We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here last weekend for my brother's wedding, as did many of the other wedding guests. All the staff members we came in contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is quiet, the rooms are comfortable, and it was an overall nice stay. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanyfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me and my husband spent 3 nights here and would definitely return and recommend it. The location is really lovely and quite being off the main route and as others have said very well run and friendly. Really appreciated the coffee always available in the lounge/breakfast room and although we didn't use it there was a well stocked bar that the staff on the front desk would open on request. One tip for anyone staying here is there is a great drive in movie theater called the Overlook about 3 miles from the hotel. So that's another great reason for staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OP212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you. The Drive In is a great spot to take children. There are not too many left and may not be experienced by much of the next generation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is in a very nice isolated location alongside a stream. Their are no stores, restaurants, etc. within walking distance. The rooms were clean and quiet. The bed and pillows were okay, a little high. The hotel was in the process of building a handicap ramp. That meant you had to carry your luggage up and down stairs. Once the ramp is complete you will no longer have to do this unless you are in the attached building. Then you still need to carry bags up steps.

Room Tip: If you have a disability make the hotel aware of this so you are in a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armyrangermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Great news the ramp was reopened this morning. Now it is nice and smooth for our guests. We will now be good for years to come. Thank you for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here as a family for 2 nights when visiting the many attractions in the area (FD Roosevelt home and library, Rockefeller home in Kykuit, walking bridge across the Hudson, ...). The hotel is just over 3 miles off Highway 9 in a quiet spot, near a creek. It's a nice hotel, and all the staff are very friedly. Room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. They serve a complimentary breakfast with a wide range of things to choose from in a very nice room with a lot of light and with a terrace overlooking the creek. Worth the short ride away from the Highway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WimVds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for the nice review, we hope your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for three days in August. The place is a little off the beaten track, but this was what we wanted. The hotel is small, well-run, and clean. The rooms aren't big, but they are comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful (esp. Michael at the front desk--even when our credit card info was stolen and we had to scramble to pay!). It was reassuring to know we could walk right into the manager's office, which was right on our hallway. Though the inn was pretty full, it was quiet. There's no restaurant or pool, but the reasonable room rate reflects this. The enhanced continental breakfast (egg sandwiches, make-your-own waffles) did the job when we didn't want to take the time to eat at the nearby diners. The place is within a few miles of FDR's and Vanderbilt's, and within an hour of just about any other Hudson River Valley attraction to the north or south. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room that faces the creek that runs outside the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I needed a place to stay in the POU area (I wasn't location sensitive) and used the blind bidding procedure on Priceline. I don't know if I would have selected it on my own as I usually tend towards a Marriott property when I can. I'm glad Priceline "chose" this property for me (and I'm glad I got a great price!).

There was nothing not to like about the property unless you require all the frills. It met all of my needs: clean, safe, quiet, comfortable. The complementary breakfast was adequate and located in a very pretty, open room looking over a stream. The staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient on check-in/out. Bed was comfortable. Room smelled fresh.

For a few nights' business trip or weekend visit to the area, I would definitely stay here again. You will need a car to do just about anything, as it is located in a quiet residential area. There are a couple of small strip malls about 5-10 minute walk from here. Downtown POU is about 15 minutes; the large IBM facility on South Rd. about 10, as is the Galleria Mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the stream/falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBahstonBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Located on a small stream, nice ambiance. Rooms were clean and quiet. Not far from West Point, FDR and Vanderbilt mansions. Also close to Vassar College where you can visit the Loeb Art Center (no charge)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank takeitslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
296 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
282 reviews
3 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls

Address: 50 Red Oaks Mill Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603-3260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy complimentary beer and wine daily at our Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We are a new 100% renovated hotel in the Historic Hudson Valley. Near IBM, Vassar and Marist Colleges. We have a beautiful setting along the water to relax after a busy day of site seeing or business meetings. Our hotel offers guests a country setting just minutes from Route 9 and all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. We have a 24 hour business center and state of the art fitness center. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet in the entire hotel and select rooms with Wired High Speed internet also. All rooms have Mircowave and Fridge. Enjoy a Jacuzzi whirlpool in all the King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn And Suites At The Falls
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls Hotel Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing