We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Kavos - CLOSED

Kavos
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Highland, New York, United States
1 review
“Terrible”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Don't bother spending your money. Food is over cooked. The last three times I ordered food I was given the wrong order. The last time it happened I spoke to the owner and he hung up on me. For good Greek food go to Wappingers or New Paltz.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farrah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service not so much”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Went for lunch last week, after a magazine article cited their greek-style fries. The food is outstanding; very bold flavours, freshly prepared, authentic and good value. Those greek fries are addictive: hand-cut, fried nice and dark and crispy, and dressed with lemon juice, oregano and greek sea salt.

The service (and therefore overall guest experience) could be greatly improved. The adjacent eating area appears to have table service, until you sit for several minutes with the young woman employee ignoring you. If it's counter service, fine; a small sign right over the cash counter would fix that entirely.

Ever heard of a restaurant, even a small one, without a rest room? A lot of this food is hand-held to eat and it would be nice to be able to wash up before (or afterwards).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank where_to_next56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

What a Treat! A few guys put this small place together and run it themselves to serve up authentic (chicken or pork, not lamb) gyros, and really delicious homemade hummus. Its small (maybe chairs for 20 people), low rent (no restrooms), efficient (get your own drinks from the fridge), convenient (just off Main Street with off-street parking right behind for maybe 8 cars), and has just the right feel for a college town. Ignore the low-rent feel, put on your "college student" attitude, focus on the wonderful food and you'll come away smiling every time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The worst experience and food ever”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We were a party of five coming from a day of sightseeing on the Hudson River. All of us Greek Americans. First of all it's the first restaurant I have ever been to with NO Bathroom! And it went downhill from there. The cook, is also the cashier,waiter,host,etc. can you say "surley"? I would like to order a pork Gyro. I'm out! Ok, how about....? Out! Ok, tell me what you do have? We had a dried up minced chix Gyro. Too little tzatziki sauce to taste or help get it down. The absolute worst spanokopita ever. The bottom layer of the phyllo was sopping wet. Not only that it was served cold. One order of fries were over done and the other quite good with Greek seasonings. The drinks are all bottled including bottled water. Oh, and the dolmas are out of the can. Bad food, bad service, and over priced. Three other customers got tired of waiting and went for a walk. One of the other customer asked for the bathroom also to,wash his hands. He too was stunned and he was a local. We were just passing through town and next time we will just keep on driving. I felt I was in an episode of Saturday Night Live, No Pepsi, Coke!

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best take-out”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

One of our favorite places for take-out in Poughkeepsie. Everything is fresh and flavorful--the salads are especially delicious--and the prices are amazingly reasonable. They also have a small dining room if you want to eat there. Both carnivores and vegetarians will be very happy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank willowsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kavos also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing