We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing martinis!”
Review of Karma Lounge - CLOSED

Karma Lounge
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: American
Description: Karma Lounge is Dutchess County's first gastropub, specializing in high-end food small plate style as well as a great cocktail menu and fine wines and beers. The restaurant features a very large outdoor patio as well and will be having live music outdoors. This new hot-spot is sure to become the best place to eat and drink in the Hudson Valley for years to come.
Restaurant details
Description: Karma Lounge is Dutchess County's first gastropub, specializing in high-end food small plate style as well as a great cocktail menu and fine wines and beers. The restaurant features a very large outdoor patio as well and will be having live music outdoors. This new hot-spot is sure to become the best place to eat and drink in the Hudson Valley for years to come.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing martinis!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Fantastic service and probably the most inventive and most freshly-prepared martinis I've ever had! Food menu is limited, but very good. Dining area is very eclectic ands offers a variety of comfortable seating areas.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniBean75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, great vibe!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I visited the Karma Lounge with some of my coworkers from the local hospital. After a long day at work, we were looking for a place to relax and wind down. We found it here....
Though not as large as I assumed, it had a great ambiance that I really wasn't expecting. Looking over the Tapas style menu everything offered sounded delicious so we settled on several dishes to all share. We were not disappointed. Everything was cooked to order, fresh and served attractively. We enjoyed, Mac and Cheese, beef and duck sliders....so juicy...perfect. The fish tacos special was so fresh tasting. Apple bourbon wings, portabella and green bean fries...and more. My Coconut Basil Mojito was amazing! The cocktail selection made it difficult to choose. So looking forward to sitting on their patio this spring and enjoying some more great food and drinks!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radrn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Great Bar, Awesome Drinks”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

In one word....Wow! Our son was graduating from the Culinary Institute of America, so we were in the Poughkeepsie area. We met he and his friends at this bar, and it was WONDERFUL! Sally was the bartender and did an AWESOME job making wonderful drinks. Located on Main Street in the older part of town, this bar has great atmosphere! If you're in the Poughkeepsie area.......GO!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
“poorly prepared food”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Went to Karma on August 13, a Saturday night, with friends. Staff was friendly and attentive. However, the kitchen was really off. Both lamb and angus beef sliders were seriously undercooked. Another friend on a previous night was served "raw" chicken. Please bring kitchen up to par with your prior restaurant, Twist.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Visiting Karma is Good Karma”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This new restaurant in Poughkeepsie is a delicious addition to the scene! We visited with a big party - there were 7 of us on a week night and the service was attentive. The drinks are creative and fun. And the food is great, too.
Two of us tried specialty drinks and were happy. But another member of our party wanted an espresso martini and that wasn't available. So I'm not sure how limited the bar is.
There are about 20 items on the menu. It's all small plates that range from asparagus and fingerling fries to sauteed scallops with coconut black rice and wilted greens. I had the karma dog and loved it. Sauces with calamari were the faves of our friends, and my Mom loved her scallops. Oh yeah - the mac and cheese (duck confit & israeli couscous) was enjoyed by the 3 folks who tried that, too.
Besides the limited options - in terms of food and drink - I think Karma will appeal to a lot of diners. And the small plates were a refreshing portion size!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karma Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing