We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Minus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
berlin md
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Western Minus”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from three nights at the Best Western and now know why we do not book their hotels. We booked on line and did receive a discounted rate but it did not indicate that we would be at their mercy to do whatever they wished with our accommodations.
When we arrived we checked in and were shown to our room. Since we were under time constraints at the time we did not check out everything. Later that evening when we returned we found that we were in a physically challenged room.
In the morning, after trying to use the bathroom where the hair dryer was three feet off the floor and the shower had more grab bars than a PT room, I went to the desk and asked why we were in that type of room. I was told that was what I was entitled to and there was nothing they could or would do for me for the remaining two nights and mornings. I gal at the desk could have cared less and had quite an attitude. I explained to her that both my husband and I were perfectly healthy and did not find it easy to use the bathroom. My husband is 6'4" and trying to use the shower with the hand held shower head quite low was not fun. There was absolutely no where to put your toiletries and there was a huge transfer tub bench sitting the bathroom as well. Needless to say the toilet itself was so high a short person would have had a problem putting their feet on the ground.
We went to the bar and found no one there. My husband went to the desk and the young clerk said he would help us. Believe me he did not have a clue about a bar. I asked for a red wine and he proceeded to open a bottle and pour the wine into a glass covered in dust and lint.
I looked at it and he said he was sorry but it was only lint from the towel! I would not drink from that glass so he reluctantly poured another wine into a glass that was a bit cleaner but not by much.
When we went to check out we found we were being overcharged! Now really - my husband visited the office and they did credit our account. I still do not know how they came up with the overage as we did nothing but sleep there and have a glass of wine, which we paid for.
It is your decision to stay at this hotel but be sure that we will never stay at a Best Western again.

Room Tip: Be sure if you book online that they are not going to stick you in a physically challenged room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. When you book on some third party sites they book the room on your behalf as run of the house. Which means you could be put in the ADA room as you were. Since we were sold out during your stay we could not move you to another room. It was very nice speaking with your husband on the day of your departure. I am sorry that there was a mistake was on your bill, but I did fix it right then and there. We hope that you can come back to visit as this is not our norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    204
    91
    48
    15
See reviews for
248
181
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I just loved this hotel. My room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. And ... I loved the dining area with all of the light streaming in. It was extremely comfortable and cozy. The premises were well maintained and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would like to return to the area just to stay at this hotel. It was a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Everyone at our property thanks you for your review. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This Hotel is in a beautiful location, with architecture that fits a secluded country spot, even though it is quite close to Vassar College, Hudson River, restaurants and Poughkeepsie amenities. The staff was wonderful, helping us to find local attractions and hiking places and in general making our stay go smoothly. Our hotel window was framed with trees and allowed us to see the nearby stream. This beautiful scene could also be seen from the many windows in the breakfast area. Very beautiful and serene! We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Best western need to up there breakfast game. Minimal choices. Dry cereal, Microwaved breakfast sandwiches, make yourself waffles, Fruit and sweet rolls. They also need to stay on top of the maintenance of the plumbing. Room Prices are raised $50.00 a night for the weekend and I can not see why. Overall a fair stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always looking for ways to upgrade our breakfast at this point we offer a variety of Jimmy Dean sandwiches, waffles in two flavors along with blueberry and strawberry toppings with whipped cream. Yogurt, hard boiled eggs, white and whole wheat bread, white and whole wheat english muffins, assorted bagels, fresh fruit, granola bars, assorted danish and muffins, flavored coffee and assorted teas. Cheerios, Lucky Charms and Raisin Bran cereals along with assorted oatmeal. Coming soon will be a gluten free cereal. Prices fluctuate all year and we price ourselves lower then our competition in the area. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is our home away from home when we visit our niece in college. The staff is always accommodating and the rooms are spacious and clean. Most importantly the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is a step above your typical buffet hotel breakfast and in a nicer setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you and we hope to see you often on your visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is situated about 10 minutes drive outside of Poughkeepsie. A pleasant location by a small river, greasonably good price. We stayed in a suite with the whirlpool, and it was very comfortable. Fixtures and room clean and new. Decor a bit drab and complementary breakfast lower quality, but still recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stuart714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you, for your review we are always looking for items to upgrade our hotel and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls,mn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We came to see all the Roosevelt sites; given shutdown we had to seek alternatives - made much easier because of BW@the Falls: great location, knowledgeable staff, travel info & wifi available.
Suite was very nice: good size & floor plan. On-site breakfast offerings. Lovely patio for enjoying the creek & outside air.yy

Room Tip: Suite was large & very comfortable. Quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbfan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
278 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
591 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls

Property: Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Address: 50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603-3260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy complimentary beer and wine daily at our Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We are a new 100% renovated hotel in the Historic Hudson Valley. Near IBM, Vassar and Marist Colleges. We have a beautiful setting along the water to relax after a busy day of site seeing or business meetings. Our hotel offers guests a country setting just minutes from Route 9 and all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. We have a 24 hour business center and state of the art fitness center. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet in the entire hotel and select rooms with Wired High Speed internet also. All rooms have Mircowave and Fridge. Enjoy a Jacuzzi whirlpool in all the King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn And Suites At The Falls
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls Hotel Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing