods as well.
it was perfect for my business stay at a reasonable price

Room Tip: there really isn't a good view as it's on a highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnSuitesDOS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poughkeepsie
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
287 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
279 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Address: 2361 South Rd, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: £92 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie hotel, situated in the heart of the Hudson Valley, right next door to IBM HQ. Our inviting hotel is located near exciting kayaking, fishing and boating opportunities. Enjoy a day's shopping at the Poughkeepsie Galleria or play golf with friends on local courses. Explore Marist College and Vassar College, and discover a range of art galleries on Main Street and the Waterfront only minutes away. Take advantage of easy access from NYC with the Metro North (MTA), just 5 miles from the hotel. Unwind in a comfortable guest room and enjoy a range of amenities for your comfort and convenience. Relax with a movie and choice of premium channels on a LCD TV when staying at this hotel in Poughkeepsie, NY. Catch up with work at the desk and stay connected with business using our WiFi. Rest easily on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Choose a spacious suite with a seating area and in-room microwave and refrigerator, or unwind in one of the whirlpool suites. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) in the restaurant or grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag and enjoy breakfast on the go. Work out in the fitness center or revive with a refreshing swim in the pool while staying at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie. Stay in touch with work in the business center and hold successful meeting and conferences in our two versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing