We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Poughkeepsie; large, comfortable rooms; OK bkfst; great river views, OK location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best of Poughkeepsie; large, comfortable rooms; OK bkfst; great river views, OK location”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for three nights in a "suite" room on the back of the building overlooking the river. Very quiet and great views of herons, ducks, geese, egret, etc. No dining on site x/c minimal "continental" bkfst w/waffle maker, DIY oatmeal, pastries, yogurt, regular milk only, etc. No pool.

Front desk staff was generally helpful and friendly x/c when they enthusiastically recommended a restaurant downtown in a really "not so good/marginal" area which had been closed during the week all summer.

No really close good restaurants, but many OK ones w/in 2 to 4 miles. The location is great for Vassar, and good for exploring the Hudson Valley, but it requires 10 - 20 miles of driving to reach most of the really interesting sites.

Rooms were very large, and in good condition w/microwave, one cup coffee maker, refrigerator, etc. One broken screen on windows. Two flat screen TVs w/many channels. One of the best values in the Hudson Valley.

Room Tip: Rooms on river side are quieter with great views. Suites are large and in good condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeuroscienceYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    186
    85
    45
    14
See reviews for
226
176
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were pleased with our accomodations at the Inn at the Falls, especially after receiving a surprise upgrade to a suite that included a sitting room with sofa; jacuzzi, king bed and water view.

The staff was very helpful; we were served cool drinks at the bar upon arrival and enjoyed the sunlight streaming in the floor to high ceiling windows. (Unfortunately, these windows needed a good cleaning!!) The front desk staff also provided directions to local attractions.

Breakfast was provided in the comfortable sitting area; many people also chose to enjoy the good weather on the outside deck overlooking the stream.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjCosmicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I booked this hotel at a very cheap rate on Priceline, and I was not expecting all that much. But it really exceeded my expectations. There were cookies out in the great room when I checked in (although no one told me this, I just happened to see them around the corner). The rooms are nice, spacious enough, and well decorated. But the common areas of the hotel are beautiful. There is a common living room with a fireplace, couches, and a coffee table, as well as a few smaller tables with chairs for eating, etc. This room has lots of windows looking out onto a river with a small falls. There is also a patio with tables and lighting (and I think citronella candles). The lobby has a small bar with wine and beer. I did not use it because no one was ever there behind the bar, and I never saw any other guests using it. I used the fitness center, and it is small, but the equipment is very nice. No one was there at the same time as me, so I had no trouble getting on whatever I wanted. This is one of the few affordable options in Poughkeepsie that had more than a view of a highway, as far as I could tell. It is close to Vassar, easily accessible to the rest of Poughkeepsie, and even the FDR library (which I was there to use) was only about 15 minutes away. The other reviews are right that the breakfast is modest, but a waffle maker is really all I need. (A note to the hotel: you could improve your coffee quality a little bit, but I appreciate the free coffee and juice options nonetheless). I would stay here again without a doubt. It is obvious that the hotel was recently remodeled. There aren't that many chain hotels available that feel this cozy and unique. The staff was friendly, but I might suggest that the hotel does a better job of promoting some its existent features (cookies, bar). I might not have even known they were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJP269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Me and my wife recently stayed at the Best Western in Poughkeepsie N.Y and let me tell you it was such an excellent experience our room was clean and comfortable. The general manager Rachel could not have been nicer! She helped find us the perfect restaurant and really made our stay one we won't soon forget! They offer a complimentary breakfast in a lovely room over looking the falls. It was nice to go somewhere "off the beaten path" if you will it is a chain hotel with a bed and breakfast feel to it. I highly recommend the hotel if you are ever in the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We chose this hotel because we were visiting Vassar the next day. We arrived late in the evening, but the young man at the desk was very welcoming. The lobby area was clean and nice, and it had a pretty, wide staircase.

Our 2 queen bed room was large and decorated quite nicely, to my surprise. It was very quiet and we slept very well. We were up early the next morning for a quick breakfast before leaving. I will agree with previous reviewers about the selection being sparse, but as we were eating on the go it was no big deal to just grab a yogurt.

I wanted to make iced tea in my reusable cup to go, and the friendly girl at the front desk was very accomodating with ice and such.

If my daughter were to eventually attend Vassar, I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oyyveyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel d, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We wish your daughter good luck with her plans to attend Vassar. We would love to have you stay here with us again. I have passed along your kind words to the staff. If she is accepted we have new breakfast offerings for you to look forward to.

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The beds were awesome and the air conditioner was very quiet and efficient. While they didn't have the greatest of selections for breakfast, it was sufficient and the breakfast room was spacious, comfortable, and had a nice scenic view. The free coffee and cookies at check-in were delicious and much appreciated. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skrapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I nabbed this hotel on a Priceline bid for $75 for one night while in town on a business trip. It is definitely off the beaten path, which I found to be quite nice. Set back midst the trees, I found it to be a nice, atypical spot.

The front desk staff was very nice and very friendly, and did everything to assure that I was taken care of. My room was large and spacious and comfortable. It was very clean and well-appointed. I agree with one other reviewer that the pillows were the bigger, foamy kind and I didn't like them, but not a deal breaker by any means. The bathroom was a bit dated, maybe, though it was very large since I was given the accessible bathroom (I didn't request it).

As others have mentioned, the complimentary breakfast was probably my only real issue with this place. I mean, come on, I have had much, much better at hotels of equal quality and an equal star level. I found plenty to eat since I am on a healthy living diet (yogurt, fruit, oatmeal). But the breakfast could be much better. Again, not necessarily a deal breaker, but if I were to find another hotel at the same star level and quality for the same price, I would likely stay there if the breakfast was better. But again, I can live with this, especially for the great rate that I got.

Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andtherest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel d, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay! Breakfast is an important part of our guest's stay and we are taking steps towards a major imrovement. In the future we will be offering a hot breakfast on the weekends. Currently our complimentary continental breakfast includes a hot waffle station, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, breakfast danishes and pastries, bagels, muffins, english muffins, wheat/white bread, cold cereals, oatmeal, breakfast sandwiches with an egg and meat, OJ, cranberry, coffee, tea decaf. We will be enhancing it to include more hudson valley produce and our chef will be preparing a number of homemade goodies. Keep a look out for these changes!!

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls

Property: Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Address: 50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603-3260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy complimentary beer and wine daily at our Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We are a new 100% renovated hotel in the Historic Hudson Valley. Near IBM, Vassar and Marist Colleges. We have a beautiful setting along the water to relax after a busy day of site seeing or business meetings. Our hotel offers guests a country setting just minutes from Route 9 and all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. We have a 24 hour business center and state of the art fitness center. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet in the entire hotel and select rooms with Wired High Speed internet also. All rooms have Mircowave and Fridge. Enjoy a Jacuzzi whirlpool in all the King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls Hotel Poughkeepsie
Best Western Plus The Inn And Suites At The Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing